We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price/performance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Paris
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Old Forge, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good price/performance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Very helpful hotel staff, in central city location, $13.00 taxi ride from airport, the hotel itself is old and tired. Had a very good conch seviche in restaurant, air conditioner in room ran only on full bore ice cold.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 90Miler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    22
    7
    10
See reviews for
15
30
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Located in front of Central Park, it was a nice enough location although I didn't have any time to explore the vicinity although we did stop by the "Walmart" around the corner for some treats. The rooms were pretty basic and the staff were really friendly. There was a computer we could use for checking email or internet and of course there was wifi available. The showers took awhile to get warm and the older rooms in the hotel weren't the best but it was adequate. The only annoyance are the cab drivers. The hotel staff would let us know the price of the cabs to certain places but it would invariably be incorrect as many refused to give the cheaper price if there was only 1-2 people they were driving.

Room Tip: Try to get the newer side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigmy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The only place with electricity on a night we arrived at midnight we were pleasantly surprised to stumble upon Gran Hotel. After a 12 hour drive it was great to sprawl out in the pool area and hang out with other travellers. La Ceiba is not especially welcoming so it was nice to have a haven for the night before departing for Roatan the next morning.

Also, we were two couples which made the price well worth it. Had we been less people, we may not have stayed. Given the same circumstances, I would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gossome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed over the busy Semana Santa period for three nights. Extremely helpful hotel staff in a place mainly frequented by locals and very good value for money. Our experience of the front of house staff was that they we unceasingly polite and helpful. Very helpful in orientating us in the city - its location in the heart of the city is really helpful. A great swimming pool and reasonable Honduran food. Kids liked staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicols_Altrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed at the Gran Paris on two separate occassions. The first time was great. I was in room 207 overlooking the pool. The room was dated but clean with cold a/c and cable TV. The room service was fast but the food was only fair. The housekeeping was fantastic as they seemed to know exactly when I left the room and never knocked on my door. The second stay was awful as my room was over the kitchen and reaked of grease. There was actually a vent from the kitchen letting out in my bathroom. It was horrible. The front desk was very helpful and moved me to another room the next morning but that was one awful night. So, it's all about the room. Make sure to stay overlooking the pool far far away from the kitchen. Drink prices were reasonable and free internet with a desktop computer in the lobby was also helpful for those traveling without their laptop. Also, since I was a solo traveler the front desk made sure to put me in Taxi's that they knew. Unfortunatley, there are some unsafe taxi's in La Ceiba.

Room Tip: Don't stay over the kitchen or on the street side. Stay on the second or third floor overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila-Bay Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Hotel Paris used to be our top choice when coming through La Ceiba. But we've stopped giving it glowing reviews, as our last few stays have been anything but great. To its credit, and why we still do suggest it as an option: 1) the location is awesome is the center of town- super convenient to everything. You don't want to walk at night, but they always have a taxi waiting for you. 2) The pool area is great too. Very clean, nice chairs around it, and nice little bar with a sweet bartender. 3) For travelers (and expats and locals), its an “easy” spot to stay- as far as it will be a decent enough stay.

The reason we don't love it anymore: 1) Unfortunately, front desk service the last 3 times has had a huge air of arrogance or maybe its more indifference. Whatever it was, it was not a welcoming attitude and many of our local friends have noticed this as well. (Doorman, Bellman and cleaners are super nice and fantastic- its just the front desk staff that has some attitude issues). 2) For the rooms, its no secret that its really hit or miss. The new section is great- clean rooms, nice beds. The old section is run down, a bit stale. Some rooms are downright mildewy. This is not a cleaning issue with the housekeepers, but the rooms themselves. Unfortunately, you won't know what you are getting unless you ask for a specific room number. You can try and ask for new section, but I'd suggest you look at the room first before checking in.

So all that said, its not the worse place to stay in La Ceiba, but certainly not our top choice. Yeah, we'll end up staying there again, because there is not a huge amount of options in this price range, we like the location, and again, its an easy enough spot. But it really would be nice if just once the front desk staff acted a bit welcoming when you walked in the front door for check in.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UtilaGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

The staff, location, amenities, bar all make the Hotel Paris just a cool place. It is centrally located at the town park. You can walk to several places to eat and the hotel has a restaurant that serves all meals, by the pool if you want.
There is a new section and an older section. The new section is clean and bright, the older section is clean, but shows it's age. We have been staying at the Paris for over 14 years!
The pool by the bar is clean and refreshing after a hot day of shopping in La Ceiba.
We live on Utila and most of our friends always stay at the Hotel Paris, as well as people from Roatan, lots of medical volunteer teams and tourists. The price is reasonable.
We always recommend the Hotel Paris for our guests coming to Utila.

Room Tip: Stay in the new section, quieter, and just newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColibriSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#15 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#17 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Paris

Property: Gran Hotel Paris
Address: Frente a Parque Central, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gran Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing