We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of great options”
Review of Omega Tours

Omega Tours
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: from our lodge, nestled between 2 national parks we start all our adventure tours from a half to 21 days. the most frequented tours are rafting, horseback riding, hiking, MTB, kayaking, nature exploring and meeting other cultures. - join us in nature! -
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots of great options”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We loved our adventures with Omega. All the staff became like family and the food was awesome. We enjoyed just hanging out. We ended up doing 2 rafting trips because there was so much rain that we couldn't do the horseback riding, but it was a totally different experience each time. The value of the Omega Tours is fantastic because you get the experience, support the local community, and lots of adventure. My son wants to go back to work there one day!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
thank you so much for this great review!
Let s see if we see your son down here working for us!?
Next time you will be down here the horseback riding will probably work out, it is not raining all the time like this last raining season.
thanks again for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    9
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The jungle life!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We arrived from Roatan the morning. They picked us up at the ferry at 8am for the jungle lodge about 30 min from there. Cost us 18$ for a private taxi. We wanted to do a horseback ride during the day, enjoy our free night anf leave the next day. Turns up the horseback riding tour was not availablw for an unknown reason so we took the pico bonito hiking tour. Took us around 4h to do it. You climb a lot on rocks to get to 2 beautiful waterfalls in which you can swim. Saw snakes, frogs, weird insects and others. Our guide spoke only spanish but we knew a little. Was much fun. So very hot as a day! Got back to the lodge where we enjoyed a 5@7 and ate. Very good food, local beers, cocktails... The owners are very friendly. They offered us to stay and do the horseback the next day half price but we had plans for Copan so we left in the morning. Private taxi cost us 15$ this time for the autocar terminal. Beautiful jungle settings around our lttle cabin. Outside shower made of rock and bathrooms are very clean. You have trails around the lodge but it started raining as we tried to do one. They have a little pool, lots of hamacs and over water swings! I enjoyed myself very much there but a little pricey compared to the others we did!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzin1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
thank you for this great review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your hike, our food and that you had a good time at the lodge.
For a tour like the horse ride (and others) we need to know the day before, at least early in the morning to make it happen: The horses go out to graze every morning, the ones that are needed on a tour would get some concentrated food before leaving. There are also 2 guides involved.
The ride is a great trip and hopefully you ll get the chance to come back one day and try it out.
I do not think we are pricy and would rather say you get what you pay for....
Thank you again for your great review and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So much fun!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed with Omega Tours in 2012 and had a brilliant time! The rooms are well looked after and clean with comfortable beds. The food is outstanding, we went white water rafting which was SO much fun, I've been before in New Zealand and there hadn't been much rain before my visit here but they still made sure we had some fun rapids to go down, also swimming through some parts making it feel like a bit of an adventure :) We jumped off some rocks and they were patient while everyone took photos of each other (as you do) the guides were friendly, patient, nice guys who were all local except for one, they spoke great English for those who don't speak Spanish so that's not an issue and it was all very safe. Definitely recommend this place, sorry it took so long to put my review! Shelley

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelley088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
Thank you for this great review!
You enjoyed the rafting, your accommodation and our food!
We hope you come back soon again, our food got even better!
Have great travels and thank you again for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Adrenaline rush and/or pure chill out with great food as a bonus...”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Arriving from Utila in the morning, a friend and I were looking for a little half day white water rafting and a chilled out evening before heading across to Copan. We got precisely what we were after as Omega is exactly what it says it is. The lodge is in a beautiful setting and is ideal for chilling out for a day or two even if you don't want to do any activities, plus the food for every meal of the day is delicious (you stay for free for a night if you do an activity).

We only did the rafting but there are plenty of other activities to do should you wish to. We felt completely safe at every point (it was my first experience) and its clear that safety is a big priority here as we were accompanied on the river by an extra guide in a kayak...I am not sure if this is the same for the two other providers on the river. Great fun rafting along with a couple of cliff jumps thrown in. In the afternoon, I walked down to the river to take some pictures and also onto the bridge to take a couple of shots (its a national park across there so you normally have to pay to get in, but you can just ask if you can take a couple of photos and they were fine with that).

If you have a day or two to spare, Omega is definitely worth a visit. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcome to THE JUNGLE! (In a good way)”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After two trips to Omega I cannot recommend it highly enough. The accommodation is great and caters for all, dormitories for backpackers on a budget and beautiful private cabins for those willing to splash out. The food is impeccable and diverse, the owners are German so there is some German themed cuisine so mix things up a bit.

Both trips we went rafting and although it does depend on the conditions of the river (1st visit the river was low, 2nd it was high), the rafting staff were able to pick locations and courses that made it awesome (and safe) each time. They introduce you to river swimming and rock jumping if they can too. If you have a GoPro camera some of the rafts and helmets have attachments for them. I have been rafting elsewhere in the world and this is the best i've encountered so far, the Rio Cangrehal is simply stunning and exciting in equal measure.

We also did the hike to the waterfall on Pico Bonito, a very sweaty and steep jungle trek but well worth it when you take a shower under the falls. Don't pay the $40 for a guide though, there is an easy path to follow and the entrance fee is just $7pp. The walks around the lodge itself are nice too (and free).

The rest of the time we were hanging by the 'no chlorine' pool and the bar with other guests and the staff. Speaking of the staff they were excellent! Super friendly, helpful and generally a pleasure to be around.

I have been living on Roatan island for the past year and its a very easy to catch the ferry to La Ceiba where Omega Tours can collect you (catch the 7am ferry and be there by 9:30am). Its a nice inexpensive two/three day trip from the island i would recommend highly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kieran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omega Tours also viewed

La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 

Been to Omega Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing