We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Birding and Pampering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Place for Birding and Pampering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a trip to Honduras with my wife and four friends. After a week of diving on Cayos Cochinos we were looking for a little pampering and bird watching so we spent four days at The Lodge at Pico Bonito.

The Lodge is just outside La Ceiba but worlds away. We were there in early September so the birding was not at its best but we still saw keel-billed toucands, collared aracari, lovely cotingas, and a host of other glory birds. We are experienced birders but nevertheless we paid for several trips with a local guide, Jose and he could spot amazing things. Take the early morning bird tour and the tour to the coastal mangrove forest. Down there we saw crocodiles, howler and white-face monkeys, bats, several heron species and lots more.

The Lodge is not inexpensive but we found it worth the price. A couple pieces of advice. Ask for an upgraded cabin so that you get air conditioning. It is the tropics. Also the wifi did not reach our cabins, # 9 and 10 but they are the furthest from the main buildings.

Honduras has a reputation as a very violent place and one must be careful in La Ceiba. Nevertheless the Lodge at Pico Bonito had guards on the grounds at all times and we never felt unsafe.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank pjbphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    56
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
155
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Lodge at Pico Bonito is a stunning well-maintained resort for those who appreciate nature and indulgence combined. A mere 20 minute car journey from La Ceiba Airport, it is a convenient hide-a-way for those looking for peace and serenity. From start to finish I was well looked after and my every desire catered for by their amiable and efficient staff. From collection at the Airport, my private tours of the loop trails, butterfly and serpent enclosures, nature reserve parks and waterfalls I was impressed at both their attention to detail and personal touches that the staff afforded me. Being a solo traveller, service is at the utmost importance, and I felt that the staff at Pico Bonito lodge went above and beyond expectation. The Lodge itself offers a variety of activities for both the adventure-lover and the leisure-lover alike; whether it's hiking and white-water rafting your into, or just reading a book and an after lunch massage the lodge will attend to your agenda. The cabin I stayed in (Standard) was fully equipped with two double beds, an outside deck with hammock, coffee-machine, hot water/well-pressured shower, hairdryer, American-standard sockets, phone for calling reception, Ipod docking station, alarm clock, towels, dressing gowns, A.K.A all the amenities of home. The included breakfast menu was both healthy and delicious.. but the real winner was their cafetiere brewed coffee, which I indulged in without fail every morning. During the final day of my stay I opted to go hiking (with guide) to "Unbelievable falls" being somewhat of a hiking novice I would advise that this particular trail is not for the faint hearted, and that if you are a beginner the Loop Trails are probably your safer bet. One other suggestion for the management team at Pico Bonito would be in regard to their Spa services, perhaps you could expand on this; so as well as massages,you could offer facials, manicures and pedicures. That being said, I cannot say enough about this captivating resort; the flora and fauna were stunning and the variety of birdlife was overflowing. Pico Bonito is truly a gem of a place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonia242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

It was 5:45 am, and we were at the Lodge's restaurant for our 6:00 bird hike. Before we left, the restaurant staff brought out juice, fruit, small pastries. Which was nice, but the most remarkable detail was the coffee--freshly brewed in a French press, served at not the piping hot temperature where you have to let it cool off, but perfect for drinking right away. And with it they served a small container of milk, heated to the exact same temperature as the coffee so that it wouldn't cool it off.

That kind of attention to detail and service is what makes the Lodge such a special place (in addition to the access to nature it provides, of course!)

Our room was a cabin with a four-poster king-sized bed and an air conditioner we had the option of using (we never did). It pulled off the blend between luxury and rustic quite well--sacrificing no comfort while being appropriate to the rainforest setting. The cabins aren't terribly far apart from each other, but the forest surrounding you is so dense and lush that you can't see anyone else from your cabin and feel like you have complete privacy.

The Lodge is adjacent to Pico Bonito National Park, and just about everywhere you go, you get the backdrop of the magnificent mountains in the background, completely covered in lush jungle and cloud forest. It's bounded by two lovely rivers, and there are trails to multiple swimming holes and waterfalls. And in the middle of all that is the Lodge, which provides extraordinary service and relaxation in the midst of that wilderness. In addition to the hiking and relaxation, there's also a restaurant and bar with plenty of room to just hang out and relax, including a lovely deck over a river that you can reserve for a special romantic dinner. The restaurant staff

The restaurant staff provided excellent service, and the food was very good at all times. If you have any food/scheduling issues (need breakfast early before leaving on a tour, want to have something special made, want to eat dinner from the lunch menu) they will be more than happy to make things work for you.

And, yes, the hype about this being a 'birder's paradise' is true, even if you go in the 'low' season as we did. During our five night stay we saw dozens and dozens of species of spectacular birds--toucans, trogons, parrots, hummingbirds, owls and yes both the Lovely Cotinga and the Keel-Billed Motmot. The two excellent bird guides Jose P and Elmer kept on apologizing for what they felt was the lack of birds--they begged us to come back some time in the 'high season' when they said it was really good birding. We very well may do so.

Special note for birders: be sure to do the Rio Santiago Tour one morning--hummingbirds like nothing I've ever seen, and this is where we saw the Keel-Billed Motmot.

Room Tip: It is very humid, so if that really bothers you there are some rooms that have air conditioning. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

from the pickup at the ferry to the last mintue this was a wonderful experience... the place itself is amazing ... a beautiful rustic but first class hotel in the middle of the lush jungle. the grounds have an amazing array of plants, birds, even some wild little mamals that jump around here and there. the reception makes you feel like they are thrilled to see u, they bring u a welcome cocktail and make the actual registration a breeze. the cabins are a short walk by a path lined with all kinds of flowers ... then u hear the sounds ... the sounds of the wild. the cabins are perfect, comfy beds, nice and large bathroom, a terrace with with a hammock. we booked the cabin with a/c ... but really, there was no need for it. the food id superb, all is so fresh and delicious. we hiked to the river, not too dificult a walk and the site amazing ... the cool water. once back in the cabin, it rained ...it is after all a 'Rain forest' what a most deliciously lazy afternoon! perfect,perfect! highly recomed it,

Room Tip: there is really no need for airconditioning ... it gets cool at night and the noises of the jungle l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_Monica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is the best hotel I've stayed in.
The staff, specially the one in the restaurant and the guides, go out of their way to help you.
The setting is breathtaking, the hikes, the river, the jungle I mean I absolutely enjoy it, the one thing I regret is not staying longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a few night before heading to Guanaja and we loved it. It is so beautiful and peaceful here. The room are great, big and clean. We did a hike to the waterfall which was also amazing. The food was always great too. Would definitely recommend this place to friends an family.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralouclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was there last month every thing was good except the very bad experience was a mouse with they baby inthe bed I call the front desk they chance the bed but the problem was not only one was more animals I call they change my cabin because i told them I living the place they never apologized only the lady work a the front desk

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Gabriella,

Thank you for your comments. First and foremost, I apologize for the incident of finding a mouse in your cabin.
I’m sure it was not a pleasant situation and we are doing our best to remedy these kinds of unwelcome visits.
You are cordially invited to enjoy a complementary night at the Lodge on your next visit.
On behalf of our staff and myself, please accept our most sincere apologies.



Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#17 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Property: The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Address: AP 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing