We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can this possibly be the hotel others raved about?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
281 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Can this possibly be the hotel others raved about?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our stay here resembled a stop at Fawlty Towers. We made a pre-paid reservation for a suite, but upon arrival they had no idea we were coming. When I showed them our confirmation, they rummaged through piles of paper - no computers there? They manually took our passport info and got every item wrong, and Freddy at the front desk was not even sure where the number was on a US passport. When we were finally showed to our suite, the bed was not made. But the bellman had quickly vanished, so we lugged our stuff back down. No suites, apparently, so they moved us to a regular room. Here the only problems were one of the two lamps in the room did not work and there was a big black stain on the bed cover. But no price adjustment, as they said the rooms cost the same anyway! Really? Off to the restaurant where we were the only guests. I guess no one else has been there all day either based on the dead flies on the window sill next to our table. Would you like an Imperial Beer, the waitress asked? Oh yes. A few minutes later, sorry we have none. And ice cream for dessert? For sure. Well, in fact, I double-checked and we have none. After the meal, to the front desk to pre-order a taxi with Freddy for 4AM the next morning. Of course, the next morning, neither Freddy nor the taxi is there (though they did order one promptly). Perhaps they were totally pre-occupied with the wedding and birthday party going on, with much singing that kept us up. Honestly, until I checked the address on this hotel to make sure it matched the one in TripAdvisor, I would never believe all the positive reviews relate to this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    29
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
46
41
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is my second time that I visit San Pedro Sula and second time in the Clarion Mediterraneo I was expecting to see the wonderful person that in my first stay serviced me every morning with my breakfast but instead was received by George. This gentleman was just as welcoming . I want to congratulate whoever is in charge of hiring personnel.
Truthfully, this Mediterranean hotel is the best in the city. For the second time I chose room 402 which is very spacious and cozy. I would most definitely highly recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the 4th floor in especial 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Hotel Gran Mediterraneo is the very best hotel in the San Pedro Sula area. The staff is delightful, knowledgeable, and very helpful. Check-in was easy and my room was clean and confortable. I had a five star experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We traveled recently with my family for an event. Before choosing this hotel, we contacted several hotels in the city and decided to go along with this one because they offered better amenities than the rest of the hotels.The rooms were as nice as the ones in the photo gallery, hey were very comfortable and big enough for the family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We traveled recently with a fairly large group of students for an event, needless to say that is quite a challenge in itself. We contacted several hotels in the city and chose this one for its excellent location, comfortable looking rooms and especially the attention we got from the staff from the very first phone call. They were very helpful and accommodating, the rooms were as nice as the pictures show and very comfortable. It was a great experience and we are sure to book this hotel on our next trip.

Room Tip: Great when traveling solo or with a large group, there is a room for every need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zivela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I recently traveled to San Pedro Sula a few days and stayed at Gran Mediterraneo.The staff was incredibly friendly and warm and the hotel is beautiful- as always. From the lobby, to the indoor pool, to the rooms, everything has great taste and boasts attention to details. My room was very spacey and suited for a great night sleep! From the amazing typical Honduran breakfast I had, the food was 5 stars.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeromundial84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here two nights on our most recent trip to Honduras en route to the Bay Islands (our first night following an afternoon arrival via Taca Airlines and then our last night prior to an early morning departure). The staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect. The managers/owners even offered to give us a ride to the airport when they discovered we were all on the same outbound flight to Miami! The hotel is extremely quiet, safe, and beautifully decorated. The A/C is strong and you can make the room as chilly as you like. The best things about the rooms, however, are the huge tiled fancy bathrooms and the AMAZING best with feather comforters and big fluffy pillows. Although we were staying there as part of our vacation, it struck us that the hotel would be an excellent choice for hosting events in San Pedro: the open area with the pool is quite lovely and well-suited for mingling, there is plenty of space to set up a grand buffet, and the hotel bar area would be ideal for discussing deals over cocktails. There area also plenty of spaces that can be used for meetings. Overall, we loved our stay at this hotel and would definitely return. We had a peaceful rest and felt very safe and cared for. The employees that work here bend over backwards for you and also have worked for the owners for a long time; they are like a family! If you stay here, you're making a great choice.

Room Tip: Room 309 has a HUGE bathroom with a chaise and is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lildarling426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#1 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.2 mi away
Real InterContinental San Pedro Sula at Multiplaza Mall
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
#4 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Su...
#6 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Copantl Hotel & Convention Center
Copantl Hotel & Convention Cente...
#10 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
#11 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Mediterraneo

Property: Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Address: Barrio Guamilito 4 avenida 6 calle | una cuadra arriba de La Prensa, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras (Formerly Clarion Suites Mediterraneo)
Region: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gran Mediterraneo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gran Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing