We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to start the new year!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Iroquois, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great way to start the new year!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We were a group of 13 people staying Dec. 28th til Jan, 11th. We flew Sunwing, which really needs to work on check in policy. Communication was greatly lacking in all aspects dealing with Sunwing Rep. she was never at her desk and rarely visible on the resort. We were placed in the 100 section of the Palm Real Resort and were surprised at how secluded, private this was. We loved it there! We had private breakfast, bar and pool. Would recocmmend this area! We had to travel by trolley or walk the 10 min. to the Palm Caribe for lunch and dinner. The food was very good. A bit repetitive after two weeks, however, the food was very americanized. Lots of salads, rice, potato and pastas, chicken, fish and beef served nightly. The soup was amazing every night! the desserts were delicious! We were told by the Sunwing rep. that security was there and to be mindful of walking long distances. Please take warning with this. Travelling for long distances or too close to the tall grasses will only ask for trouble. We did not hear of any horror stories.. but be careful. The beach had nice waves and looks great. Two people in our group got stung by jelly fish... once again be watchful. We did a tour into town and enjoyed this for $10. part of our group also went on snorkelling trip to Cochina Island $55. A must! The rooms are really clean and the maids are very friendly. $1 tipping throughout the day went a long way to generate friendliness and faster service. You can call canada for $1 for ten minutes at the front reception. No computers available, however free Wifi is there. Bring your notebooks and have fun. Nightlife is almost non there. The resort is not overflowing with guests and there is hardly a lineup anywhere. We had an anniversary, and two birthdays while there. The hotel provided cakes when asked at no charge. Very nice cakes too. No ice cream, french fries , hamburgers anywhere on the resort. Lots of fresh fruit and very plentiful! The resort is doing major repairs everyday. the place looks wonderful, The wall murals are fantastic and the front lobby looks great! The tennis courts as well as the basketball courts were also under repair. The bathrooms throughout the resort were beautiful. We have travelled to many different countries and I have yet to see public bathrooms this beautiful! Shopping is not plentiful I was surprised to discover that local cigars, and spirits are all imported. We did hire a taxi to go to town for a bit of shopping.$26 spent for the whole car. He stayed with us and interpreted as well carried packages too! Ricko from entertainement helped out with arranging this. The workers prefer cash tips, however, anything left on the bed will be taken.. so be careful when leaving things on the bed! We flew out at 10 pm. and the hotel allowed us to keep our rooms til 5 pm. Checking in at the airport in Honduras was not very organized. We were a group that paid $80 for elite seating and the airport personnel filled up the line almost making it impossible to take advantage of the premium we paid for. We literally had to "push " our way through the elite line. It was amazing how the french passengers selectively pick when they can and cannot understand english! they would not move to allow us through. When told that we paid for the privilege of using the faster check in service they did become rude. I would hope that Sunwing should have been there to help transition this check in process. My husband had to step over these passengers who would not move.. In doing so he dropped our carryon and broke a bottle of rum. Not that they appreared too concerned... Why do french passengers carry on the way they do! Do not put alchol or other liquid into your carry on. it will get confiscated. We had a wonderful holiday, got great tans, and had wonderful food. The weather was wonderful and the people were friendly..... I suggest that you give Honduras a try!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The 100 section is the Palm Real site. Very private, quiet and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank partylite000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    211
    105
    57
    43
See reviews for
164
140
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We travelled with 3 children, chose a villa, it was very quiet and with fully equipped kitchen, very clean, no mold, no insects, 2 huge bathrooms, no problems with water. Furniture pathetic and falling apart, but who cares!
No internet at the villas though, but OK at the lobby or main building.
Food totally safe but not appealing to the kids, they survived on pancakes, cereal and bananas.
The hotel is very busy with locals on the week-end, and almost empty during the week, but they always have enough of everything.
I was very happy to practice my Spanish, only a handful of staff speak half-decent English, no French.
Beach is waivy but one can still swim, water is mixed with sand, no snorkelling nearby.
Many pools, very clean, no problems with towels, chairs, shade.
We did a few trips: Cayos Cochinos, canopy, baths, cayaking, cloud forest: all departed on time, all very interesting.
Not to miss a visit to an orphanage nearby. If you have room for toys and chocolates, bring them, but money is OK too. This is the type of charity one can not go wrong with.
Many thanks to Catherine, she is a kind of a rep one can only wish for, goes all the way and more to help everybody. For example, we all got our bands and room keys at the airport before getting on the buses that saved this check-in grief. We were granted a very late check-out no problem on a very busy day.
The airport is a huge pain, very cold waiting area, so keep some warm clothes out.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: choose villa if you want quiet, main building has too much noise from the "disco" area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anka_s_Grazhdanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at the Palma Real Dec. 29-Jan 2, 2012. It is still being remodelled. There was painting and work being done in the lobby. There were many things in the rooms that were just unfinished. We had 2 rooms and there were different things wrong in each room. When asked about repairs, we were told they would get to the problems, but were not while we were there. The security of the doors in our rooms was substandard. Wouldn't keep someone out if they wanted in. The food was good, our sons got tired of the selection after the 2nd day. The drinks included were ok. I would recommend the beer and wine. The beds were not up to US standards. We had ants in our bathroom. The pillows were flat. The staff at the front desk spoke English, but the rest of the staff spoke little English. When we checked in, the staff did not explain activities for our upcoming stay. We just happened upon them. We were told by our driver and guide about the New Years party who we had hired outside of the resort. I am told that this is one of the nicest in La Ceiba. I would not have wanted to stay somewhere else if that is the case.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okie-Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Dec21-29 2012,
We spent our nice Christmas vacation at Palma Real . The staffs are very helpful and very polite. Dorothy and David are very nice. Lobby and Cafeteria are new renovated by very famous artist in Honduras and Nicaragua, look gorgeous. Swimming pools are with new tiles. The sea is warm but a little bit wavy, necessary to go further, it is not deep. The room was ok, but washroom is required to be renovated, but still ok. Food is descend, not a lot of choices, but possibly to find something good. There were a lot of excursions: Cayos Cochinons are interesting, Jungle Spa is amazing and others. So we had good time

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vira_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Hadn't been back to this place in a looong while. Food and service are average. Rooms and facilities need lots of renovations. Our 3 rooms had water pouring from the ceiling. Don't think i'll come back to this here. I'm sure they lost the Barcelo branding they used to have cause they weren't meeting standards...just an assumption.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meli_hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

The buildings are nice, but standard local problems apply. Wifi is sketchy to non-existant, hot water/cold water is hit or miss (no cold is the worst, because the hot is crazy hot), and AC is fifty-fifty, if you constantly badger the staff (if you don't, you may never have AC). That being said, for the money, the food is decent, the staff is friendly and will try to help, and Animacion (entertainers) are a lot of fun. Trips to cayos from the hotel are great, although it is cheaper to get yourself to the hot springs or whitewater rafting, I dont recommend booking these through the staff. Once the new building is built, things might improve, but the hotel needs some major investment in infrastructure to ever be high quality. Overall, if you dont need all the amenities, La Palma Real is a decent deal.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I booked 3 villas for our church mission trip in August 2012. I have to admit I didn't realize what a luxury the villas would be for our mission trip.

I primarily booked the villas because of the great security and the fact that renting villas was cheaper than individual hotel rooms in downtown La Ceiba.

First, I need to point out that we had several children and teens on the mission trip so security was our primary focus. I think security was one of the primary focuses at the Palma Real. We had to sign-in to get on the property and we even had drivers come to pick us up and they took their ID's from them. Security on the property was also very strict. The armed guards walk past the villas every 20 - 30 minutes or so. We were stopped when we were walking to the pools SEVERAL times (they were very friendly - but definitely wanted to know who you were and where you were staying). Several times they even walked past the front doors. The first couple days we were even questioned at the pool. I was VERY happy that they have such strict security.

From the beginning of the trip (where we got our keys) -- we were treated like royalty. I wish I remembered the name guy who greeted us when we got there because he was very helpful and spoke perfect English. Everyone we ran into spoke really good English. We spoke with Larisa - the property manager through emails and then in person and she was great to work with -- I would definitely contact her if you wanted to make a reservation. She does have email and responds quickly.

The property was very well groomed and the villas were beautifully decorated and had all the amenities that you could wish for. We did have an issue with the air conditioner one day and Larisa took care of it promptly. The power also went out several times -- but it went out in the whole city -- just be prepared that that is a possibility. Just be aware that the water in some villas is purified and not in others -- they do provide the bottled water but don't drink the water in the shower if it's not purified! No one in our team of 15 got sick from the water but we were careful.

We did not take advantage of the meal plan but some from our group looked at the buffet and said it looked amazing. Just keep in mind that if you are looking for American food (like in the grocery store) - you need to be prepared to pay a high price for it. We left super early for our mission trip work and bought things at the super market for breakfast in the villa and we paid $6 for a small box of fruit loops and around $3 for a gallon of milk. We were really astonished at the prices of food at the supermarkets.

The pools and beaches were very clean. We saw them cleaning the beach one morning and the pool was right outside our villa. It was always clean -- sometimes it would turn a little green from a whole day of rain (that's to be expected) but it was quickly remedied when the rain stopped. There are so many pools, I can't imagine you would get bored even if the water park isn't open. There were not many people but we really enjoyed the privacy. We were gone for about 8 - 10 hours a day but the time we were there was amazing. I would highly recommend it for families, missionaries, couples, etc.

The only negative is the road from La Ceiba out to the hotel. As a cautious American driver with kids, it was a little harrowing, but nothing a good driver can't handle. It actually isn't a very long trip to La Ceiba, so if you need something it's not too far -- just far enough away to feel like you have your own secluded piece of paradise.

Room Tip: The villas were amazing -- very private and spacious. Try to get one near the pools -- some are &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
12.9 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
21.9 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
13.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas

Property: Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Km. 20 Carretera La Ceiba-Trujillo, La Ceiba 9999, Honduras (Formerly Barcelo Palma Real Resort)
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Real Beach Resort And Villas
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas Hotel La Ceiba
Palma Real Beach Hotel
Palma Real Honduras
Palma Real Beach La Ceiba
Palma Real Hotel Honduras
Palma Real La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing