We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no words!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omega Tours

Omega Tours
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: from our lodge, nestled between 2 national parks we start all our adventure tours from a half to 21 days. the most frequented tours are rafting, horseback riding, hiking, MTB, kayaking, nature exploring and meeting other cultures. - join us in nature! -
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no words!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was my 4th time at omega and i just never want to leave! i spent my 35th birthday here with these guys and they went above and beyond to deliver what can only be described as the perfect experience! thank you guys for everything it was amazing. i will be back again very soon!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WestBayDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this review, 8 March 2015
thank you so much for your awesome review!
We hope to be able to accommodate you at the best again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    9
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adventure in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Omega tours was truly a highlight of our time in Honduras. We stayed at the Creek house for two nights and engaged in white water river tours and mountain biking. The cost of the creek house is waived with the tours and it was a very cute small one room house built over a babbling creek and lined with screens for the effect of being fully immersed in the jungle. It is set up away from the restaurant and bar and is very private. There is an adjacent outdoor shower that is very romantic. Be aware that at night tiny bugs make their way in if lights are left on but this isn't a problem if they are kept off. The restaurant is phenomenal and we enjoyed German bratwurst amidst other delicious food items on an international menu.
The tours were amazing! Our river trip was a hybrid swmming/white water trip as the river was at a low level. Our guides were friendly, knowledgeable, adventurous and most importantly-very safe. Clear and detailed explanations prefaced each aspect of our trip and I trusted our guides as they were very experienced and cautious.
The mountain biking trip was vigorous and had a challenging uphill in the middle but provided a nice opportunity to see the villages by the river.
Gorgeous eco-friendly campus nestled in the jungle with freshwater pool and well marked hiking trails just up the mountain.
Next time we will stay longer! What a wonderful place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this review, 8 March 2015
thank you so much for your awesome review!
Yes I hope next time you stay even longer: we ll have the creek house prepared for you!
We ll also stock the bratwurst!
cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Awesome Tours - Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

During their recent Roatan visit, I took my son and 11-year old grandson to Omega for two nights. It gave them a chance to experience another aspect of Honduras and see the beautiful Rio Cangrejal River. We stayed in the awesome Beauty View cabin at the eco-lodge. but I'll review the accommodations and restaurant separately.

Silvia and Udo along with their entire staff were excellent. We took the ferry over from Roatan and they arranged transport with Mario, their taxi driver. Although the river was low (its much better during the rainy season), we still opted to do the rafting trip the same day we arrived. The guides were excellent and gave a helping hand to this ole' gal, whenever needed. They knew what parts of the river were flowing and filled in some of the time with hiking, river swimming and jumping off the huge boulders into the water.

The second day, my son and grandson did the long rugged hike to the waterfall with a guide. They really enjoyed trekking through the jungle and although my son hikes often in Colorado, he remarked that it was one of the most challenging hikes he had ever done.

If you are looking for a change of pace in a laid back stress-free atmosphere where you can get in touch with nature, I recommend Omega.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank castaways01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this review, 8 March 2015
thank you for your great review!
hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“excellent option for a wide variety of active tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

During our stay in a nearby bed and breakfast, we did a number of tours through Omega. We went on a rafting tour with Chris (the Kiwi), the Cayos Conchios tour and the Lagoon kayak trip with Peter. Omega was extremely accommodating. The rafting tour included swimming in the river and body surfing, some cliff diving, and lots of rafting. Absolutely fabulous. My husband and I were the only two people on the rafting trip and had a guide and support staff. The Island snorkeling trip was once again provided with only the two of us with Peter as our exclusive guide. For the Lagoon trip, there was only one other guest with Peter and a local guide (and his son). Since they accommodate tours with a minimum of 2 people, you can be assured that your trip will go ahead. We truly enjoyed the Cayos Conchios trip - the snorkeling was amazing and so was the meal (the trip is customized to your tastes, whether it is more time to swim, snorkel or just some beach time). Lunch is always included in your tours and, as long as you advise in advance, your preferences can be accommodated (i.e. my gluten free requirements). When the weather was bad and we had to postpone one of the tours, Peter detoured and took us to the local hot springs for the afternoon and they also ensured that we were able to take in the zip-lining after the lagoon trip - there was no extra charge from Omega tours. They are truly focused on customer service and making sure that their clients are satisfied. I highly recommend Omega Tours for your adventure trips in the La Ceiba area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VGTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this review, 22 March 2015
Thank you so much for this great review!
I am happy to hear that you had a great time with your guides and that you enjoyed our tours.
I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our food.
....and hope you will be back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My first rafting trip...one word - AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was my first rafting trip, and I admit to being a bit nervous at first. Omega was recommended to us by John at La Villa de Soledad B&B (located just up the road). From the outset, we knew that our guides had each twist and turn of the Rio Cangrejal committed to memory! Throughout our morning coasting down the rapids, we were amazed by the spectacular scenery and thrilled by the ride. We still hear our guide chanting "back paddle back paddle" and "get down"! Our next visit could not come soon enough. Thank you Omega for such an AMAZING day rafting the Rio Cangrejal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omegalodge, Owner at Omega Tours, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
thank you so much for this amazing review!
We are glad to hear it all worked out well on your first rafting trip ever.
The Cangrejal river is an amazing rafting run....welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omega Tours also viewed

La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 

Been to Omega Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing