We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacations and Wedding experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacations and Wedding experience.”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The rooms are nice and clean. Very nice clean beach and some activities for children available.
It is very close to the Water Park which is a plus when travelling with kids. Very nice buffet at any time with their all inclusive packages. They have different "themes" for every day so you don't get bored of the food if you are staying there for a long period of time.
It could get very crowded sometimes because they have a daily all-inclusive passes.

In another hand.. I've had several close friends who've gotten married here and we noticed that the staff was very friendly when organizing the ceremony and food tasting but once it was wedding time some things changed a bit.
They are the host a TV show and on the wedding day we realized that they had set the chairs at the beach right next to a huge structure that was built for the show. The photographers did a good job cause this was not seen on any of the pictures. At the food sampling the bride chose a very nice fillet in wine sauce and on the wedding day the meat wasn't was nice, it didn't even seem like if it was fillet. Another one they signed a contract for a place and a week before the wedding they told her that they had to change it because another event was going to take place nearby and they feared that the wedding was going to be disturbed.
Anyhow, at the end everyone was having fun and probably no other guest even noticed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tahereh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    213
    106
    57
    43
See reviews for
165
141
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A nice place to discover for those who love exotic vacation, wild nature and not luxury touristic places. Hotel territory is big and clean, personnel very helpful and friendly. Food was delicious and the beaches were clean and not crowded. Animation team is very young and not mature enough to entertain everyone but was enough to keep the evenings busy.
The most exciting part is excursions- canopy, rafting, islands, etc. -worth doing, not expensive, very beautiful and wild nature, breathtaking views and nice memories. Kids of all ages (mine are 8 and 12) will love those trips.
The sea is not a calm one, very wavy, but water is always warm. For those who prefer pools, there are 3 on the territory. Rooms are so-so, there is no coziness in them, but as you spend all day outside it is the last thing to worry about.
The trip to city is not the most exciting, but is worth if you need souvenirs. Have American dollars on you, Canadian dollar is not accepted anywhere. The city is safe enough, people nice and friendly, very poor though.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with terrace or balcony, as it is extremely hmid inside and no clothes can be drie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zara76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Ten of us spent the first week of March at the Palma Real. We had a wonderful time. Rooms were very clean. The meals in the buffet were good with lots of variety. The desserts could have been a bit more elaborate, but they were fine. The drinks were nothing special, only Strawberry daquiries and Pina Colatas, but you could get ordinary drinks. Wine was not too good. Yes, the Disco is too close to the rooms and very loud until 1 a.m., but you just have to tune it out. They should move the Disco. The al a carte restaurants were quite far from the main building and you had to take the tractor/wagon to get there. That's where the Disco should be! There was nothing organized for children, but the children organized themselves with games, etc. in the pool and had lots of fun. We found the staff very friendly, especially the lady making the omelets. We were not very impressed with the SunWing rep. The day we were leaving, the plane was late and she only spoke to a few people around her about it and when we asked what was happening, she just said "it will be here soon"! When trying to speak to her at the hotel, she was always very short and not very friendly. People must remember that Honduras is not into Tourism like Mexico and the Dom. Rep., but they do try.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rosie0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I and 14 missioners spent our final day and night at the Palma Real. We were all pleased with the accommodations, the activities, and the great buffet meals. Beach nicely maintained. Great pool. Snacks and drinks included. All rooms have two queen beds. The staff went above and beyond in meeting our needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KPHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torino, italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Despite 40 years+ of frequently travelling across the world in all fashions, I was convinced by these reviews and by internet research to go against my better judgment. After 4 weeks of traveling through-out Honduras we decided to take a break and spend a supposedly more refined week within a higher-end structure.

It would not meet basic expectations for any combination of the below - all of which are factual:
1. Check-in set the stage, with no information given as to services, towel cards not offered, maps not shared, baggage service not offered, and minimal assistance provided.
2. Personnel is generally surly, verging on unfriendly, to passively hostile. A marked difference from the 10+ other hotels we stayed in Honduras prior to this one, and a universal low for this country.
3. Security - compared to Honduras standard expectations, minimal security presence.
4. Maintenance issues: no key to the in-room safe, mold in bathroom, aging (everything), missing toilet paper in public restroom, missing lightbulbs, marginally functional screen door in the room, no hot water in sink faucets, broken shower.
5. Food options are miserably limited, showing an utmost lack of care. Cafeteria-level food, glumly served, in the single restaurant still open. Shortages of basic items, such as ceramic mugs for coffee or full-size forks. Easily the worst all-inclusive buffet ever experienced.
6. Bar selection is dreadful, worse than even most discount Caribbean resorts, ineptly served by staff more interested in chatting with each other than conducting basic duties. Could not execute a Margarita, despite having ingredients.
7. General lack of resort management best practices and application of common sense, with beach towels not available until late in the morning, room cleanup being performed later in the afternoon despite a specific request to clean "early" (at 12:30, when staff was across the hallway), and complete lack of care for client welfare.
8. Presence of local Honduran day guests at swimming pool, saturating public spaces. Never seen in an all-inclusive resprt.
9. But finally, the single most overwhelmingly negative aspect of this entire experience was the constant, incessant, loud music being played in public locations, with a particular highlight the disco playing incredibly loud music from 6pm to 1am, every day. This, with a resort that is mostly empty, with an average of 4 patrons per night in the disco area, which happens to be beachfront and centrally located so as to bother everyone. Repeated requests by multiple guests to management to lower the volume level went unheeded. Bass can be heard pounding within the guest rooms, compromising peace and sanity.

Overall, this used to be a fantastic resort, from what we can tell of its design, on an unspoilt beach which could be the apex of tranquility and/or carefully managed fun. Incompetent management and policies are likely to blame.

In brief, never again.

Room Tip: don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank turistanonacaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Ceiba hotels

Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great Hotel, great quality/price trip. Snorkeling, rafting and tyrolean were awesome! Not that close to La Ceiba (about 30 mins from the city)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank superluis018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Qu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I just returnedvfrom a 2 week stay in Honduras. I stayed at Palma Real Hotel which was more than I expected it to be for a 4 star hotel. My room ws very clean. tThe bed, bathroom and balcony were cleaned every day. it is a beautuful country and I will return. The excursions I took were excellent and the trip organizer Dorothy was very friendly and took care of even the smallest details. I want to compliment Sunwing on their choice of rep for this hotel. Francine was welcoming and very helpful. On the ride to the hotel from the airport Francine pointed out variouis interesting things as we passed trhough La Ceiba.Francine works very hard to meet everyone"s needs. From my experience she goes above and beyond to meet her client's requests. I never saw her turn a client away when asked a question or just for a social chat.

Room Tip: Room with an ocean view and a balcony on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elizabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
12.9 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
21.9 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
13.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas

Property: Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Km. 20 Carretera La Ceiba-Trujillo, La Ceiba 9999, Honduras (Formerly Barcelo Palma Real Resort)
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas Hotel La Ceiba
Palma Real Beach Resort And Villas
Palma Real Beach Hotel
Palma Real Honduras
Palma Real Beach La Ceiba
Palma Real Hotel Honduras
Palma Real La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing