We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Safe, Friendly Eco Lodge you'll never forget!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Safe, Friendly Eco Lodge you'll never forget!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Just returned from a 4 day stay, and loved every minute at this amazing and beautiful place in the world. We are Americans, and we were sadly worried by the US State Department Travel Warning for Honduras that came out just as we booked....having never been to Honduras we had some reservations about going. Upon return, I can confidently say, we had NOTHING to worry about at the Lodge at Pico Bonito, (nor during any part of our vacation in Honduras). We were so well cared for, and all the staff could not have been nicer! Professional, but, also "real" and "down to earth"; we had many conversations and discussions with staff on the kind of personal level that makes traveling so rewarding. We booked on 'Cyber Monday" and received a wonderful deal - we arrived by ferry after flying into Roatan, and then were met (with advance preparation via email) at the ferry for pick up by a warm, caring, careful driver (Lima) who drove us through Ceiba to the Lodge. The ferry was safe, fast, and clean, with security (including bag and personal screening) and we had no worries. At baggage claim, we were promptly met by our driver. We had fun on the drive through La Ceiba practicing our (quite terrible) Spanish, and felt we were in competent hands with our driver. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a Rum Punch Welcome drink, and then shown to our cabin in the jungle. The cabins are beautiful, just as pictured on the website, with 2 comfy beds, luxurious details, and amazing shower, and a hammock on a porch looking out at the beautiful and intriguing jungle. Our cabin overlooked a pristine jungle river. Safety was assured at every moment,and we felt very safe walking the grounds day and night. We swam in the pool, and hiked, and relaxed. Our hikes with guide Jose were amazing - the naturalist guides are well-trained, highly educated in the local scenery and flora and fauna. Jose was outstanding. We may have been the only "non-birders" in attendance during our recent stay in January, but, we had much fun meeting with and discussing the exploits of some 'serious' birders. (I often felt I was on the set of the movie "The Big Year") Our wait staff was friendly, and professional and truly 5 star!!! Carlos for breakfast, Danilo for dinner and drinks, and Gerrel were so nice, we felt pampered but at the same time we were able to have interesting and fun conversations and got to know the staff as people, not just 'waitstaff'. This is the bonus of staying at a small lodge, where you take every meal at the beautiful restaurant. That said - prices at the restaurant are a bit high for what you get. Like other reviewers we felt the food could be graded as a B. Not A, and not D, just solid (but at times boring B). We wished there were more 'local' Honduran options and not so much emphasis on pleasing a European or American palate. The exception is breakfast which is TOP NOTCH. Breakfast is Included with the room price, it's a wonderful deal, as you can order anything at all from the menu. Be sure to visit the snake house, butterfly house and iguana house! Be ready for adventure with outings! Words cannot describe the beauty of the national park - though know that this is not a 'US' park with scenic drives and easy hikes... to see the true splendor, you need to be in good hiking shape - or average - and will be well rewarded!! If you are thinking of Pico Bonito: GO! Hondurans are friendly, and lovely and the country is so beautiful. Safety precautions apply as with any area for general travel, but, at Pico Bonito, we were safe and well cared for. It is an unforgettable luxury experience!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rainydayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    56
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
155
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have just completed a short but very sweet stay at Pico Bonito Lodge. Myself, my 4 year old daughter and her grandma. I work in travel and I loved the fact that this luxury lodge offers a wonderful, authentic experience without frills and foolishness that I often see in other luxury hotels. I know that is my personal preference but there it is! All the staff were gorgeous and made a fuss of my little girl - which of course she adored - and we felt looked after and cared for at all times without being fussed over. The accommodations, food and service were excellent. The trips and experiences offered from the lodge are.... real. I don't know how else to say it. If you want world class birding or adrenaline white water rafting or visiting communities or wildlife then it is all here for you.- what ever your level. I recoomend staying at least 3 or 4 nights if not more. Fabulous!

Room Tip: All rooms are great but if you are a family just check if they ca put you in the adjoining cabanas a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

The hotel is really nice: big cabins, full of flowers, surrounded by trees.
I recommend not to book the activities in advance. They can be booked in the hotel and you avoid to pay for nothing. We paid a fortune and travel until here only for the Cayo Cochinos or Roatan tour, but the day started raining and they did not travel. The weather changes a lot during the day, it is dangerous to book and paid in advance for nothing.
Another important thing to know is you can not explore the Pico Bonito National Park on your own. Even when the lodge is close to it, you can not go alone to any place. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so you have to pay for the transportation from the hotel to any place you want to go or to buy an activity.
On january we could see some birds inside the lodge, but nothing else. Not monkeys or any other animal.
At the end, the hotel is nice but very bored at least you buy and can make a daily activity.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anagbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comeagua
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here after being apart due to work for months, and it was fantastic! Privacy, clean, serene, and more than plenty to do. We decided to stay on the local trails by ourselves the first day to "take it easy" and returned 2 hours later with mud on our shoes, breath taking views, and an appreciation for the diversity of life abundant here in the wild. The trails take you all over and with the recent dept of state warnings that came out about Honduras, you are very safe with friendly security patrolling the grounds that are eager to practice their English and help you with your Spanish. No need to worry here it seems.
The restaurant was phenomenal. Food was excellent and attentiveness of the staff make you feel like royalty, no really. By the end of our trip they knew what we wanted before we did and greeted us like old friends.
The only con I have was the laundry. After a couple days of mud and sweat we needed to do laundry and it was very, very expensive.
We also took a white water rafting trip that was excellent, a tour to the refuge where we saw alligators, two kinds of monkeys, and all kinds of cool birds! We took two more hikes
that were guided to explain the local flora and help see the wildlife, one night walk complete with a kinkachu, and the hike to unbelievable falls where there were monkeys again! Went swimming even in December. So whether you are looking for a serene location or want stuff to do its not hard to accomplish either. None of the pictures do it justice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

The convenience of being picked up at the La Ceiba airport was a plus. Drop off too, if we needed it. We arrived on a somewhat rainy day but still managed to enjoy the area with a nice lunch overlooking a myriad of birds and wawooties. (Little short eared, rabbit rodents, that scurry about like New England squirrels. The food was yummy and fresh. Juices like they should be, fresh squeezed. The servers with big smiles and warm welcomes.
The rooms were beautiful, offering crisp white robes and flip flops for us.
The rooms have comfy beds, great showers and complimentary water for drinking and brushing your teeth. The screened, louvered walls, allowed not only a fresh breeze but unfortunately, pesky mosquitos. I, being a person who seems to attract them the world around, was bitten up pretty bad. My husband wasn't effected as much. ( Don't arrive without mosquito spray when you travel to Honduras. Here or any where. Buy the good stuff. Avon won't cut it here. Close the louvers at night when you have the lights on, or when sleeping.) The ceiling fans were wonderful. But try to get a room with both fans and air-conditioning. "Mozies" don't like the cool AC so much. We didn't have it.
The property is a living canvas of beauty. There are a few good hikes to some pretty impressive water falls. One can be done by yourself, unguided and the other must be with a guide. Both gorgeous scenery and both are challenging. Steep in parts and slippery if raining. Still very well worth the effort.
Bed time was early after a nice meal and a few drinks at the bar. (Did I say the staff the was wonderful? They were.)
The last day the sun shined and we sat at the pool for a bit before we departed back to San Pedro Sula... Try the Bloody Marys, one of the best.
The resort arranged for a driver to bring us back to the big city of San Pedro Sula. Although he didn't speak english, I exercised my limited ability. He pointed out a number of things and we understood fine. Lima, our drivers name, brought us to Tela for a lunch on the beach along the way. Lots of beautiful sites and Honduran living to be seen between La Ceiba and SAP.
Pico Bonito was a great experience, although a little pricey, one that we were happy to splurg on. A great way to close our Honduran trip from "sea to rainforest". It will be a great memory.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizykurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

My husband and I booked this trip for a long weekend getaway at the recommendation of two of our neighbors. It was just perfect. Our cabin was very cute and private, the food was very good, oh and the COFFEE!!! I gave up coffee months ago but this stuff was delicious. The staff were super friendly and the guides were very knowlegeable. We ate sweet cacao beans right out of the pods (like that girl in the Kashi commercials), went hiking through the rainforrest, watched the hummingbirds, saw toucans and beautiful butterfiles, it was just beautiful. I sat at the main lodge one afternoon listening to the sounds of the river and just staring at the clouds form up in the cloud forrest and then dissapate and no one bothered me. For anyone that is overstressed and can't "tune out" this is a great place to escape and fall off the grid for a few days. We can't wait to go back. Breakfast is included daily and the prices for lunch and dinner are average. One trip and you won't soon forget it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alliexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Friends,

We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I booked a three day two night package with a deluxe room. The accommodations were excellent as was the entire grounds. Nice trails to hike with great streams to swim and cool off in. The birds and butterflies were lovely, and relaxing around the lodge was too easy. We got to see a margay (endangered cat) and that was a real treat. The staff was nice and eager to help. As noted by another reviewer, the only area for improvement is in dining. If you are going to charge western prices for a meal, then it needs to be of better quality. But overall we really enjoyed the lodge and have already recommended it to friends. And for those folks who complained about bugs and dirt, you are in a cloud forest - get over it.

Room Tip: Check out the packages that may include a deluxe room and other extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it. I assure you that we will strive to improve in our Restaurant Food and Service for when you visit us again!
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Village
Hotel Rainbow Village
#3 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Property: The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Address: AP 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing