We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent stay for 1 night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gran Hotel Paris
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“decent stay for 1 night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Gran Hotel Paris a decent choice for a short stay in LeCeiba. However I do not any experiences with other hotels in the area for comparison. We booked this place for an over night stay heading to Roatan.

From the airport, it is a 15 min Taxi ride depending on traffic. Paid $15 USD for 2 people. Check in and check out was hassel free, we asked for a 2 double bed room and got one with an attached living room (???) facing the main street. Room was huge and clean. Nothing fancy, pretty basic. Beds were comfortable, everything seemed to work; A/C, TV and lights. Washroom/shower was clean and decent, no key to safety deposit box, but we didn't ask for one. Front desk staff seemed nice and friendly. There is an armed guard at the hotel probably necessary for safety of the staff and guests. Our room 201 faces a large park out front. We paid in cash $77 USD for the one night.

There's restaurant service through the bar by the pool, and a restaurant by the pool. Local beer costs 2 USD. Didn't try the food there. Overall we have no complaints about the service, hotel and ammenities.

This is the website, http://www.granhotelparishn.com/, I couldn't find this site searching the internet, the hotel staff sent this to me on my email inquiry. I had prebooked a room (which does not appear you need to, you can just show up) they sent an email confirmation, required no credit card information.

Additional info.
Right beside the hotel is a small internet cafe also offering Long D phone service. Made a short phone call home to Canada which costs less than 1 USD. At the end of the block you will find a Pizza Hut, where we had dinner. We asked the waiter Oscar of where we can possibly take a walk, his recommendation is that we didn't go far or stay out late as it is dangerous. Next morning we took a taxi to the Ferry terminal, about a 20 - 25 min ride. $15 USD. We sat in first class, ride is about 1.5 hrs. Each person was given a plastic bag before the ferry started. I didn't really understand why at first. But about 10 mins into the ride we found out. It's a extremely choppy ride out. I don't suffer from motion sickness, but I felt sporadic fear. It was more of a roller coster feeling which was like that pretty much the whole ride.

Happy Travels
Betty

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
13
30
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cassiewithbag
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

I need to write and warn fellow travelers about this hotel.
We had booked to stay at this hotel for 2 nights. When we got there, they gave us a room that was facing a contruction area and had a CARDBOARD completely BLOCKING the window. I mean, this was not a good start. The hotel had a very low occupancy rate at the time so we were puzzled why we were given this room. We asked for a new room but the window was again strangely blocked by a large tree. All the 'inside' rooms are facing the pool side in the court yard and ~95% of the rooms have unobstructed view to the pool, but not us foreigners.
The room was clean but helplessly outdated even if it had been recently "updated" (?). But it just didn't feel safe at all.

The hotel is located in the center of La Ceiba, which is not a good place to be. The city is dangerous and after dark, there is absolutely no business to walk outside.

After 2 hrs in the hotel, we went to talk to the receptionist about the possibility to move to La Quinta Real hotel which has the same owner as the Gran Hotel Paris. While La Quinta Real is ~$50 more expensive, we were willing to move for our safety. The receptionist told us that we would need to pay 30% of the first nights price for the move as 'penalty'. We agreed to this and went to pick up our bags from the room. When we got back to the reception, this 'penalty' had more than doubled. So we spent the next 45mins trying to reason with the receptionist about this penalty fee. After all, the owner would be making more money by us moving to the other hotel. The hotel has a heavily armed guard at the entrance and pointing to the guard and his guns, the receptionist told us that we were not be able to leave unless I would sign the credit card receipt. Needless to say, we were TERRIFIED.

This is a dangerous hotel, run in the most dubious way. For your own safety, you should pass on this hotel!

  • Disliked — Absolutely unsafe for travelers
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassiewithbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Ceiba hotels

Roatan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2008

The Paris has the best location in La Ceiba. Get a room on the pool side if you can. They seem to be making efforts to upgrade everything, but unlike many Honduran Hotels, everything seems to work. Everything is clean! The Pool is a great quiet spot to escape the bustle of the town, and the loby has huge comfortable leather couches.

The Paris is in a class by itself in La Ceiba as a "Mid-Priced" hotel, with a pool and good, inexpensive resturant. If you try to save a few dollars, you end up somewhere with no toilet seat and broken door locks, but no matter how much more your willing to spend you won't get nicer than the Paris.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike2008Roatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

We missed the ferry to Utila and were forced to stay a night in Le Ceiba and were VERY unhappy about this, so ending up here wasn't so bad. At the little bar the local beer Barena is only 21 limpiras (about $2) and the pool is nice so spending one night of our vacation here wasn't so bad.

  • Liked — cheap beer
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweet_insurgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

This hotel could use some updates for sure but overall it was a good find.

I was sick the whole time (not from food eaten here) and so I just needed rest. The room service was excellent, the front desk very kind. The room was as clean as could be for a sort-of run-down place and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. Free internet in the lobby. Reception staff was very helpful (and english speaking) with getting cabs and giving advice on getting to the pharmacy and airport, etc.

Nice pool, which is the view from all balconies. On a Saturday there were probably 20 kids in it all afternoon- loud and annoying - but most normal people (not sick) would be out and about in the day anyway.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2008

By Honduran standards this was a nice place - i've read a few reviews which say its dated etc, ok fair enough but its not bad and in far better nick than alot of other places. I thought the price was absolutely fine for what you get (think it was about $45 US, £23 and it was very safe & secure, had a pool and friendly English speaking staff). With that in mind i thought it was a good deal and a good option in La Ceiba if passing through to the islands.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank calumrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
609 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Paris during Carnival and again after returning from Roatan. The location was excellent. Rooms are basic but are safe and secure. The pool was a nice quiet place to be away from the frenzy of Carnival (but directly in the action – just walk out the door and the carnival music and parade were right there). The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rates were reasonable. The food at the restaurant was very good. Nice lobby and free internet was available. I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in La Ceiba.

  • Liked — Convenient
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaleAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#17 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#15 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Paris

Property: Gran Hotel Paris
Address: Frente a Parque Central, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gran Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing