We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap...”
Review of Hotel Catracho

Hotel Catracho
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Catracho
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap...”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I was directed to this hotel by another Trip Advisor member and it fulfilled our needs - mainly, it was cheap ($15 for a room with a double bed and fan). The room was okay, we were only provided one towel between the two of us (but I guess it's better than none at all, and we're traveling with towels so it's fine). The bathroom wasn't exactly spotless (but wasn't disgusting either) and the sound from the reception area carried into the room more than we would've liked. Overall, I'm still happy with our choice - cost was a big factor for us and the downsides were made up for by the $15 price tag for a private room with private bathroom (it also had cable TV and wifi). Watch out for the in-house cafe opening hours - both at dinner time and breakfast time we got caught out arriving just after closing time - lucky there is Expatriados across the street...

Room Tip: I would go for one of the rooms that doesn't have windows opening into the main hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatclaregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
6
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Othello WA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Basic room for 15$. Bed, fan, hot water private bath. Mold in bathroom... but it is what it is. A pit stop, good for a one night stay. From Hedman Alas bus paid 50 limpiras to get here and paid 70 limpiras to get to the ferry. There is a small cafe in the building which I had breakfast at for like 10 limpiras. tortilla and eggs. Went across the street to the Expatriates Bar and Grill. Try the chicken wings. big plate served with carrot sticks and ranch dressing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We stayed one night at Hotel Catracho on our way from Utila to Tegus, the location is a bit out of the center but the bus from the Ferry terminal stops just around the corner (get of in front of Citibank).

Our fan room (C300) had only windows to the hallway, hence there isn't much fresh air. But the positive is that the room stays cool as no walls are exposed to the sun, and it's definitely quiet.
The bed was firm, the room clean and reasonably sized. This isn't the place you would want to spend a week, but for one night it's the best option we found in La Ceiba.

There is no wifi (at least no signal in the rooms)

Tip:
Go to the Expatriates Bar/Restaurant is right across the street for good food and happy hour drinks.

Room Tip: Center rooms are cooler and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poboxearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

After shopping around, this was the best place to stay in the budget range, $15 USD for a private room. Windows open into the hallway, so if other guests are quiet you will get a quiet night's sleep without the outside noise. The room is basic, but clean. Best of all is it's location, right across the Expatriates Bar and Grill, which has the best food we've eaten in Honduras if you're tired of rice and beans.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenbee416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Close to everything. Quiet, secured,and the staff is really nice.
room rates are the best in town, it has a nice little cafetteria that will serve all your tipically Honduran dishes.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Father
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed 3 nights in a room with 3 beds for $35/night. We had our own bathroom with hot water. We didn't even need the hot water because the weather was hot enough that it did not feel refreshing to shower in hot water after coming inside from the hot/humid weather. We had air conditioning, and even the cleaning staff asked if we wanted her to wash our clothes. We came to a clean room everyday after being out and about. Everyone was nice and very attentive.

Like my title states: Its not the Marriott but good enough to sleep, shower, drink and swim. Kids had a blast in the pool and it even has a nice little tiki bar. But it is a diamond in the ruff!!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hondureyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

its one of the worst hotels that i have stayed in. the room wasnt clean, its a very small room, the room didnt have hot water and it didnt have a/c. it only had a fan. the only good thing was the price around 25 dollars per night.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TampaDarknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Ceiba hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Molina
Hotel Molina
#16 of 22 in La Ceiba
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catracho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catracho

Property: Hotel Catracho
Address: La Ceiba, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Number of rooms: 269

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing