We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great time with friendly people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diving Pelican Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diving Pelican Inn
Ranked #10 of 32 La Ceiba B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great time with friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at the Diving Pelican after seeing the ruins in Copan. It is right on the beach and convenient to get to from La Ceiba. We drove ourselves there and we had no trouble finding it (we brought a GPS with local maps). Michelle was a great hostess and made it all very convenient for us to hang out. She helped get us a tour to Cayos Cochinos and that is how we met Tony (our snorkeling tour guide). We became friends in a short time - they bought my wife a great birthday cake for her 39th+ birthday. There is a nice community of people who work together to support the visitors. It doesn't seem like you are a tourist, just someone visiting friends. We would gladly spend time at Diving Pelican again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redkwamya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Hey you two...it was great having you here as our guests. I don't know what it is but we are so fortunate to attract such great people. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and it was great going out for the birthday dinner as well. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and hopefully we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Diving pelican was Amazing ,with wonderful people and beautiful scenery, Michelle and Andrea were sooo nice !!! Michelle always made sure we were taken care of :-D also Donald and syomara were great ! We will miss everyone there . We hope to see you soon . Jorge and family

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JORGE DUARTE 80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Hola Family,

It was great having you all with us, just wish the weather would have cooperated a little more for your stay. Every time I drive up the Cangrejal I think of Maria and the kids giggling and jiggling.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it means a lot to us. Hope to see you again in the near future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I had the pleasure of staying a week at the Diving Pelican Inn this spring when visiting my daughter who was working for an American Foundation in nearby La Ceiba, Honduras. This is a small family-run hotel owned by a delightful Canadian from Vancouver. Although about 12 km or so outside of la Ceiba and down a dirt road for about a km, the hotel sits right on the Pacific. The hotel pool with fresh water and a fountain is an oasis and of course the bar is right beside the pool with an excellent bar tender..Pina coladas to die for... and one steps through the hotel gate right onto the beach...and it is a beach that is almost deserted. I was able to jog a few km up and down the beach each morning at sunrise without once being worried or bothered by anyone. The room was air conditioned and had a nice ensuite bath. A secret is the restaurant which was excellent and at bargain prices...especially recommended are the hamburgers with the meat stuffed with various condiments and local delicious home-made buns. Best of all is the super great owner/manager, Michelle, who welcomed us as one of the family..really must get back this winter! And the sunsets were breath-taking!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Hi Don,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having you here as much as you enjoyed your visit. I was very happy to see that you may return this winter, we would love to have you as our guests again. This trip you'll have to have some Monkey La Las as well. Thanks again, see you soon I hope.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I can only tell you that If you don't take the opportunity to stay here, you will really be missing out on such a treat! Luis (the driver the owner arranged for us) was smiling and friendly from the moment we arrived at the bus station, waiting for us with a sign in hand. The ride from the bus station in La Ceiba to Sambo Creek was not too long, about twenty minutes. Michelle and her staff were amazing hosts. We were treated like special guests from the moment we arrived. The setting was beautiful, the food was amazing, the happy hour was well celebrated and fun, The accommodations were perfect and more than affordable!Our room was perfectly suiting for 2, with a huge shower,plenty of warm water, plush bath towels, coffee and tea. The linens were super soft Egyptian Cotton sheets and a we slept on a very comfortable mattress. Michelle invited us to browse through a huge selection of DVD's to watch in our room. While we only had 24 hours at this place I would go back in a heartbeat to spend more time here. Our bartender Donald took great care of us at the bar and made sure we wanted for nothing. Michelle provided us with beach towels for the beautiful pool and for the hot springs nearby where we went the next day. Breakfast is provided at your choice of two places nearby the Inn and Michelle will give you vouchers which you take to either place you choose. I only wish we had more time to spend here. I can't wait to go back. Please, PLEASE make sure you stay here if you have the chance! Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: I only saw the room in which I stayed. The bed does take up a large part of the room but there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Hola Kinnita,

Yes you should have stayed longer, we're looking forward to having you both back for a longer stay next time. Thanks for taking the time to write a review it means a lot to me when people go out of their way to review. I hope you had a great time in Roatan and that the rest of your birthday surprise trip was awesome! Happy Travels.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Wow.....just came back from my first trip to Honduras and can't believe how beautiful the country is! The highlight of my trip was a visit to Sambo Creek....and The Diving Pelican! It is very nicely done - beautiful pool with awesome beach area, wonderful views of the sunrises and sunsets...plus the food and drinks are delicious! Michelle and Andrea welcome their visitors like they are family. Michelle made all of my activity arrangements for me ahead of time, so all I needed to do was go! There are plenty of outdoor activities there to keep busy.....and the peace and quiet to enjoy it all! It's a wonderful little community and top notch place to stay - Michelle - can't wait to come back and visit with you again!

Room Tip: Fitness center - beach and pool Room Service - whatever you want, you can arrange with the owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Hi Vicki, glad you made it home safe and sound. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words, it was great having you here and spending some time with you. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again soon, for a longer visit.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had an amazing stay with Michelle, Andrea and the staff at the inn. The accommodations were top notch, and the beauty of the area and kindness of the people can't be beat. Michelle went above and beyond our expectations to make sure everything on our stay went well. She was great with communications and assisted with everything related to our arrival, stay, and departure. The inn was very clean and well taken care of.

Even if you're not able to stay here (which you really should consider), it's worth stopping by to have a bite to eat, grab and drink and enjoy the beach. I can't say enough good things about our visit, and I hope we have the chance to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amusez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivingPelican, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Hola our friends, hope you enjoyed Utila. We had an absolutely great time with you here, even with the not so perfect weather it was great. Your pictures of Honduras are wonderful, thanks for adding it to the Trip Advisor page. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TA community. We hope you have a chance to return again in the future.

Michelle and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here after a less then enjoyable ride for 3 hours in a taxi. Michelle doesn't usually take people without a reservation, but we met her when we stopped at her hotel for a drink, before going to our hotel. Everything was booked in Sambo Creek because of Semana Santa, but Michelle let us stay in a small cabana the next day and we stayed for 3 nights.. She even was so kind to drive us to the bus station when we were leaving as taxis are not readily available. The accomodations were great and the food and service excellent. It is right on the beach a short walk to the town along the beach. There is also a pool which was great just for cooling off. Michelle and her staff were extremely helpful and arranged side trips within hours. We went to a huge hot springs which included, transportation, lava mud scrub, hot oil massage, huge tray of fruit while relaxing. There was no time limit and we were told we could let them know when we were ready. The cost was $25.00 a person, amazing. She also arranged a kayak tour in a logoon 15 minutes away where we each had our own guide and spotted large troops of howler monkeys and beautiful scenery. Peaceful and inexpensive. I would highly recommend this place, both for the accomodation and the friendliness. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Diving Pelican Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Hey thanks for stopping by and thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your time in Honduras and your stay with us it was great having you here. You are correct Honduras is a hidden gem that more people should come and discover. Come back again soon. Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Ceiba hotels
11.1 mi away
Hotel Partenon Beach La Ceiba
9.4 mi away
Hotel Las Hamacas
Hotel Las Hamacas
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Pico Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palma Real Beach Resort & Villas
8.7 mi away
Omega Tours Eco Jungle Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diving Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diving Pelican Inn

Property: Diving Pelican Inn
Address: Yards East Of Sambo Creek 250 | Beside the Hotel Canadien, La Ceiba AT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > La Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in La Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Luxurious and Intimate 3 room inn on the beach. With a beautiful pool, waterfall and large deck area. All rooms have air conditioning, TV, DVD player with access to hundreds of DVDs,private baths with hot water showers,fans, free purified water, purified ice, coffee pots and one has small kitchen. Beach chairs and towels provided. There is a very large out door area for relaxing with a fully stocked honor bar for exclusive use of our guests. You can also enjoy a tropical drink and 2 for 1 Happy Hour at our Barefoot Saloon. There are 3 restaurants within walking distance. From our inn you can take part in various exciting and relaxing tours, go for a dive trip or snorkeling at Cayos Cochina, take an exciting ride through the rain forest and relax afterwards in the rejuvenating thermal waters at the Sambo Creek Canopy Tour and Hot springs, or take a Kayak ride through the Cacao Lagoon and enjoy the monkeys and other wildlife you'll experience. We are here to be of service and making you a repeat guest is our one and only purpose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Diving Pelican Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing