We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want in a B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
new jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything you want in a B & B!”
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Thank you Karen and Alex for a wonderful stay at your B&B. You were very gracious hosts and I could not ask for any better accomodations. Your place is phenomenal; well appointed, excellent food and amenities that one would never expect up in the jungle!!!
I look forward to returning later this summer.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
50
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CornwallOntario
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2009

This was a great place to stay - both my wife and I were extremely happy with the accommodations (the best place we stayed at during our 2 week trip through Honduras).

Karen and Andre were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was delicious and filling (most days we did not have to eat lunch). As silly as it sounds, it was nice to be able to drink water right from the tap. There is an honor fridge with all types of beer/ liquor in the outdoor common area. For dinner, Omega Tours is a quick 2 minute walk down the road from the Casa Cangrejal and has an excellent menu to chose from.

Stay here if you want a nice, clean and quiet place to stay and relax or upscale accommodations for your adventures in Pico Bonito.

  • Liked — Location & setup
  • Disliked — That we didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CornwallOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

My partner and I were staying at the Palma Real in La Ceiba and as a surprise she had arranged with Karen at the Casa Cangrejal to set up a white water rafting tour for our group of eight and then as a surprise for me we stayed overnight and experienced the beautiful bed and breakfast that Karen built out of river stone. Karen did all the arranging for our transportation, the rafting, dinner at the restaurant next door and even had a bottle of wine uncorked and poured when we returned from dinner. She had lit tea lights throughout our room and down by the wonderful spring fed creek that flows past their home. She had made the perfect setting for my partner who got down on her knee and proposed to me. It could not have been more perfect. Karen and her husband Alex make you feel comfortable and at home and are eager to fulfill any request. The building she designed and built is fantastic and the rooms are great. The close proximity to Pico Bonito and the river Cangrejal make it a perfect location to stay while you experience some great adventures. I highly recommend staying here if you are in La Ceiba and the longer you can go the better. We will definitely be going back.

  • Liked — The beautiful design of the hotel and the hostess
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Auralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Casa Cangrejal was an absolutely fantastic place to start our honeymoon. The stone design keeps the rooms cool with fresh shower water. Just outside your door is a lush forest with natural swimming holes. Omega Tours is just up the street with good food and many fun adventure options. There are also some nice hiking trails around the property with some neat birding possibilities.

Karen and her husband and staff treated us like royalty for our entire stay with an amazing breakfast to start each day (Karen is an amazing cook). She arranged a wonderful special candlelight dinner for us.

There are not many things we have done in this world that we would recommend more. Simply amazing!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts and clean room
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laconic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmj914
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Such a beautiful home all built out of stone from the amazing river that flows behind the house. I felt very welcomed at home when greeted by our wonderful hosts Karen & Alex and their adorable puppy! We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed river rafting at Omega Lodge and had a great stay. Karen makes great drinks and the food was amazing. Very relaxing place, I could have easily spent a week and not been bored, just enjoyed the peaceful nature. Really a great place to stay. If I ever return to Honduras, I know were I will stay! Thanks Karen:)

  • Liked — the house
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hmj914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2008

after a long travel day which included 2 planes and huge layover and a 4 hour drive. i rolled up the river stone driveway of this oasis in the jungle with no expectations .i simply wanted to wash and crash in a bed.
this place is beautiful. the rooms comfortable,roomy & more than well appointed. karen and alex are great hosts friendly ,warm,and they really make you feel welcome.
the B & B is so well done.. a great porch area with hammocks and comfortable oversize custom couches, a pool table, and a well stocked beer fridge.
the breakfast was outstanding. Karen really goes all out. with fresh juices, great coffee and delicious ( omlettes,pancakes,fruit,eggs benedict)
we stayed 5 days and never got tired of the location and if i could i would go stay 30 days.. the grounds a stream with swimming holes and aseveral places to rest and sit in the jungle listening to the beautiful sounds of HONDURAS.
My vacation was amazing and i will definately be back

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank codyfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Casa Cangrejal is a lot more than the typical B&B. For starters the owners Alex and Karen are absolutely amazing. Karen is from Canada and makes the best banana pancakes in the world. Of your luck she may even make Eggs Benedict.

The commendations are all new and have all the admenities you would expect in a high end hotel. The bathrooms are large and spacious and wonderfully decorated using local river stones.

For fun try out the new full size pool table and bar located between the house and the river. If it gets too hot just take a quick dip in the "Fountain of Youth" and tranquilo is found. Don't forget to check out Omega lodge for daily tours including rafting, hiking, bird watching, and drinking.

Tell only your best friends about this place.

Conner

  • Liked — Love the rooms, friendly people and Karen's cooking
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ConnerJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta Real Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 19 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Villa de Soledad B&B
La Villa de Soledad B&B
#2 of 33 in La Ceiba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel

Property: Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel
Address: Km 9 Rio Cangrejal, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is located in the rain forest just 20 min. outside La Ceiba; we border the Pico Bonito National Park. All our rooms have private bath and hot water and wireless internet connection. The house is built entirely out of river rock which keeps the rooms a fantastic cool temp (allowing us all to live comfortably without using air conditioning). The fresh water creek behind our house is a wonderful place to relax. There are an abundance of activities to keep you busy - rafting, kayaking, hiking, horseback riding, bird watching, canopy tours and lagoon tours. Breakfast is included and is international cuisine, fresh squeezed juices and fruit. We now have 2 fully furnished one bedroom apartments, located just a 5 min walk from the B&B on our Hobby farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Cangrejal B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing