We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms were gross, we had to leave”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Jungle River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle River Lodge
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
“Rooms were gross, we had to leave”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We read lots of good reviews about the Jungle Lodge, but when we arrived, the staff seemed pretty uninterested with helping us. They showed us around 3 private rooms with private baths. All three rooms were crawling with bugs and insects, there are no fans in any of the rooms, there is no hot water (not that I would even want to shower in there anyway as it was too dirty), the beds and pillows were moist and mouldy, the sinks were falling off the walls and the toilets had not been cleaned. Out of politeness we opted for one room, but after being in there for 5 mins we decided that there is no way either of us would be able to get any sleep, too hot, stuffy, smelly and damp with no fan! So we went down the road to Pico Bonito Jungle Eco Resort and paid a bit more money but were much happier.

However, having said all of these bad things about Jungle River, we did do our Rating and Zip lining tours with them and the tours I must say were absolutely fantastic and the staff afterall were really cool, nice people. We had alot of fun on the tours and the actual location of the Jungle Lodge is 100% awesome. Guys you really just need to sort out the rooms in this place and it's a winner!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MixyMeToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    24
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
7
26
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LES, NYC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The Lodge is what you might expect in the jungle. Simple and basic accommodation. Located in a beautiful serene setting, with the backdrop of the Pico Bonito National Park.

There are a few private rooms with toilet/shower but most are dorm style shared rooms with a shared or out of room shower/toilet area. There are tons of geckos inside the rooms and outside but they are harmless to humans and they gobble up mosquitoes. The sheets are clean, beds are comfortable. The best shared rooms are the larger ones- more windows and air space. There is one awful room- it has bunk beds and is too crowded and stuffy.

The staff is friendly and they are willing to party with the visitors. The owner is super friendly and hospitable.
Overall, the lodge is a tranquil place in an amazing setting. Though depending on the crowds staying there the bar area can get crazy. There is a seating area with a "bar" which is simply a counter from which beer is pulled from the refrigerator. Since the lodge is located 30 minutes away from a main road going into the mountain/rain-forest, he owner sells cigarettes, beer, soda, and serves meals. The food is hit or miss and overpriced.

The main reason to go to the lodge is to participate in activities: zip line canopy tour or the white water rafting. If you participate in one of the activities the lodge throws in a free night's stay.

My favorite thing about the place is the rocks onto the river. You can lounge around in the man-made rock pool, lay about on the rocks, jump the rocks into the river, swim or just float around.

You can pay in US$$ or limpira. They will accept credit cards but charge a hefty fee to do so.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodbye-grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2010

we went there because we expected a really cool place with nice people that offers jungle trips and rafting... so when we arrived we booked a rafting tour for the next morning but until then there was practically nothing to do there!! We were almost starving on our arrival and they told us that we would have to wait until dinner starts, which was 3 hours to go, there is nothing around and they don't have a menu... then there were only a few people staying there, like 10 and I really did not like the atmosphere there, the staff was kind of unfriendly if you had any questions and it felt like you were bothering them with it. The accommodation was included in the price, but was really basic and there were ants all over the room, even in my bed when I woke up in the morning. Then everything seemed to be extremely overpriced, dinner was 7 US dollars, not including any tax (they add a 16 % tax on everything) and also the rafting was kind of expensive for Honduras, the tour was nice though... anyway if you go there, bring a good book cause there's nothing else to do around.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Ceiba hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I really liked our stay here. We stayed one night and were quite tired after driving to La Ceiba from Santa Rosa de Copan. The staff got us set up straight away and before long we were eating dinner and having a few beers. It was so relaxing sleeping with the river right next to you! The meals were good, and so was the large plate of fresh fruit after ziplining! Angel and Melvin were great guides! We loved learning about all the plants in the jungle! They even had someone drive with us into town to the Banana Republic Guesthouse so we could park our car there while on Utila! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Although overall I would have to say our experience was positive, there are a few things that travelers should know before they check in to Jungle River. First, what you see in the pictures here isn't what you get. They've filled in the pool in the right foreground with sand and turned the large pool in the left foreground into a murky fishpond. Second, their dog, a rotweiler, has turned the place into his personal toilet. He's pooped all over the trails and in the sand. Third, the rooms are pretty gross. The pillows (under the cases) are getting a little moldy and our room, one of the better ones, needed to be power-washed, painted and mopped. Fourth, we found a small scorpion in our room. It was a baby one, but still ...

On the up side, they light the lodge with candles, which is beautiful in the evening, and the staff was very nice. We had a two good dinners there, although most of the meals were pretty substandard. The place fills with an interesting mix of travelers from all over the world, which makes for lively company, and if you like to party than the staff is more than happy to accommodate.

In short, I'm glad we stayed there because it's location on the river was perfect, and the people were interesting, but the place itself was a real letdown. We ended up bailing two days early.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yreyesylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

This place is great but I felt ripped off when they whacked on a 16% tax! They make out it's really cheap and they quote everything without the taxes and never mention that it will be added. I was also annoyed because I live in Honduras and the tax is usually only 12%. As a backpacker I find this very frustrating when I feel ripped off

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeRoatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mölnlycke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed ten days at the hotel to get the jungle feeling. The staf, (special the european girls) were professional. You can help yourself in the bar, with beer and water. The rafting and zipline was exciting. The rooms could have been cleaner, but for that price were it ok. The location of the hotel was great, with a nice view over the river.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
0.2 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Paris
Gran Hotel Paris
#12 of 22 in La Ceiba
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
2.5 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Casa De Nery
Hotel La Casa De Nery
#4 of 33 in La Ceiba
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle River Lodge

Property: Jungle River Lodge
Address: Avenida Morazan | P.O. Box 471, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle River is a natural escape from the City and we offer diferents tours option, bar, restaurant, and rock pools.best option in La Ceiba for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jungle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle River Hotel La Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing