We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Tours - Great Staff”
Review of Omega Tours

Omega Tours
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in La Ceiba
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: from our lodge, nestled between 2 national parks we start all our adventure tours from a half to 21 days. the most frequented tours are rafting, horseback riding, hiking, MTB, kayaking, nature exploring and meeting other cultures. - join us in nature! -
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 1 April 2014

During their recent Roatan visit, I took my son and 11-year old grandson to Omega for two nights. It gave them a chance to experience another aspect of Honduras and see the beautiful Rio Cangrejal River. We stayed in the awesome Beauty View cabin at the eco-lodge. but I'll review the accommodations and restaurant separately.

Silvia and Udo along with their entire staff were excellent. We took the ferry over from Roatan and they arranged transport with Mario, their taxi driver. Although the river was low (its much better during the rainy season), we still opted to do the rafting trip the same day we arrived. The guides were excellent and gave a helping hand to this ole' gal, whenever needed. They knew what parts of the river were flowing and filled in some of the time with hiking, river swimming and jumping off the huge boulders into the water.

The second day, my son and grandson did the long rugged hike to the waterfall with a guide. They really enjoyed trekking through the jungle and although my son hikes often in Colorado, he remarked that it was one of the most challenging hikes he had ever done.

If you are looking for a change of pace in a laid back stress-free atmosphere where you can get in touch with nature, I recommend Omega.

1  Thank castaways01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2015

thank you for your great review!
hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

During our stay in a nearby bed and breakfast, we did a number of tours through Omega. We went on a rafting tour with Chris (the Kiwi), the Cayos Conchios tour and the Lagoon kayak trip with Peter. Omega was extremely accommodating. The rafting tour included swimming in the river and body surfing, some cliff diving, and lots of rafting. Absolutely fabulous. My husband and I were the only two people on the rafting trip and had a guide and support staff. The Island snorkeling trip was once again provided with only the two of us with Peter as our exclusive guide. For the Lagoon trip, there was only one other guest with Peter and a local guide (and his son). Since they accommodate tours with a minimum of 2 people, you can be assured that your trip will go ahead. We truly enjoyed the Cayos Conchios trip - the snorkeling was amazing and so was the meal (the trip is customized to your tastes, whether it is more time to swim, snorkel or just some beach time). Lunch is always included in your tours and, as long as you advise in advance, your preferences can be accommodated (i.e. my gluten free requirements). When the weather was bad and we had to postpone one of the tours, Peter detoured and took us to the local hot springs for the afternoon and they also ensured that we were able to take in the zip-lining after the lagoon trip - there was no extra charge from Omega tours. They are truly focused on customer service and making sure that their clients are satisfied. I highly recommend Omega Tours for your adventure trips in the La Ceiba area.

1  Thank VGTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2015

Thank you so much for this great review!
I am happy to hear that you had a great time with your guides and that you enjoyed our tours.
I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our food.
....and hope you will be back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was my first rafting trip, and I admit to being a bit nervous at first. Omega was recommended to us by John at La Villa de Soledad B&B (located just up the road). From the outset, we knew that our guides had each twist and turn of the Rio Cangrejal committed to memory! Throughout our morning coasting down the rapids, we were amazed by the spectacular scenery and thrilled by the ride. We still hear our guide chanting "back paddle back paddle" and "get down"! Our next visit could not come soon enough. Thank you Omega for such an AMAZING day rafting the Rio Cangrejal.

1  Thank Diana242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

thank you so much for this amazing review!
We are glad to hear it all worked out well on your first rafting trip ever.
The Cangrejal river is an amazing rafting run....welcome back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Highly recommended by our Diving center (coconut tree divers) in Roatan, we decided to escape to the mainland for 4 days of Jungle and adventures. The Ferry ride ($60 R/T pp)was a little rough, take the motion sickness pills on each way if you are sensitive and even if you are not!
Sylvia and Udo had arranged a pick up at the ferry(+/- $20 each way).
Beautiful property in the jungle. We booked the Bamboo lodge, which was great. Very Spacious, clean with a large shower with hot water that easily fits two or more...
Mosquito screens on every window.
Expect to get serious concerts at night from all the birds and wild animals. earplugs are mandatory if you are noise sensitive.

The restaurant / bar was beyond expectations very efficient, prices very reasonable too. Lovely staff.

We did the Rafting twice with their wonderful guides Chris, Cova and the younger Christian.
It was a safe and amazingly beautiful ride with some nice challenges.
We also arranged a day kayaking in the mangroves in Cocoa Lagoon. We saw an great variety of birds and some monkeys too. They had arranged nice lunches and snacks for each of our activities.
We decided to do the hike to the waterfall on our own on a rainy day. The entrance is 10 minutes walk down the road from Omega Tour. Taking a guide may be preferable if you are not comfortable or not in great shape. It took us about 2h30mns round trip but we missed the dip in the pool at the bottom of the waterfall.

1  Thank TimSpipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Great that you really liked everything it seems.....
hopefully you ll be back one day!
cheers
Omega Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived there and immediately felt at home. Stayed in the beautyview room where my boyfriend proposed:) great way to start our Honduras adventure. The staff there became friends instantly and were most hospitable. The food was delicious!!! I would highly recommend the rafting and horseback riding!!!

Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

thank you so much for this awesome review!
Great that you liked your cabin, our food and the team.
we hope you come back soon to do more of our adventurous tours.
Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omega Tours also viewed

La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 

Been to Omega Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing