We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An overall nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Palapa - Bar

La Palapa - Bar
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in La Ceiba
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An overall nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had dinner here in my last trip to Ceiba. They had a live band and the music was very lively. This is not a place for a quiet intimate dinner. The whole atmosphere is like party non-stop. The service is ok and the drinks are not watered down....One good thing is that the portions are generous, it makes sharing a plate among friends and easy task. Ideal to start the night with friends and then keep the party going....

The most convenient feature is the proximity to Hotel Quinta Real...if you are staying there then it's just a few steps next door.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank consiglieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nat_B1986
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfort food - fairly expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Restaurant / bar with a diverse menu though expensive for what it is. Has good screens and shows a range of sport.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nat_B1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

It is okay? I really can't say more than that.

Went for lunch 3 out of 4 of us ordered a hamburger and were told that they didn't have any that day. After that the whole experience tended to get a little odd as the language barrier caused a bit of confusion. All and all everyones food tasted great and the beers were cold. Was approached a few times from someone on the street asking for money. The security guard didn't do anything - but such is life.

Our waitress was great in position fans to be blowing on our little girl who was asleep in her stroller. That part was much appreciated but the food was typical nothing crazy but good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles City, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a Good Value For Your Money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were tired and at the end of a 2 week vacation. This place was right across the street from where we were staying (the night before the return trip) so it was an easy choice. Unfortunately, even though it was basically empty, there were 5 TV's playing, all on different channels and even sitting outside, the noise level was not relaxing!

Dinner took a long time to get and the food simply was not that good! I am not one to give out bad reviews, but this is not a stop I personally would repeat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Ceiba, Honduras
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average in just about every way.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Food, service, atmosphere, are all just ok. Nothing really blows you away about anything. The atmosphere tries to be more modern, but it comes off as tacky. I've been a few times, and every time the food is average no matter what I order.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Palapa - Bar also viewed

La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
La Ceiba, Atlantida Department
 

Been to La Palapa - Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing