We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diving Pelican Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$223
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$67
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$99
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Estadio(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
US$28
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Hamacas(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Carnaval(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa de Espana(La Ceiba)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
66
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspico bonitopelicanshostshondurasadventurehonduranbeersstoriesmainlandbonitaexcursions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Diving Pelican. Michelle, Jay and Andrea were awesome hosts, who we feel lucky to have met. They truly made our stay memorable. Their knowledge of the area and helpfulness in arranging tours and outings was much appreciated. They have a lovely location on the beach, with very comfortable beds. The staff at Diving Pelican is also y helpful and accomodating and the food was delicious. We feel fortunate to have chosen this B&B and would highly recommend to anyone travelling in Honduras. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thanks so much for kind words, and feedback, everything is greatly appreciated. We also wish you would have stayed longer. It was quite nice sharing some conversation under the stars on the sundeck. Hopefully Spring has Sprung in Kelowna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

After almost 3 weeks on the road, we were thrilled to arrive at the Diving Pelican Inn. We were made to feel like family, or old friends, rather than paying guests. Michelle works tirelessly from sunrise till sundown. She’s always looking at ways to improve her very inviting and comfortable atmosphere. She organized a new kitchen during our stay. She has an extensive tasty menu, which she devised. She oversees her kitchen staff to ensure your meal is of the highest quality. I had a hard time moving beyond the coconut shrimp, they were so scrumptious. The prices are more than reasonable. Breakfast vouchers are supplied for two adjacent reataurants. Helen’s has the best coffee that we tasted in Belize, Guatemala or Honduras.

Happy Hour4-5PM daily draws in some very interesting expats with lots of stories to share. Alex, our favorite bar tender of all time, makes deadly pina coladas. Forget your waistline and go for it.

Michelle goes out of her way to organize whatever you would like to do. She has lots of connections in the area and wants to make sure your excursions are the best. We were lucky to meet her partner Jay while we were there, and so enjoyed his company on our trip to the hot springs. Just a 5 min excursion from the hotel, with pick up and drop off service. Included is what was the best, most professional massage of my life, all in a tropical jungle setting. Michelle truly needs to take a day off and go.

The king sized bed was very comfy and, with only a few rooms, we felt the inviting pool, waterfall setting was our own private space. Despite their warm personalities, the family respects your privacy. Right outside the gate is a deserted 6 km beach. On a 45 min walk, we encountered no one. It’s perfect for walking or running with hard packed sand. A 35 min boat ride away, you can be wisked away to Cayos Cochinas, truly a snorkelling paradise. A number of islands, one inhabited by 100 Garifuna, who grill you a delicious seafood dinner.

If the mountains and rainforest are your thing, they are a mere half hour drive away. Other travellers had seen toucans on a 30 min walk while we were there. Unfortunately, I was unable to enjoy this area to the fullest with the travel catching up with my digestive system.

Michelle took time out of her busy schedule to drive us different places. My experience with her daughter at the local school was an unforgettable experience. We have travelled extensively and have never stayed with such accommodating hosts. Thank You Michelle, Jay and Andrea for all that you do. We’re hopeful that you will make it to NS someday and Jay tries some fresh Digby scallops.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcapoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for your glowing review, you described our area so well I may need to steal some descriptions for my website:-) It was a wonderful experience having you both here, and your conversations with Andrea have made a big difference in how she views and does some things. If we ever visit Nova Scotia I guarantee we will visit you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

As Executive Chef at the top-rated hotel in Utila (a small island north of La Ceiba), I know what work it is to have a quality operation. The Diving Pelican is just that, and more.

Michelle, and daughter Andrea live on-site and are adept as hosts, managers and very quickly, friends.

From the rapidly responded-to emails, to the warm and genuine welcome, to the helpfulness of the staff to arrange a trip to the hot springs...don't miss that...to the cozy and comfortable pool, bar and restaurant courtyard, to the very relaxing bed as well as a fantastic dinner, it was a fantastic combination that resulted in a great, albeit short, stay.

Perched on the beach, the surf is a great hypnotic, the sand is clean and the water warm. A wonderful place to relax and read, snooze in a hammock, or hang out in the pool with a ready supply of cocktails at your beck and call.

Try not to miss this little 5-room gem on a trip to Honduras.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ppotpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Hola my new friend. Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It was great having you back again for the second visit and very nice of you to introduce our inn to more great people. With guests like you, running the inn becomes a very fun business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife, brother in law, sister in law and myself travelled in Honduras for just over two weeks. We started our trip at the Diving Pelican and consider ourselves fortunate to have started at this accommodation and with our host Michelle and her daughter, Andrea. Michelle took exceptional care of us. Our rooms were fine, the meals and drinks were great. On our first night we had an excellent shrimp appetizer followed with a very nicely cooked sea bass. Michelle's touring tips were excellent and we all felt that she went above and beyond what would normally be expected of a host. She arranged for trips to Cayos Cochinos, horse back riding by the Rio Cangrejal, zip lining, hot pooling and she even drove us to a restaurant one evening. Her staff (particularly Donald and Alex) were excellent and Donald took us into Sambo Creek one afternoon to tour through that town as well as his own house. Obviously by now you have gathered that we were more than impressed. I would definitely recommend this lodging to others.

Room Tip: There are three rooms and we took the two closest to the ocean. I would recommend these.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry1946_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Gerry, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the new kitchen is almost finished and the road, well .... Thanks for the kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed the food and your overall experience with. Happy to be the one to kick off your vacation. Thanks for the recommendation, we will not let you down. We'd love to have you back again

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We just had our second visit to the Flying Pelican in three months. We just love this place. Michelle is a wonderful innkeeper and she has a great staff. The food is excellent and the cocktails are the bomb. Try the Monkey LaLa.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cstrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Glad you love our place, we really love having you here. Thanks so much for stopping back in for a visit and for the recipe and the encouragement to make Monkey La Las our neighbor loves them. Stay in touch and thanks for the other recipes.

Michelle & Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews