We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in Ceiba”
Review of Hotel El Estadio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Estadio
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
“A few days in Ceiba”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I am sooo going back to this paradise in Honduras! And if you're looking for super-cool and very helpful guys, El Estadio is great. They gave us a better room than we paid for and connected us with tours, etc.
it's not ritzy but sufficient. And a short walk tAkes u to the beach as well. Definitely do the Hot Springs and Los Cayos Cuchinos! Wow.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank heather z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    69
    26
    13
    15
See reviews for
3
51
74
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I arrived in the late afternoon and was met at the hostel by Peter, the owner. Upon arrival Peter handed me a beer and showed me to my room. I stayed in the corner room on the third floor, it was clean and had an AC unit that operated quite well. Since it was a Sunday evening and many resturants were closed, Peter ordered in dinner (Chicken plate with rice and potatoes for $6) which was delish!

There were several other backpackers at the hostel who were all taking the ferry the following day to Utila. This is basic accommodation, but the staff is friendly, and has a good backpacker vibe.

Pros:
Good wifi
Helpful staff
Good vibe

Cons:
Key was missing to our room (previous guest had broken it in the door). It wasn't an issue and I felt safe at all times.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Ceiba, Honduras
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

this the best hostel in la ceiba its have good service nice people and in very good prices i very enjoy my stay here plus the food i had breakfast omelet it was delicious ,the balcony and the hammocks were comfy as well as the room the A/C is a plus is the room being that is summer time here....Also the owner /manager Peter and his staff really go out of their way for their guests...
cheers

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor are magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dui I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great location: it was always easy to tell the cab drivers to take you to El Estadio, they'd always know where that is...security is great... Balconies were perfect, right over the street...rooms we're clean enough, and cool enough, and a great price...Owners we super helpfull...you could walk right on to downtown La Ceiba, easy. When I go back, I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana-Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Rented a private room with my friend and I as we were transiting from the mainland to the islands. Peter was SUPER friendly, met up with us at San Pedro Sula airport and drove us to the hotel for a good price. He also personally drove us to the nearby bank later that day when we were floundering around looking lost in this rather sketchy part of town. Felt safe in the hotel despite the location and very much appreciated the locked front door (as we were VERY concerned about safety during this trip). Peter was also more than willing to make some phone calls to arrange a tour for us to Pico Bonito the next day. Breakfast in the morning was also great! No complaints at all :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice on my to Utila and on my return and I couldn't have had a better experience. On my way the owner picked me up from the bus stop at night, helped me find an ATM because I had stupidly run low and dropped me off again in the morning to the ferry. Then on my way back I was able to arrange with him a morning white water rafting and then a shuttle to Leon the following day all arranged before I arrived! A really personal experience from the place which is especially appreciated due to the long travel days it takes to get there and leave. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were travelling to Utila in Honduras and had to stop over in La Ceiba for the night. We heard the city can be dangerous and to get a taxi straight to your accommodation once getting off the bus, but it didn't seem too bad. This hostel was cheap, clean, and had very friendly staff. We got in very late but they were still able to order us dinner which i was so grateful for. And they arranged our transfer taxi to the ferry too! It's not the fanciest place and the bathroom wasn't great but it was overall clean and had aircon too which was really good!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilievangelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Estadio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Estadio

Property: Hotel El Estadio
Address: Ave Las Americas, right next to the city's soccer Stadium, La Ceiba 31101, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Estadio 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Estadio now is offering transport services from & to San Pedro Sula airport,Leon Nicaragua,Puerto Barrios Guatemala,call us or e-mail us for more details...We are a small hotel/hostel three story building with private rooms & mixed & female dorms avail,Bar & Restaurant. Located in the heart of La Ceiba, Honduras right next to the city's main soccer stadium. Great place 4 all you Soccer or football fans to watch the city's premier soccer league team matches or very well an international match. We mainly cater to tourists, making it a great safe haven for tourists to network; also have available activities like: white Water Rafting, Hot Springs or Sulpher Water, Hiking, Zip-lining, Canopy, Snorkeling, Scuba diving - if you need classes for certification we can arrange it as well. Just tell the taxi driver you want to go to Hotel El Estadio right next "El Estadio de Ceiba", or The Soccer Stadium of Ceiba, which is the City's soccer Stadium & say you already have a RESERVATION even if you don't have one, so he doesn't take you somewhere else where they get commission,better yet just give us a call & we'll come pick you up from the Air or Sea port, bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Estadio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing