We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but ????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa de Espana
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but ????”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I had talked to Carlos with Casa de Espana several weeks before my visit and had accepted his offer of $50 for one night with breakfast included. Also Carlos did pick me up at the bus terminal and take me to the Utila ferry the next morning but shorted me on change due by 200 lempiras or $10 so the transport part became compensated ? to some degree. I was fed a dinner at the hotel which was rather expensive for Latin America at $29 for beef ,potatoes and a salad w/ a beer.
Not only my opinion I must add.
The room was very comfortable and clean. The hot water promised failed to materialize however.
I'm not trying to be unreasonable here but telling it exactly as it transpired. Breakfast was supplied as promised and done nicely by the wife of Carlos and was eggs, frijoles, tomatoes, plantains, cheese, and tortillas with pineapple on the side. It was very tasty, the setting was well done and so...perhaps the $90 wasn't that bad an exchange after all. Still...? LOL
Would I recommend Hotel Casa de Espana ? Yes, I would. Were there a couple of issues ? Yep ! And, I told Carlos that I would be reviewing his performance and facility on Trip Advisor. So I have.

Room Tip: Call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    16
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
8
15
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed at La Casa de Espana for two days. There are many things I liked about that place : nice set up-decoration, nice location downtown next to the market and a few blocks away from the sea, the owners are very welcoming. There is great terrasse on the roof from where you can see the montains and a bit of the ocean. My room was clean and comfortable and the price was very reasonable for what I got (20$). Apparently, there is hot water but I guess you have to inquire before having a shower to make sure it your timing is good. Some frineds who stayed there before me told me that the bedding was not clean whrn then got in but I was very satisfied so may be check before going to sweet dreams The ownwer took me and another customer to see hummingbirds and to treck in the Pico bonito national park It was very pleasant but pricy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineRousseau511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were a party of five sharing two rooms for one night before heading to Utila. This is a lovely hotel, conveniently located and with a very nice staff. We really enjoyed the air conditioning, the clean bathroom, the comfy beds. A nce breakfast and a very reasonable price made this a great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieH169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is decent if you're looking for a convenient location in La Ceiba at a reasonable price. Staff is friendly and helpful. Nice terrace restaurant on the top floor. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quicksilver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Having stayed at 4 different p[laces in La Ceiba Hotel Casa de Espana is now my favorite. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the included breakfast is delicious on their lovely roof top terrace. It's the most secure hotel I have stayed at and the owner and his wife are extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sezzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Located at the heart of La Ceiba, very clean. The staff was extremely polite. They provided a very delicious and filling Honduran Breakfast with good quality Honduran coffee. The price is great given all these services and the terrace at night is nice and quiet, the restaurant is not 24/7 but you can book a dinner in advance at the terrance in which they offer many exotic choices, being seafood to good quality beef. I recommend this hotel 110 % ..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have just had a wonderful hotel experience in La Ceiba. If you stay here the Hotel Casa de Espana (2454-0210) is outstanding value at $35/person Incl. breakfast and is immaculate. The rooftop terrace lounge/restaurant is very comfortable and homey with beautiful views. The owners provided more personal service than I can list here, even driving half way across town to meet us so we could follow him to the hotel in our car. Beautiful people who deserve your business.

Room Tip: We had a room off the street and it was very quiet, although it isn't a really busy street anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islanded1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#18 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Espana

Property: Hotel Casa de Espana
Address: Avenida 14 de Julio | B. El Centro, entre la 3 y 4 calle, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa de Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casa de Spain La Ceiba, located in the region of La Ceiba, Honduras, offers free Wi-Fi in public areas. This elegant establishment serves breakfast and free private parking. Rooms include cable TV and air conditioning. Each has a private bathroom with hot shower and free toiletries. The restaurant serves traditional and international cuisines. The Casa de Spain La Ceiba offers 24-hour reception and features a garden and a terrace offers luggage storage and can arrange various activities, including diving, rafting and excursions to nearby islands. The Goloson International Airport is 10 km. Hotel Rooms: 16 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Casa de Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing