We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You might be better off sleeping at the dock” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Estadio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Estadio
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You might be better off sleeping at the dock”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

After spending more time than usual reading reviews of a place to sleep in between bus and ferry rides coming/going from la ceiba I'm not sure why this place got so many good reviews. We have been in Guatemala and Honduras for a month and this is twice as much as we have paid anywhere else and the room the worst. When you add in their extra fees, $10 for transfers and $5 each for breakfast, this was double what we have paid most nights.

We arrived after a soccer game to the streets covered in garbage and people still celebrating/commiserating. Our room was on the third floor but the noise made it seem we were on the street. Of the 5 curtains in the room only 2 matched. Everything seemed cheaply put together with whatever material was salvaged. I tried not to spend enough time in the bathroom to count all the different tiles used and the fixture above the sink to put items was downright scary it was so dirty. There were also electrical wires above the shower which is a huge hazard!!! The toilet seat was also broken. There was no handle on the door and the only way to lock the door is from the outside (?!?!).

The bed was awful, it seemed like both a waterbed and sleeping in a hot dog bun - there was literally zero support and every time I woke up completely uncomfortable in the night I would wish for the night to finally be over. No room at all for the two of us in this bed.

With all the features listed online it's a scam they call the room a suite - it has a tiny fridge, one old chair, and nothing else. The balcony was covered in laundry from other people which made me wonder how safe it was. Oh and internet that is promised in the rooms doesn't work.

I know it doesn't seem like there are a lot of good places to stay in la ceiba but trust me that it's worth it to keep looking. For these prices for what you get - it's a total rip off in my opinion.

Another pet peeve was the amount of time we were asked to like them on Facebook.

If you do have to sleep here, lower your standards, bring ear plugs and try to spend as little time here as possible. At least the sheets and one towel they gave us looked clean.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EricAndSarahSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelestadio, General Manager at Hotel El Estadio, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Yes we are located right next door to the city's soccer stadium it is one of the many reasons why we get a lot of customers and good reviews because of our location to the stadium and proximity to downtown. There are soccer matches only twice a week Wednesday nights & Sundays during the day .The night match ends at 9.00 PM and yes when the home team wins people want to celebrate a little bit out side but is not all night nothing out of proportion everybody goes home by 10.00 PM the city's police ensures this...i mean i peter/manger live here in the hotel too and we've never had any complaints about noise or etc...if i read in between the lines correctly it leads me to suspect that the real issue here is the price of our service accomodation & transportation wise,however the customer is right there are other options if you are on a strict budget perhaps one should look at other options.....our reviews speak for themselves,we will continue to strive & listen attentively to our customers reviews and also correct any imperfections to the highest standards...We look forward to working with our future guests and to improve the quality of our customer service...cheers...see u soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    68
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
2
49
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent experience with el estadio. We elected to get picked up at the airport by them it was very pricy at 100 american dollars but after a long couple days of flights it was worth getting. We saw a lot of honduras went into a few towns because the driver was looking for fruit (which was ok by us because we got to see inside tela) once we got there the staff was super friendly, we were in need of hair cuts and he directed us to possibly the best barber ive ever been to...and it only cost $2.50 they offered taxi service for 3 dollars to a location and 3 dollars back. The only thing I didnt like was them sending us to a restaurant that owed them money, this way we would pay cash and they would later go collect from them. We were assured it would be 'bumping' we were the only ones there. Accomodations were good for the night..we got beds, they were clean, room was clean. We told them we didnt want breakfast in the morning (its an extra charge) then for $7 they took us to the ferry the next morning which was $25 ...overall it was bad, couple white lies here and there (they said they only had privates when there was clearly only us at the hostel) but it was only for the night and they were super friendly

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I lucked out when I stayed here on a whim. It turned out to be one of the best decisions I made when backpacking through Central America.

Peter, the owner, is a phenomenal resource and can connect you with any activity in La Ceiba. Through him, I was able to scuba dive in the Cayos Cochinos (HIGHLY recommended over Utila or Roatan), white water raft in La Moskitia, hit up the local food & drink scene, and attend a local soccer game. He's fluent in English & Spanish and knows everyone and everything about the area. He's a solid dude, and he only connects travelers with other positive people and trustworthy tour guides. I was extremely fortunate to have crossed paths with him, he definitely made the difference in this part of my trip. I can't wait to get back there and conquer the jungle.

I had initially thought that La Ceiba itself was simply going to be a stop over on my way to the islands, but I ended up staying a couple days and enjoying what the region had to offer. There is lots to do, and it's definitely worth a few days at El Estadio.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OKDJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great staff, friendly and welcoming. Peter went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He sorted transport, trips and recommended places to eat. The hostels facilities are good and the place is clean. The area isn't that nice but staff make sure you feel safe. I would recommend if you are looking for a short stay. Make sure Peter books you onto the rafting too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

After a 17 hour bus journey, my friend and I arrived in La Ceiba at 10:00 pm. We were not looking forward to the 2 days we would have to spend in the city while waiting for our friends to arrive. Many online reviews had described La Ceiba as unpleasant and unexciting.

When we arrived at El Estadio, we were surprised by the safe, clean, comfortable, private room. The room had a large bathroom, cable TV, a balcony, free wifi, and a refrigerator. Peter and his staff took excellent care of us throughout the length of our stay. He personally shuttled us to dinner at Expatriates (great food!), served us breakfast, and booked an amazing guided jungle hike (with a biologist that explained medicinal uses of plants) and spa day (including massages, hot spring bathing, and mud treatments) for us. We attended a soccer game in the stadium next door (it was so much fun!) and visited the local market. He picked our friends up from the bus station, and got us to the ferry to Roatan the following morning. An anticipated unpleasant few days turned out to be one of my favorite parts of our two month excursion through Central America. Thank you, Peter!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Booked to stay here last minute, got picked up straight from the ferry terminal and taken to the hostel where Pete the owner met us. We had a few errands to run and he personally took us out in his car. He took us somewhere to get food and the also drive us to the bus terminal at 4.30 in the morning. Unbelievably good customer service, he went way out if his way to make sure we were looked after. Rooms are nice and clean with good facilities. 10x better than any other place I have stayed in la ceiba. Thanks pete

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthE1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The staff are friendly (and cook a good breakfast), the price is good, and the beds are comfortable enough to make this a good choice for a one-night stopover before catching the morning ferry to Utila. I wouldn’t stay here for much longer though: the bathroom facilities are shabby and too small for the size of the dorm room, and there’s very little to do in La Ceiba.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Estadio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Estadio

Property: Hotel El Estadio
Address: Ave Las Americas, right next to the city's soccer Stadium, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Estadio 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Estadio now is offering transport services from & to San Pedro Sula airport,Leon Nicaragua,Puerto Barrios Guatemala,call us or e-mail us for more details...We are a small hotel/hostel three story building with private rooms & mixed & female dorms avail,Bar & Restaurant. Located in the heart of La Ceiba, Honduras right next to the city's main soccer stadium. Great place 4 all you Soccer or football fans to watch the city's premier soccer league team matches or very well an international match. We mainly cater to tourists, making it a great safe haven for tourists to network; also have available activities like: white Water Rafting, Hot Springs or Sulpher Water, Hiking, Zip-lining, Canopy, Snorkeling, Scuba diving - if you need classes for certification we can arrange it as well. Just tell the taxi driver you want to go to Hotel El Estadio right next "El Estadio de Ceiba", or The Soccer Stadium of Ceiba, which is the City's soccer Stadium & say you already have a RESERVATION even if you don't have one, so he doesn't take you somewhere else where they get commission,better yet just give us a call & we'll come pick you up from the Air or Sea port, bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Estadio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing