We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at Villa Helen's while visiting with family and friends for 2 weeks. Our overall experience was positive. We stayed in a two bedroom villa, which included a little living area and kitchenette. Jack and his staff was wonderful and very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay thre again. The accommodations were not 5 star, but adequate for our needs. There were 2 nice pools and the beach was steps away. We also felt safe in that area of La Ceiba. The only things I didn't like was the beach was a little dirty and the waves were rough. However my kids loved the crashing waves. I noticed ants on the kitchen counter and in one of the beds, however after I spoke with Jack, I didn't notice them again. Also we were not provided with small hand towels or wash clothes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

All in all this place was quite comfortable and did the job for our 3 night stay, especially since we just showed up at the place and were lucky to get a room. However, my only complaint was that the place was on military hours or something, as when we arrived about 6:45 PM there was no food available and we were lucky enough to be able to scrounge up a few drinks before they shut the whole operation down for the night. I mean, shutting down your restaurant at 6:30?? I would have let that slide a little more if the owners would have gone out of their way a tad to provide us with ANYTHING to eat, but this was not the case. Luckily, some lady who was talking about buying up Honduras real estate the whole time (there were a lot of those, I found, in this part of the world compared to Lago Do Yojua, where we had just come from) was kind enough to go get some cheese and cracker packs for us.

Aside from the first impressions, Jack and his bus. partner were good overall. They even let us hitch a ride into town, and on the day we left dropped us off at Sambo Creek Zip- line (awesome, btw!!) on our way out. That we really appreciated.

Just a warning to some people in advance, who may end up showing up there at the time of day that we did. Go prepared!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raregroover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in a "cabana" with 2 beds. I have to say that it was the best room of the 3 hotels we checked, but it was pretty basic. We found the biggest spider I have ever seen inside a house. It had some kind of hair so maybe it was a little tarantula? Any way the bedding was torn and mismatched and the towels really thin and used. No amenities. Very basic and not worth the price. But again the other 2 choices were worse. Jack was very helpful and friendly and the food was OK. As almost everywhere in Honduras service is very slow and they tend to overcook the food specially fried fish and shrimp. We were stock here for 3 days since the weather did not permit us to go to Cayos Cochinos the reason we went to Sambo Creek. We were also hoping to go rafting in the cangrejal but the river was very low. La Ceiba looked very unfriendly and dirty. There is nothing there worth visiting. If you want to go to Cuero y Salado do it from Tela. We were unable to arrange it from Sambo Creek, so we miss that also.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have stayed at Villa Helens 4-5 times over the past 4 years (own land at Mango Tree next door). EVERYtime we stay, it just is an easy, laid-back place to stay. Have stayed with the family (4 and 6 y/o's at the time), have stayed with "the guys" on a mans trip...always fits the bill. Just easy living is the best way to describe it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

After reading the reviews I felt confident in the experience and we weren't disappointed. The staff is great and we really enjoyed the relaxation and felt safe. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was our second time staying in Room 6 at Helens, and we loved it once again. Jack, of course, was wonderful--always cheerful and friendly. The flowers were really beautiful and the grounds, pools, and beach were clean and maintained.

The new action item for us was the small herd of cows who made their daily trek down the beach each morning to the grass next to and behind Helen's. They evidently returned to their home each evening. One cow was the leader and the rest obediently followed. The farmer must have trained them well!

Again, I recommend Helens Villa if you are in the La Ceiba area for a period of time. Great place for couples or families.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 & 6 have King beds and are on the second floor, allowing for great views from the patio...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enumclaw1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stay 3 nights at Villa Helen's just after newyears. We really loved the location and thought the staff and owners were terrific. The location is out of the way so you get a Resort-like feel but without the isolation and pretention. We wish we had stayed longer at Villa Helen's and done a daytrip or two to Cayos Cocinos instead of taking the time (and $) to go out to Utila. We did use the hotel has a base for exploring Pico Bonito NP on our own and it was terrific. We didn't take a guided tour through the Hotel but they can make the arrangements if you'd like one.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTMigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#9 of 22 in La Ceiba
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#20 of 22 in La Ceiba
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Yards Pass the Sambo Creek Exit 200 | Sambo Creek (La Ceiba), La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: £15 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We accommodate our guests with beautiful beachfront suites, comfortable bedrooms of varying sizes and fully-equipped cabins, ocean view restaurant, bar services, internet access, DirecTV, A/C in every room, laundry service, massages, Jacuzzi and English, Spanish or French service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing