We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Homestead, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcome to Paradise!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Lodge at Pico Bonito is one of the most amazing places we have ever visited. As soon as you arrive you are given a welcoming drink to enjoy. The scenery is indescribable! We loved sitting outside the restaurant watching the hummingbirds, and looking at the beautiful garden and mountains. The cabins are really nice and comfortable, even the ones without a/c. Each cabin also has a porch with a hammock. The staff is very courteous and friendly. The views from the top of the mountain and the river are incredible! We wished the lunch and dinner menus would have included more traditional meals, however, everything we ate was delicious. This is a very nice place to relax. If you are a little adventurous like we were, the staff will arrange for activities both onsite and offsite like zip-lining through the rainforest, guided or unguided mountain hiking, or going for a swim in the river. You will feel like you are in paradise when visiting the Lodge at Pico Bonito. We can't wait to come back! We recommend this amazing place to everyone who visits Honduras! It's a great place for a honeymoon, or just to get away from the city life.

Room Tip: Cabins without a/c are comfortable even during the summer. No need to upgrade to cabins with a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa_and_Gerardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Friends,

We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    57
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
83
159
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our second family adventure holiday to the Lodge at Pico Bonito in as many years. There are few artificial interaction barriers here, which we, as parents, feel restores the requirement for personal responsibility and good decision making. The Lodge employs guides who take special interest in caring for guests both on and off the property. We felt very safe on all of our excursions - or at least as safe as could be reasonably ensured in a wild jungle, snake-filled trails, or croc-infested river estuaries. We never felt any human-based threat once the Lodge van took us into their care outside the arrivals area at Le Ceiba. The grounds, cabins, service, food (we have allergies - no probs), and massages were all outstanding. This is truly a special place. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: We chose the cabins with a/c, not because it's too hot, but because it helps drown out the noctu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoobyPonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We hopped down to Honduras for a week in early May and stayed the entire time at the Pico Bonito. It was perfect, relaxing and better than expected. The grounds are great, and the staff is incredibly helpful and courteous. We did several expeditions from the Lodge, including a trip the small islands (in a very small boat) which was spectacular. Good snorkeling and lunch on this tiny island about the size of a football field, with people living there year round. They also have great guides and lots of hiking adventures up into the park (we saw lots of interesting wildlife including a small hognose viper!). The stay was also very reasonable, especially for the quality of the place. We ate almost all of our meals at the restaurant and weren't disappointed. This is a retreat that is highly recommended.

I will also say that there have been a lot of stories about safety in Honduras, but we experienced absolutely nothing that even bordered on a problem. It was just fine.

Room Tip: The rooms are all fairly equal, although there are some that are located a little further away, clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgreenarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, null, Cayman Islands
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were at The Lodge at Pico Bonito last weekend and had such a good time at.. It is a beautiful location, the rooms are great and the staff are excellent - very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to La Ceiba whether you are going for a relaxing trip or to partake in the many adventure activities available. Thank you Lodge at Pico Bonito!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseSmith0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Excellent facilities, fabulous birding, well-organized excursions to off-site habitats, expert guides, gracious and helpful staff, private accommodations, beautiful swimming pool, and an overall wonderful experience. We highly recommend the guided night-hike to see the nocturnal specialties of the site. We spent six days at the Lodge in late May, and although most of the migrant birds had left, there was much to see. We observed 140 species during our stay, including 13 species of hummingbirds, 4 species of trogans, and 12 species of flycatchers. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I visited here last weekend with my husband and 2 other couples and we had the most amazing experience.

The lodge is fabulous, the rooms are well equipped and had comfy beds! We ate in the restaurant for the 3 nights we were there, and not once did we have a bad food experience! The breakfast was filling and loads to choose from, perfect to set you up for the day ;) and the service at the Lodge was outstanding.

I would definetly come back here and totally recommend to anyone visiing Honduras, it's the perfect place to relax after a day doing hectic zip lining, jungle hikes etc, or just to chill out by the pool!

All in all 10/10

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This place was exactly what you would expect from a small, luxury hotel. The cabins were attractive, comfortable and well equipped, but the real draw here is the gardens and the private trails. The gardens are beautiful and full of hummingbirds, and sitting on the restaurant deck for cocktails or meals is really special. The food in the restaurant is stunning - you're a captive audience as the Lodge is a long way from anywhere else, but they don't take advantage of you. Prices are reasonable and everything we ate was delicious. Service was faultless and attentive, but was also friendly and warm.

Our only gripe with the Lodge was that we booked a hike to the waterfalls with a guide at quite a substantial price, and the guide didn't really speak English. I speak Spanish so we could communicate, but my friends did not. We expected a guide at this price to be knowledgeable and engaging, and our guide was very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Picobonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
75 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rainbow Village
Hotel Rainbow Village
#3 of 22 in La Ceiba
123 reviews
21.9 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Property: The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Address: AP 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing