We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful aging hotel with great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
771 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Beautiful aging hotel with great staff.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I came in from Livingston, Guatemala and this was the first hotel that my taxi took me to. I went inside and the front desk people spoke good English. The hotel is very beautiful from the outside and it is right on the beach. I tested the WiFi signal in the lobby and it was strong so I decided to get a room. The price is normally $95 US, but he gave me a 25% discount for some reason. I looked at three different rooms before choosing one because I was looking for a strong WiFi signal. Milton at the front desk was very patient with me. The room is beautiful, but the hotel has started to show its age. The room has a slight smell to it almost like grandma's old house mildew smell. It is hard to explain, but it is not so bad making me want to find another hotel. One of the closet doors came off of its hinges when I went to open it. The bathtub is very big, but the knob to change the water from shower head to bathtub faucet does not work. The room has great air conditioning, but the WiFi signal is up and down like a roller coaster. The WiFi was like this in all three rooms that I checked. The price of the room includes a buffet breakfast that was good. It had scrambled eggs, refried beans, sausage, three types of fresh fruit, toast, fresh juice and coffee. There might be better hotels for your money here, but I am not going to bother to check because I will leave for Roatan Island soon. The great thing that this hotel has going for itself is the staff. They are amazing and will do whatever they can to make your stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the pool because they play music until past 10:00 PM and let people start swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    43
    31
    12
    15
See reviews for
27
26
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Others wrote of food, the pool, the beach and the rooms - all good! I want to write about the staff - they are wonderful, helpful, kind and really tuned in to each guest from Milton in reception to Juan, the hotel taxi driver (always ask for him). My safety was always a top priority for all of the staff.

Many I will consider my "Amigo" forever and value the extra special things they did for me personally.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luraandgabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is the top hotel of La Ceiba and you definitely pay for it. The rooms are nice. They have air conditioning and warm showers. Internet connection was spotty in the rooms, but great on the terrace near the pool. The staff seem a little uptight and not very friendly and the food is pricey. The included breakfast is very good though.
The hotel has lots of security so you feel very safe, but perhaps it is a little strange to have an armed man watching you enjoy the beach. The beach is very small but nice. It seems like the sand and rocks were probably brought in, but you get the resort feel since the beach is right next to the pool.
The location is great because it is right next to La Palapa which is a great sports bar, restaurant, and club. This does mean that at night the rooms facing La Palapa are not very peaceful and are pretty much bumping with the loud music during La Palapa club hours. We experienced this one night and asked to switch rooms which the staff happily did for us. It was much more peaceful on the ocean side of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SegaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Excellent service! Hotel staff very nice and friendly. Clean and spacious rooms. The pool area is very nice and they have a snack bar next to it. They have security guards all around the hotel. The restaurant serves delicious food and the wait staff is amazingly nice! Thumbs up to Gustavo, the chef. I would highly recommend it and I hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty_Almaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel was built very nicely and once upon a time was probably top notch. Now it is starting to show its age, and maybe doesn't have the occupancy rate needed to stay on top of maintenance. In the 3-night weekend I stayed there, I never once ran into another guest in the halls. There were maybe 2 or 3 families spotted in the pool area. Perhaps their mid-week convention business is what keeps them afloat? Anyway, a couple examples of lack of maintenance:
1.) elevator broken during my entire and no apparent attempts to repair it. Not a huge deal as only 3 floors.
2.) nice pool area, but tiles that have fallen off over the years haven't been replaced.

One reason I chose the hotel was due to its location in the "zona viva", the nightlife district of La Ceiba. I think a better nickname would be "zone muerta". Perhaps I was there the wrong time of year, but many of the businesses in the district were shuttered, and La Palapa, which is a nice place right next door to Quinta Real, was absolutely dead on a Friday night around midnight.
Beds were top quality and rooms clean, though also showing their age. No room safes, which is always a disappointment for me personally for safety reasons.

Room Tip: Rooms beach side are nice - crack the patio door open and listen to the gentle serenade of waves tum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The location is excellent...right on the beach and next to La Palapa..a ver happening place with great food. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The hotel may be pricier than other properties in the area but for the room, the safety and convenience you are getting as far I'm concerned there is no better deal in La Ceiba.

I will return, definitely!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank consiglieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Best Hotel in La Seiba right next to the beach ,the food is excellent wherever you order it either the swimming pool or the restaurant,their breakfast was the best I ever had anywhere in Honduras and the rates are very reasonable.

The Pool is big enough with a very friendly wait staff,good security,the rooms are elegant,clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Room By ocean is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bensionq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
85 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Hotel
La Quinta Hotel
#15 of 22 in La Ceiba
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Deco Beach
Art Deco Beach
#17 of 22 in La Ceiba
27 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#6 of 22 in La Ceiba
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Address: Bo. La Isla, Zona Viva | Between Ave. 15 de Sept. and Ave. Victor Hugo, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Real Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing