We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money but misleading advertising”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jungle River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle River Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money but misleading advertising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

A group of 5 of us went in December 2012. It was organised well enough, we spent the night at Banana Republic hostel in La Ceiba and then at 8am the following morning we were picked up and taken out to the lodge which is in a beautiful setting right next to the river with views of the jungle. The rafting was great fun, the guides were great and the fruit they supplied was good quality. My only issue is that on their website it states a half day of rafting is 3-4 hours. In reality it took 2 hours (including getting to the river, safety briefing etc) so we found ourselves all finished by 12pm! Stayed the night anyway as it was a free night's accommodation and early the next morning we got the chicken bus back in (which go at 8am, 9am, 10am not sure after this time - although it was 40 minutes late). They offer you transport back to La Ceiba but not until 12:30pm. My other recommendation is bring some snacks from La Ceiba as they don't sell any food at the lodge (aside from lunch and dinner which was good) and there is alot of waiting around. Overall I would recommend this experience.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mitte198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    24
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
7
26
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Don't expect luxury - this is an Eco-lodge that is built into the hillside. Rooms are very basic, but for a few nights it was fine for us. I would suggest bringing a lightweight blanket if you get cold easy. The lodge only gives you sheets and the temperature drops a bit in the middle of the night. This is a cloud forest. Food was home-cooked and yummy. If you take the zipline tour, the guide will show you the farm across the river that allows the lodge to be self-sustaining.

The best part was the river trip. A guide took just the two of us upriver and showed us a whole lot more than just a good rafting trip. We spent the first hour or so learning how to navigate the rapids - swimming through them, cliff jumping into whitewater, and bodysurfing down them. We even got to momentarily experience a hydraulic after going off a waterfall head first (with a safety line of course)! It was such a rush and we learned so much!

Room Tip: Upgrade from the dormitory to a private room. The little extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Beware!! Dishonest Company!!

They advertise the rafting as 3 to 4.5 hrs but you re lucky if its 2 hours, INCLUDING safety brief, training and break in the middle! The guides seem more keen on getting back to drink behind the bar than give the 3+ hr experience.

Also they advertise that you can stay free if you stay at their Banana Republic in La Ceibe the night before, but when you get to Jungle River the will not honor this unless you cause a fuss. They also advertise double rooms from $30 to $45 but when you try & book the $30, $35 rooms they say they re all booked, until you cause a fuss about the supposed free room & then magically the cheaper rooms are suddenly available.

They also inflate the exchange rate & try to short change you too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsonluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Ceiba hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We came to the lodge to do the Zip lining tour and took advantage of the free night stay (We were going to leave the next day). We ended up staying for two more nights, doing absolutely nothing but enjoying the atmosphere. It's hard to explain but the lodge is right up on the river and has a beautiful, unobstructed view of nature. The food was delicious and the rum and pineapple juice was even better! Everyone who worked there was really friendly and we made friends easily. We stayed in the dorms and they were good rooms, not sure about the private ones. Any of the bad reviews of this place concerning bugs, etc have a slight truth to them, but you have to to remember this is the jungle in Honduras. It's more of a camping/cabin atmosphere than a private hotel, so if you are wanting a 5 star stay in a fancy place, this isn't for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

This place is like no where on earth. We have had the best time here relaxing and rafting. It's so unique and the owners are very kind and easy going. The staff has been incredibly helpful and were awesome rafting guides who took the time to make sure we knew what we were doing but also found little gems along the ride to make it more special. Our private room was just fine and the meals have been well prepared and fresh. It is in the middle of the jungle so there are not really any frills but that's not what you come here for. It's for freshwater rock pools, river swimming, mini cliff jumping and a bunch of different outdoor activities. A couple of days here was perfect!

Room Tip: We chose a private upstairs and had a better breeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpragalz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

If I was going to listen all the bad comments on trip Advisor about this place I would never come here. By lonely planet I read it was an amazing set up, so thats what I was looking for. A beutiful place by the river, the dinner was really good, the rafting trip was awesome, We did some river walking, rock jumping and then the rafting, could not be more happy PLUS We had an amazing group, all people who I met on the trip. I don't know what people expect when comes to a place like that. You are on the jungle, rustic place is what suits for me. But if you are lookng for some luxuary place is not here.
I even wrote on my blog about this place [---]

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelcaymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

A taxi driver (arranged ahead of time) was at the airport at night/raining even though my flight was 1.5 hours late. The setting was much to my liking. It is geared to younger folks and can get noisy. One can partake of jungle tour activities: I took in zip lines (canopy tour), white water rafting and hiking. The food is made from scratch and they attempt to accommodate you although if you Spanish is not adequate there can be a communication problem although a few of the staff know some English. One can swim, dive and jump into the river that runs right by the lodge. After a few days one can run out of things to do. Not much to do nearby except a one hour walk further there is a park and places to eat also.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eztourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 19 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casa De Nery
Hotel La Casa De Nery
#4 of 33 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle River Lodge

Property: Jungle River Lodge
Address: Avenida Morazan | P.O. Box 471, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle River is a natural escape from the City and we offer diferents tours option, bar, restaurant, and rock pools.best option in La Ceiba for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jungle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle River Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing