We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome...Honduras and The Diving Pelican”
Review of Diving Pelican Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diving Pelican Inn
Ranked #10 of 35 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Wow.....just came back from my first trip to Honduras and can't believe how beautiful the country is! The highlight of my trip was a visit to Sambo Creek....and The Diving Pelican! It is very nicely done - beautiful pool with awesome beach area, wonderful views of the sunrises and sunsets...plus the food and drinks are delicious! Michelle and Andrea welcome their visitors like they are family. Michelle made all of my activity arrangements for me ahead of time, so all I needed to do was go! There are plenty of outdoor activities there to keep busy.....and the peace and quiet to enjoy it all! It's a wonderful little community and top notch place to stay - Michelle - can't wait to come back and visit with you again!

Room Tip: Fitness center - beach and pool Room Service - whatever you want, you can arrange with the owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Hi Vicki, glad you made it home safe and sound. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words, it was great having you here and spending some time with you. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again soon, for a longer visit.

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had an amazing stay with Michelle, Andrea and the staff at the inn. The accommodations were top notch, and the beauty of the area and kindness of the people can't be beat. Michelle went above and beyond our expectations to make sure everything on our stay went well. She was great with communications and assisted with everything related to our arrival, stay, and departure. The inn was very clean and well taken care of.

Even if you're not able to stay here (which you really should consider), it's worth stopping by to have a bite to eat, grab and drink and enjoy the beach. I can't say enough good things about our visit, and I hope we have the chance to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amusez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Hola our friends, hope you enjoyed Utila. We had an absolutely great time with you here, even with the not so perfect weather it was great. Your pictures of Honduras are wonderful, thanks for adding it to the Trip Advisor page. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TA community. We hope you have a chance to return again in the future.

Michelle and Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here after a less then enjoyable ride for 3 hours in a taxi. Michelle doesn't usually take people without a reservation, but we met her when we stopped at her hotel for a drink, before going to our hotel. Everything was booked in Sambo Creek because of Semana Santa, but Michelle let us stay in a small cabana the next day and we stayed for 3 nights.. She even was so kind to drive us to the bus station when we were leaving as taxis are not readily available. The accomodations were great and the food and service excellent. It is right on the beach a short walk to the town along the beach. There is also a pool which was great just for cooling off. Michelle and her staff were extremely helpful and arranged side trips within hours. We went to a huge hot springs which included, transportation, lava mud scrub, hot oil massage, huge tray of fruit while relaxing. There was no time limit and we were told we could let them know when we were ready. The cost was $25.00 a person, amazing. She also arranged a kayak tour in a logoon 15 minutes away where we each had our own guide and spotted large troops of howler monkeys and beautiful scenery. Peaceful and inexpensive. I would highly recommend this place, both for the accomodation and the friendliness. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Hey thanks for stopping by and thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your time in Honduras and your stay with us it was great having you here. You are correct Honduras is a hidden gem that more people should come and discover. Come back again soon. Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we booked at the Diving Pelican Inn and were not disappointed. The beach, pool, rooms, beds, food, drinks at the bar, and above all, Michelle and her daughter went above and beyond and exceeded our expectations. Rides were arranged, activities were suggested and were arranged from zip lining, hot springs to personal tours of Sambo Creek. Our only regret is that we didn't have more time at this lovely spot. It was definitely a great introduction to Honduras.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

I am very glad that you were not disappointed, we always hope that the actual trip exceeds peoples expectations. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your time in Honduras and try to come back soon. I posted the pictures of Turbo on our website so you can watch his progress, I think it will be a matter of days before he flies off to start his own family. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments and for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband and I have just recently returned from a 3 night stay at The Diving Pelican. What a great place to stay to finish off our 2 week vacation in Honduras. Michelle was very welcoming and hospitable and definitely made you feel at home. She has a wonderful ocean front bed and breakfast, with a very, very refreshing pool and of course a great bar area. She booked excursions for us to the canopy tours and hot springs, which were great fun, as well as to Cayos Cachinos so we could dive and snorkel. The beach in front of her place is wonderful to walk along, especially walking towards the sunset in the evening. Nobody is on this beach and you can walk for miles. We also enjoyed walking along the peaceful country road behind her place. The drinks made and served by the bar tender, Alex, were great, especially the pina coladas and margaritas, (made with freshly squeezed lime juice), and the food was awesome. Michelle has an 'honor system' beer fridge, which a person can get a beer or pop when the bar isn't open, or to pack a cooler full to take to the hot springs. I would highly recommend staying at the Diving Pelican. If in Honduras again, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thanks for the review and recommending us to others. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay here as well as the bar drinks and tours. We are very grateful to be in such a beautiful and peaceful location, and also grateful for all of the fantastic guests we have stay with us. I definitely hope you do return some day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My brother and I stayed at the Diving Pelican Inn for just two days but it was very evident that Michelle and Andrea take good care of their guests and the inn is really confortable and clean. We really enjoyed the thermal hot springs nearby as well as time spent with Donald birding in the area. Here are a few fitting adjectives: small, quiet, good food, great beach, refreshing pool, confortable room, great hosts, good birding, etc. The area is beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hermano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Hi guys, thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, it is really appreciated. We've had a couple more birders visit that enjoyed the area, and I keep listening for the little Pygmy owl outside our window. As per your suggestion, we will be getting a birding book for Donal so he can share the birds with others as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Diving Pelican. Michelle, Jay and Andrea were awesome hosts, who we feel lucky to have met. They truly made our stay memorable. Their knowledge of the area and helpfulness in arranging tours and outings was much appreciated. They have a lovely location on the beach, with very comfortable beds. The staff at Diving Pelican is also y helpful and accomodating and the food was delicious. We feel fortunate to have chosen this B&B and would highly recommend to anyone travelling in Honduras. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thanks so much for kind words, and feedback, everything is greatly appreciated. We also wish you would have stayed longer. It was quite nice sharing some conversation under the stars on the sundeck. Hopefully Spring has Sprung in Kelowna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
9.4 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#4 of 22 in La Ceiba
84 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
1.8 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Villas Pico Bonito
Villas Pico Bonito
#1 of 20 in La Ceiba
255 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel La Casa De Nery
Hotel La Casa De Nery
#3 of 35 in La Ceiba
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Pico Bonito
Apart Hotel Pico Bonito
#9 of 35 in La Ceiba
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diving Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diving Pelican Inn

Address: | 250 Yards East Of Sambo Creek 250, Beside the Hotel Canadien, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range: £48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Luxurious and Intimate 3 room inn on the beach. With a beautiful pool, waterfall and large deck area. All rooms have air conditioning, TV, DVD player with access to hundreds of DVDs,private baths with hot water showers,fans, free purified water, purified ice, coffee pots and one has small kitchen. Beach chairs and towels provided. There is a very large out door area for relaxing with a fully stocked honor bar for exclusive use of our guests. You can also enjoy a tropical drink and 2 for 1 Happy Hour at our Barefoot Saloon. There are 3 restaurants within walking distance. From our inn you can take part in various exciting and relaxing tours, go for a dive trip or snorkeling at Cayos Cochina, take an exciting ride through the rain forest and relax afterwards in the rejuvenating thermal waters at the Sambo Creek Canopy Tour and Hot springs, or take a Kayak ride through the Cacao Lagoon and enjoy the monkeys and other wildlife you'll experience. We are here to be of service and making you a repeat guest is our one and only purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Diving Pelican Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing