We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We made a last-minute decision to spend two nights at Casa Cangrejal at the tail end of a month's vacation in Honduras. We were so glad we decided to tack on the visit. All of the comments in the other reviews are accurate. The biggest surprise was that there's a very lively community in them there hills! Karen and Alex are larger-than-life characters and their sense of hospitality is equally gregarious. It is clear they have poured their hearts into this property and the community. Thanks for a wonderful transition stop on the way back to reality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
50
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Starbuck, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We spent the Christmas and New Year break at Casa Cangrejal and were very pleased with everything. The rooms and grounds were very comfortable and clean and the ability to take part in adventure or just relax was perfect for all personalities. Everything you could want, all in a jungle setting, was available, hiking, horseback riding, whitewater and birdwatching is right there. The immediate and general area also has a variety of restaurants, and if Karen is cooking make sure you sign up!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorganThomas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

This B&B is hands-down outstanding. Like others, we, too, made our choice to stay at Casa Cangrejal based on TripAdvisor reviews, but I wasn't quite prepared for the familial feel of this place. Not only is it gorgeous, but the home-cooked food is outstanding in flavor and very filling. Karen, the owner, and her marvelous staff really made me wish I could give this place more than 5 stars. Karen made us feel right at home---including us in her birthday bash with her staff, friends, and the owners of neighboring hotels, their staff, and their guests; helping us plan our activities; setting up transportation for us early in the morning; taking us to a friend's lodge for dinner and including us in an enjoyable evening with her local expat friends; and just being all around hilarious and fun to be with. I felt like we were staying with friends of friends the whole time. We will be back for sure. Location was perfect (walk to the river for rafting, steps from Omega Tours, 15 minute drive to SamboCreek). Very reasonably priced rooms, food, booze, services. Very comfortable bed, and very clean accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SousLeCiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We made our selection based on the reviews and were totally pleased with our trip. Despite ridiculous amounts of rain (what do you expect in the start of raining season, I know) we had an incredible time. Breakfast was delicious, Karen and her staff were such fun, and having great internet kept us connected when we wanted to just be lazy. The community of lodges in the area is like a close knit neighborhood, so that was a fun experience as well. My son was thrilled to play pool so much and enjoyed hanging out with the staff. If you want a peaceful getaway, this is your place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This review is long overdue.
We enjoyed our stay at Casa Cangrejal in April. We stayed in a two bedroom house. Excellent accommodation. Casa Cangrejal owner, Karen, and her friendly staff ensured we had a wonderful stay. We had the opportunity to have a fantastic breakfast on her deck in a very peaceful unbelievable setting. Will be back to experience more of Casa Congrejal's hospitality.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Eggs Benedict one morning, shrimp omelette the next. Bar (she keeps a tab and settles up when you leave) and pool table to relax, hammocks to REALLY relax. Gym, sauna, splash pool/creek, and massages available if you REALLY REALLY want to relax. Omega Tours up the road, a three minute stroll if you want adventure. Hiking available in grounds. River across the street. You can make this as simple or as heart-pumping as you desire, and Karen is the maestro.

Karen, an expat from Canada, has a penchant for building with river rocks and concrete. She told us she could build anything with concrete. I believe her. The entire house and grounds were designed by her, built by locals with local stone, and is only one example of many on that hillside of her gorgeous work and seemingly LIMITLESS energy and creativity.

Our room, located on the backside of the house, was beautiful. Large, comfy bed, with fresh (a revelation to have crisp sheets in a country that never cools off and never loses its humidity) sheets, custom bathroom with a lovely stone shower, and great dark wood furniture. Accessorize with a cat, there are a few, if you wish, or shut your door if you don't. Accessorize with a dog, too, in Turbo (sweet Rott) or Sassy (lazy Husky).

Laundry was no problem, it was done the same day and returned to us, folded. Karen uses as many eco-friendly options as are available to her; don't hesitate to ask.

Both my husband and I wanted to stay longer, but we headed back to Roatan after two nights with Karen and Alex. If you want a bit of a splurge, THIS is the place to do it.

Room Tip: there is no such thing as a bad room here, or a better room, or a better locale. All are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwdnsdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Gourmet cuisine, beautiful grounds, large comfortable rooms, fantastic service, totally up to par for an exquisite taste . At night the celba(jungle) hums with all the voices , while you can enjoy superb meal, not a la carte, but menu of the day . Karen has truly created a jungle paradise. Very impressed.

Room Tip: Room upstairs next to Karen's has a large patio balcony, but you will probably not want to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awa909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 19 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Villa de Soledad B&B
La Villa de Soledad B&B
#2 of 33 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel

Property: Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel
Address: Km 9 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is located in the rain forest just 20 min. outside La Ceiba; we border the Pico Bonito National Park. All our rooms have private bath and hot water and wireless internet connection. The house is built entirely out of river rock which keeps the rooms a fantastic cool temp (allowing us all to live comfortably without using air conditioning). The fresh water creek behind our house is a wonderful place to relax. There are an abundance of activities to keep you busy - rafting, kayaking, hiking, horseback riding, bird watching, canopy tours and lagoon tours. Breakfast is included and is international cuisine, fresh squeezed juices and fruit. We now have 2 fully furnished one bedroom apartments, located just a 5 min walk from the B&B on our Hobby farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing