We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Destination, Guides, Grounds - Rooms Not So Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
West Farmington, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Destination, Guides, Grounds - Rooms Not So Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I saw this property on Samantha Brown's travel show and decided to go as part of a trip to Copan. The property is beautiful. Great pool. Incredible tropical plants almost as if they were on steroids. Beautifully maintained grounds. Nice restaurant. Excellent service. Extremely good guides. They were even able to arrange a custom trip to Garifuna villages for us with a private guide. However, the rooms themselves in the cabins are disappointing. The bathroom areas are sorely in need of renovation. The rooms are very small. The lampshades are covered in old burlap which needs to be changed. Same with the restaurant menus. The biggest problem was the furniture on the porch. It was made of hard slatted wood. No cushions. Very uncomfortable. This is not a porch you can lounge on and relax. The word "eco" means different things in different countries and cultures. The restaurant staff told me they do not recycle glass and plastic bottles. In fact, taking a shortcut back from the butterfly garden, we passed a big pit/pile of plastic and glass container garbage in the woods. Honduras does not have the infrastructure to support recycling much less waste management in general. But what a beautful country.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmfertal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear friends:
Thank you very much for your great comments in regards our facilities, we greatly appreciate them.
I do understand and agree with you Honduras does not have the infrastructure to recycle and we try our best with have we have and, yes, it is a beautiful country.
Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    56
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
155
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This lodge has separate "cabins" for two; beautiful wood floors, vaulted ceilings, jungle surroundings, hammock on front porch. Beautiful horticulture viewing. Excellent care from staff. The white water rafting trip they arranged for my family was a highlight of our trip. You can even pay to visit the grounds here for a day visit, which is worth it. SOooooooo beautiful. And very cool temps in the mountain side.

Room Tip: All cabins are the same. I would pack a flashlight to get around paths at night. But everything else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcomber1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear friends:
Thank you very much for your great comments in regards our facilities, we greatly appreciate them. We are soooooo happy we were able to give you the holidays you were expecting; we do have a little paradise in the middle of Pico Bonito wildlife reserve.
We take great pride to maintain our standards of service and anticipate to our guests needs. I will extend your comments to our staff.
Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We have stayed at the Lodge a number of times and it remains one of our favorite places on the planet. Few places offer the combination of privacy, nature and wildlife, tranquility and service offered by Pico Bonito Lodge. The management and staff go out of their way to be personable and helpful. It will always receive my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Pretty tough to get a bad one. They are all excellent. You really don't need the A/C option thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islanded1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear friends: Thank you very much for coming again and again and again to our little paradise in the middle of Pico Bonito wildlife reserve.
We take great pride to maintain our standards of service and anticipate to our guest’s needs. Thank you for giving us the pat in the back with your comments; it’s always encouraging in keeping our standards high.
Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at this lodge a few years ago, March 2009, and it was beautiful, good time of year. They have a private property bordering the national park. A unique place with pretty river hikes. Good birding but you had better be in great shape to see much beyond the lodge, all steep and slippery hiking, as expected on a mountain. Sometimes how much you like a place is subjective, and I really liked it here, relaxing and peaceful, hits the mark for an ecolodge. The cabins were clean and quiet, I would recommend the upgrade. Best sleep I've had in one of these type of lodges. We liked the food and drinks, friendly staff.

I've read some of the bad reviews of this place and they do have some truth. It is expensive but you are getting a very pristine setting close to an international airport, and you have to factor in this is a very poor country, the mainland is not set up for tourism. I have travelled extensively in Central America and didn't find Honduras to be particularily safe with everyone carrying guns. There was a reported shooting of a tourist in La Ceiba while we were there so I liked the isolation and strict door policy at the gate. A huge drawback was that tourists from other hotels can book the guides and crowd at the pool etc...I am a birder and was only able to book the birding guide on one morning of the whole trip which was disappointing because he was fabulous when we finally got him he found the hard to see lifers. Book ahead! The other guides are basic so unless you are a total novice you will be bored. If you are adventurous rent a car, we explored the coast in both directions but again safety is a concern here. There is a big resort east of La Ceiba where you can book the same excursions like snorkelling for much less, but its about an hour drive through town. Again this is Honduras, most of the trips were a disappointment, if not dangerous.

Bottom line: nice basic little lodge, a cool oasis on the mountain. Come here to relax, something a little different a short flight away. It is the nicest place to stay on the mainland by far. Not for the very adventurous, those with kids or who require luxury.

Room Tip: Chose the upgraded private cabins for sure! Book guides well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear friends: thank you very much for the great comments in regards our facilities, we greatly appreciate them
Yes, we do have our little paradise in the middle of Pico Bonito wildlife reserve where is very quiet and safe.
We take great pride to maintain our standards of service and anticipate to our guests needs.
Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a room with 2 double beds and no AC. Did not need AC at all and it was even cool at night. The rooms are very comfortable with a nice porch and hammock, good bathroom. The only room issue we had was after a day of rain, hundreds (and hundreds) of ants climbed up the porch and proceeded to our door and started marching in under the door. We called reception and the immediately sent over a team with a broom and spray to rid the room of ants. We figured it's par for the course since we staying in the rain forest and appreciated how responsive staff was.

Staff in the bar/restaurant, the reception, and guides were all very friendly and we enjoyed getting to know them and they worked hard to get to know us. The food was good, the drinks were good. Very relaxing to spend the afternoons relaxing. The free guided hike was great, as was visiting the butterfly sanctuary. Also very easy to do hikes on your own. Would definitely recommend staying here. Only thing is that prices are high - but we knew that going in and decided that the price was worth it for the location, comfort and services.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear friends: thank you very much for the great comments in regards our facilities, we greatly appreciate them

Yes, we do have our little paradise in the middle of Pico Bonito wildlife reserve and yes, when it rains a lot the ants go out and you find them all over, it is the price to pay when you are in a rain forest.....it is part of the fun.

We take great pride to maintain our standards of service and anticipate to our guests needs.
Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Lodge at Pico Bonito was wonderful. From the moment we arrived we were treated so nicely. We were shown around the property and then shown to our room. We enjoyed a welcome drink at the bar that was delicious. The cabin (#18) was beautiful and far enough away from the cabin beside us that we never heard anyone else. Even with the AC on, we could hear the birds singing outside the cabin. Our package included a guided hike and we took the short one and it was fun, yet lots of work. We also hiked down the 172 steps to swim. The food was good, but limited choices. just like what has been said before, it was expensive and one meal can feed two people. When we came back from excursions, we would order dinner at the bar and tell them what time to deliver it to our cabin. It was awesome! Food is expensive. we ordered Conch soup which was delicious, but it cost $9.00 and it came in a teacup. Breakfast is included and substantial. The pool is beautiful and birds and lizrds are everywhere for you to watch. We took the train excursion and I loved it because I really got to see the Honduran peole and where they lived and worked. I would definately recommend this lodge. we had a great time!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank celmo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Lisa:
Thank you very much for your great comments in regards our facilities, we greatly appreciate them.
I do understand and agree with you that conch is expensive in comparison to other sea food in Honduras and we must take in consideration that conch is seasonal, scarce and not easy to get therefore, prices vary according to availability in the market. We keep it in our menu as it is a typical Garifuna Honduran dish and people love to taste a “only in Honduras dish”. Also, conch is a protected species and you were very lucky to have tasted such a delicacy.
Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again
Kind regards
Marcela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hook, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was tired of the demands of my work life, constant on call, cell phones, computers and needed
to get away from it all. I decided on Pico Bonito and stayed there with my husband from Feb. 18th to the 25th. The lodge is a quick 15 minute ride from the airport and once there you are transported to a world which is almost surreal in it's beauty from the vibrant colours of the flora to the melodic sounds of birds. The lodge is a lovely wooden structure which blends into the surroundings. The individual cabins are private with a deck and hammock where you can lie for hours just enjoying the vistas and sounds of the 2 surrounding rivers. The cabins are lovingly decorated with Lenca pottery and fresh flowers. No TV in the cabins, a complete escape from CNN which we appreciated. The next few mornings we hiked to Mermaid Falls, Unbelievable Falls and other sites. I can't begin to describe these experiences, seeing white faced monkeys and scarlet macaws in the wild. The afternoons were spent spent swimming in the beautiful pool to work out all the muscle soreness from the hikes. We had the meal plan and savored every bite of the dinners and breakfasts. Everything was perfect, the place, the staff, the meals the peace and quiet... Thanks Pico Bonito, we will return!

Room Tip: There is no bad room, only ones with A/C or without. We had a room with A/C but did not use it once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 70Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcela8a, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Julia
Thank you very much for your great comments in regards our facilities, we greatly appreciate them.
We are soooooo happy we were able to give you the holidays you were expecting; we do have a little paradise in the middle of Pico Bonito wildlife reserve.
We take great pride to maintain our standards of cleanliness, good food and great service.
Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Village
Hotel Rainbow Village
#3 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Property: The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Address: AP 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing