We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Visit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Certificate of Excellence
Montague
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in early March. As an avid birder, Pico Bonito had long been on her wish list for places to visit. An unexpected week off in our month-long mission trip provided this opportunity, and we hopped on it. The time there was delightful in every way - superb birding, outstanding guides on her early AM birding hikes (Jose was simply great and his English fluency an added plus!), great birding right on the lush grounds as well during the rest of the days. Our accommodations were excellent, the restaurant very good (best cordon bleu we've ever eaten!), the staff friendly and helpful, and the other guests congenial. We'd love to return for a second visit!

Room Tip: Room 2 is conveniently close to everything - pool, restaurant and main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anchises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at the Lodge at Pico Bonito.

We hope to see you soon in our little piece of paradise.

Warm Regards,
The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    56
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
155
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here on a package that included meals and activities. We enjoyed them all - although the hike to Unbeleavable Falls was challenging. The cabins were spacious and comfortable. Only suggeston is a smal fridge in the room to keep water chilled. The staff was very freindly. We liked the food quite a bit, and they were able to accomadate a gluten-free diet. The grounds were fantastic. Always felt safe. And of course we liked all the birds and other creatures! The place is expensive, though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,
The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My husband and I (both in our 30s) came here for 9 days without our toddler. This was a truly wonderful place and we have stayed all over central america in various other jungle lodges. Edgar Escoto, the bird guide, was phenomenal. Danillo, our waiter most nights, was terrific. The ladies at the front desk were always helpful and smiling. The cleaning ladies were spectacular...tip them!! Massage was good too.

We had 2 issues: 1- this is a nature retreat and smoking was allowed on individual cabin decks and in the public restaurant including cigars. This should not be permitted at least in the public areas. We have never encountered smokers at jungle lodges anywhere else (including in their own cabins).

2- the food is french and american. It was sad to be in the middle of the Honduran countryside and not be offered fresh lychee nuts or mangos or dinners of more rice/bean/plantain based traditional food. One of the things we like the most about traveling to central america is the local cuisine. As vegetarians our option every night was pasta primavera...a dish from an Olive Garden, not a SLH Honduran resort! The chef should explore the menu offered at Jicaro Ecolodge in Nicaragua for truly amazing local cuisine or another suggestion is invite Panchy of the garifuna village up to the Pico Bonito kitchen for some of her recipes!

Lisa and Brad, Pittsburgh, PA

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RepRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Friends,

We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.

Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We knew we were in for something special when we were greeted with a cool wash cloth and a drink to sip while we were registering. Once assigned a cabin our luggage was taken immediately to it almost without our knowing. Our cabin was in a spot that had the constant sound of the river running in the valley below which was very relaxing. We were there for the birders package and our guide German (pronounced Herman) didn’t disappoint. We were all over the property, finding a variety of birds, and our trips off the property were rewarding as well. Our trip to Cuero Y Salado Wildlife Refuge was great, loved the little train ride out and back, but would have loved another hour in the boat to look for more birds. A special place that was very relaxing and pampered.

Room Tip: We loved the cabins that backed up to the valley with the sound of the river, but I think any cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A and B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,
The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at the Lodge for 3 days. The staff each go out of their way to make sure you are happy, comfortable and enjoying your stay. The food is totally wonderful. Some of it is a bit pricey but we found the high quality and flavor warranted the price. The day excursions to Cuero y Salada and Rio Santiago were well worth the price. Our guides Joel and Edrus could not have been more people oriented and knowledgeable. Edrus went out of his way and off the trip excursion plan to ensure we saw all we wanted to see. If i could give this 10 stars i would. Plan a visit soon before the whole world finds this woodland paradise!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ESJ8453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at the Lodge at Pico Bonito.

We hope to see you soon in our little piece of paradise.

Warm Regards,
The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a wonderful visit last week, as part of the group from Victor Emanuel Nature Tours. Right on the grounds, so many life birds (Tawny-winged Woodcreeper, Black-throated Shrike-Tanager, and Sunbittern among them!) as well as hundreds of old feathered friends. Our cabin was beautiful: hardwood floors, updated bathroom, ample closet and storage space. The bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed having a little gecko patrolling the shower, whom we promptly named "Shower Dude". Screens and shutters on the windows let us adjust air flow to our liking. We slept most nights with the shutters open and just the ceiling fans on, although the A/C was helpful when we came back from our long birding treks. The food was delicious, with a very nice selection for every meal. I'm glad we stayed 6 nights, as we were able to try nearly every menu item of interest and then enjoy our favorites again on our last day. Back at home, the scale is still reminding me of all those desserts we savored! Our local guide, German, was an excellent bird spotter. It was thanks to him that we found the Sunbittern at the "frog pond" near Tower 1. The staff were quite helpful with any requests we had, and seemed to melt into the background otherwise. It was such a treat to sit on the porch or take meals outside, watching the agoutis and myriad bird species visiting the feeders and flowers. We walked all sorts of trails, enjoying the forest sound, birds and critters. At night, falling asleep to the hoots of owls and little squeaks of Shower Dude was idyllic. Umbrellas were available at every cabin and the common areas, which were quite helpful for those drenching downpours that popped up occasionally. We've been dreaming of coming to The Lodge at Pico Bonito ever since we first became serious birders. It was everything we hoped for and more. What a sweet introduction to your beautiful country!

Room Tip: If you're a birder, go for Cabin #12. Friends stayed at that one and it overlooked soem fruitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate the kind words and are delighted that we were able to make your experience memorable.

We hope you will visit us again soon in our little piece of paradise.

Sincerely,

The Team at Pico Bonito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

In a tumultuous country, this is a little piece of Honduras heaven. We are North Americans living in San Pedro Sula for three years and this is truly a little piece of heaven here on earth. We have not had the privilege of staying as a guest in the hotel rooms but we make the 2 1/2 hour drive from San Pedro Sula to enjoy the food at the beautiful restaurant whenever our time will allow. When we have guests in town, this is where we bring them and it is always lovely at any time of year. There will always be something in bloom, plenty of birds, a wide variety of hummingbird species at all the feeders, and other wildlife. You can't go wrong with any menu item, between ourselves and our guests we have sampled many of them. All are delicious and the service alone is worth the drive. Reservations are recommended for the restaurant but are not necessary, it just makes the check through security a little quicker. If you come to the resort as a guest for the day without restaurant reservations, there is a 100 lempira visitor fee, which actually is a nice deal at the end of your day as you receive the 100 lempira back as a credit in the gift shop. Some of my favorite treasures from Honduras have come from the Honduras crafted gift shop at Pico Bonito. You can also visit the resort and enjoy their lunch and guided hike option. This is excellent with or without the rain as other reviewers have noted. We hiked a couple weeks ago in a monsoon and it was a great adventure. Bless our guides heart for taking us out in such weather. There are many reviews here, but wanted to share our perspective of enjoying a day visit . . . we highly recommend it! During our first visit we received a tour of the resort and the rooms do look lovely and the beds look very high quality. One of these first days we will have some vacation time and hope to spend it here at Pico Bonito.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkleinrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriel C, General Manager at The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Friends,
We appreciate your good comments. Our mission is to make your stay memorable by making the ordinary extraordinary. We are delighted to know that we have accomplished it.
We hope that you will make us a preferred destination in your travels, and return to our little piece of paradise.
Regards from the entire team at Pico Bonito.

Gabriel Cambon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
10.4 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
10.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
11.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#17 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito

Property: The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Address: AP 710, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the Pico Bonito National Park, The Lodge at Pico Bonito seamlessly combines nature and luxurious comfort. The luxury eco-lodge located on the Caribbean coast of Honduras near La Ceiba is a member ofSmall Luxury Hotels of the World. The Lodge offers the adventure of the outdoors, the beauty of the rainforest, and the personal service and luxury of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pico Bonito Hotel La Ceiba
Hotel At Pico Bonito
At Pico Bonito Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing