We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay... Highlight of our trip!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ceiba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Don't stay in La Ceiba, come straight here... Have great day trips & relax in the sun afterwards!
Jack and Helen are the nicest, friendliest and are super helpful! The rooms are spacious (hot water and A/C), it's close to cayos cochinos, canopy, you can have great walks on the beach or just take a nap in one of the many hamacs!!
And another plus, food is excellent and made to order!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were in the La Cieba area for a little over a week. We thoroughly enjoyed everything that this little hotel and restaurant had to offer. The place was well kept, the food at the restaurant was extremely affordable and delicious (try the fried fish! - not the Honduran spaghetti) In honesty, this was the place that felt most comfortable and like home to us during our stay.

The one manager, Jack, was quick to respond to my emails when I was planning the trip. When we arrived, he was extremely helpful when we needed help getting a taxi or planning our zipline tour. There's a nice beach that comes to the foot of the hotel property. Ultimately, this is a great place if your interested in spending time in Cayos Cochinos or enjoying some of the attractions around La Cieba. Go SEE JACK and Helen!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. They give you a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is by far the dirtiest place I have ever stayed in. We were brought here as part of an expedition to Cayo Cochinos. Thank God it was only one night. The mattress looked like it had been dragged through the mud, When you flush the toilet the water would come up the sink (Trust me,I am not making this up) There were hairs everywhere including the bed and the sheets were dirty and stained. The only people that would feel comfortable here will be those looking for prostitutes and there were a couple of them there. I'm blown away that some people actually gave it a good rating. It makes you wonder. Any Motel 6 in America is cleaner and nicer than this place, and that says a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

lovely clean, fresh, air-conditioned cabin at a very reasonable rate, very friendly, helpful staff, fabulous pancakes for breakfast, good honduran food, clean beach with no sandflies, and only 5 minutes walk up the beach to Sambo creek - a fabulous place to stay - thanks Helen!!!

Room Tip: The cabins are great and very good value - and the garden is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryclareLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in front of a mountain range about 2 km from Sambo Creek, a Garifuna community. The beach is directly in front of the hotel. The water is not a huge draw because it not clear and green like Caribbean island warters.

There are a few things to do. We wnt to the hot springs and loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miss_Qween_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

we have enjoyed staying and eating at helen's many times over the years. My favorite on the menu is the garlic conch and my wife the ceviche. we enjoy just being able to relax in a hammock. The food usually takes a while to come out as they prepare it for each guest. The pools are nice and so is the small pool filled with turtles.
we look foward to our next visit.

Room Tip: if you want an ocean view choose one of the 2 upstairs rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honduras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We didn't stay here but went out of our way to eat here due to the great reviews. We were poorly disappointed. The drinks were made with artificial sugar, the meal took over an hour to be served and when it came... the club sandwich toast was old, filling awful and chips had been recooked and were cold. The ceviche fish had not been smoked sufficiently and the hamburger was half a cm thin and was tiny. We left hungry and disappointed. I wish we hadn't read the reviews - and only hope the day we went the normal chef was off sick. This is the only conclusion we can come to. As a place- it was beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank thelittlegecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cibeles
Hotel Cibeles
#19 of 22 in La Ceiba
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Helen's Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Yards Pass the Sambo Creek Exit 200 | Sambo Creek (La Ceiba), La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range: £15 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We accommodate our guests with beautiful beachfront suites, comfortable bedrooms of varying sizes and fully-equipped cabins, ocean view restaurant, bar services, internet access, DirecTV, A/C in every room, laundry service, massages, Jacuzzi and English, Spanish or French service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing