We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a great stay I had recently, on a girls trip with my friend. Our cabin was well appointed, with a deck looking out into the forest. We had a/c but never turned it on, it actually was quite cool for a few nights. Everyone who we encountered at the lodge was so warm and friendly - Elmer, Jose, Orlando, Dani, Howard Gregory, Joel, Esdras, and on and on. Really top-notch staff.

The two outings we did were well worth the time and cost. Rio Santiago is nearby, up a bumpy road, where there are countless hummingbirds and a nice trail. The Cuero y Salado boat trip was perfect, we lucked out with great weather and saw many birds, howler monkeys, mapaches, etc. I would cover up well w/bug spray, I got bit a few times. The little train you take out to the refuge is alone worth it. Great fun!

The food was outstanding. Meal after meal was delicious, can't think of anything I wouldn't order again. Coffee made with a french press is a nice touch. The trails here are easy to follow and there is many, many birds to keep you occupied. They also have a nice serpentarium and butterfly garden. The night walk is a thrill, do take it if you can.

We stayed here 6 nights and I could have easily stayed a couple more nights. I do intend on returning and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in room #22 and it seemed like we were one of the farthest away from the main lodge. I like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,

The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    57
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
81
159
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Lodge at Pico Bonito did not disappoint during our 6 night stay. This hotel gets it right on several levels, starting with an airport pickup (SAP) featuring a comfortable van, pillows, cold water and sodas, snacks, fruit. What a great idea for a 3 hour drive!!

The entire staff is gracious, friendly, helpful, professional. Everyone we encountered went out of his or her way to make our stay complete, from the front desk to the outstanding restaurant and bar.

Set in the middle of a large cacoa forest, Pico Bonito is primarily a birding lodge, and we saw interesting (and rare) birds from the moment we arrived until we left. The hotel employs several guides, all top notch. The grounds are lovely and feature some nice viewing towers, easy and more difficult trails, river swimming, waterfalls, beautiful trees, plants, flowers.

Wildlife other than birds is abundant here with agoutis the most abundant of all! They were everywhere! We also saw boas, rabbits, owls, possums, raccoons. We especially enjoyed the night hike!

The food was nothing short of fabulous, so fabulous that we worked very hard in 6 days to try it all--no easy task. Never have I had such wonderful French Toast, Tuna Sashimi, Beef Carpaccio, Ceviche, Chicken Cordon Bleu, Scallops and Risotto, Beef Medallions, just to name a few favorites. And the desserts. . . . . . .oh!

The cabins are roomy and very comfortable. I was a bit disappointed in the shower as the water pressure was not up to par and the toilet had a slight leak. BUT, those things were minor and in no way interfered with my enjoyment of the property.

The serpentarium provided an interesting on site diversion as did the butterfly house.

Hopefully, there will be other opportunities to return to this fantastic lodge. It will be my pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.

We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.

Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

If you are looking for comfort and service in the midst of rain forest beauty, you won't go wrong with this luxury small hotel. The casitas are tastefully appointed, comfortable and relaxing. There are many optional activities available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,

The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Quiet, breathtaking, and a ton of fun. Perfect for one night as you hop over to Roatan or Utila, but you could easily spend a week.

It's extremely quiet during rainy season. We were the only guests there on the massive grounds.

The service is awesome. I would definitely check out the hike in the back of the grounds. They were extremely accommodating in picking us up from the SPS bus station as we crossed the border from Guatemala.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 511PhilW511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

i stayed here just for a night. but if i have a vacation, i would stay for a week or more.
...
before i arrive, i've worried about the location. because i couldn't find the hotel location on Google map. (it registered a wrong location on google)
but the reception send me a mail about the map with a comment.
i could find the location easily with the comment.
...
I got a very friendly welcome from all the staff...with Welcome Cocktail.
and they are helpful.
...
everything is very comfortable....and cozy...
the room was very clean and i could feel some 'naturaleza'...with fresh air.
i needed to turn on the air conditioner to control the humidity of the room.
...
The Restaurant!! is very nice.
but i don't recommend the steak with A sauce (coffee and wine something...)
comida de pollo y vegetales...those were good.
and jugo de naranja, toronja...was excellent!!
and the bar is very comfortable to drink something.
...
in the morning, there is a free hiking guide. (also Night Hiking at night)
it was very interesting and beautiful...and the course is a little stiff.
I recommend 'towel, swimsuit, a bottle of water and camera'.
...
the lodge at pico bonito is really great to feel free, refresh and mental healing.
...
and don't miss the chance to go to the Butterfly Museum in the city La Ceiba!!

Room Tip: to control the humidity in the room, turn on the air conditioner frequently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosAHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was an amazing hotel. Rustic setting but luxurious. And the nature trails around the park and tours were exceptional! Staff is amazing! My only critique was the restaurant is extremely expensive for Honduran standards. The cheapest entrees were $18 and they go up to the 30-40+ range. For those prices, you're better off renting a car and going to La Ceiba to have real Honduran food.

Room Tip: We didn't have AC and were fine, but it was Sept and cool at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have visited this property twice and will return again in March. This is a five star resort in the middle of the rainforest...not what one would expect in Honduras. The service is over the top excellent. Be sure to take an excursion with Elmer. He is so knowledgeable about the birds and other wildlife. One of my favorite things to do here is swim in one of the two rivers that border the property. The water is clear and cold and you will look up to see the canopy above you. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
253 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Property: The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Address: AP 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing