We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First off you may think the hotel may be a downer, but once inside the decor is new, and the rooms are revamped. Its perfect for a budget friendly get away. Plus there is a room gift of great honduran coffee. I spent only one night, but I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrianR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

I liked the decor throughout the property, but that did not make up for the fact that the penthouse was not well stocked or maintained. The accommodations did not appear to have been well cleaned for some time, and the shower doors were wobbly and leaked. The air conditioning worked well in the common areas, but not very well in the sleeping quarters. The sliding windows did not lock which made me quite nervous in this dangerous city. One front desk clerk had no training in customer service, and one actually made us an extra key to the suite when they had no way of knowing if we were actually occupying it. He took our word that our brother was asleep, and we didn't want to wake him to get back in. The story was true, but in Honduras you can't be so trusting. The parking garage had no security at night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel looking for peace away from the the hotel I usually stay at due to noise at that other hotel located next to a mall and and due to the hotel hosting parties for unruly kids that run into you in the lobby while their pretentious parents drink the day away. I also stayed there because my 25th high school reunion (yes, I am a local who has migrated to the US) was there and did not want to have to drive at night in the most dangerous city in the world (the UN, not me). The lobby is small and the people friendly at the front desk for the most part. Even though close to a main road, it is tucked in a what seems a quiet neighborhood. Let's start with the good:

- Decent food in the tiny restaurant
- Impressive religious art on the walls on the main hallways. And that is it.

Now the not so great:
- No hot water in the room.
- Flimsiest windows that do not close completely which allows all the noise in.
- Next to the noisiest Applebee's restaurant I have ever witnessed that keeps you up all night (Applebee's! for crying out loud).
- The smallest elevators in the world (two people max).
- No amenities.
- Smallest bar that side of the border.
- No one knows how to mix a drink.
- Stiffest waiters in the world in the tiny restaurant.
- Unprepared and untrained staff.
- Pseudo events room outside elevator on way to restaurant (technically a hallway people walk through when your event is taking place and they are making it to the restaurant - awkward).
- Noisy, noisy, noisy.

I went to this place expecting something more for the price, silly me.

Stay away from this place, there are no redeeming qualities about this place.

Room Tip: Choose none and stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corazonladron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Hotel is older and it shows. Rooms have a musty smell, AC is terribly loud. Advertised "Gym" has two treadmills and one 35 lbs weight! Sauna is a death trap of exposed wiring. Sleeping is tough, particularly when they have events and all you hear is furniture moving.

The worst thing is that after a day out on business I returned to find my room door wide open, housekeeping forgot to close it!

Would not recommend. Choose the Hilton or Intercontinental, with an AAA discount it's actually cheaper.

Room Tip: Choose the Hilton or Intercontinental, with an AAA discount it's actually cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My trip to San Pedro Sula was for a congress, and the city few upscale hotels (Intercontinental, Hilton, Crowne) where packed full, so one of the few option was the Clarion. I picked this hotel thinking that, being part of chain, it should have some minum standards.
The first impression was not that good: the reception area belongs to a motel, but the guy at the counter was quick and professional. The elevator is small and feels not that safe, but then the rooms corridor (3rd floor) is not that bad. The big surprise was when I opened the door of my room: double size, with a huge Jacuzzi, sitting area and flat screen TV. The bathroom too looked much younger than the rest of the hotel (I discovered that some rooms were refurbished completely a couple of years ago).
The not so good aspects:
- you cannot exchange money at the reception (there is a Citibank one block away, but check the business hours).
- the restaurant of the hotel is one of the saddest I have ever been: I would recommend to have your breakfast elsewhere, even though I cannot tell you any alternative place nearby.
-the internet connection was spotty, and one day it was gone for good . The speed was enough for basic surfing.
- if you try to locate this hotel in Google Map or Bing, beware that the location shown is not the real one, and that's probably due to the complicated address system of the city.
Should I need to visit San Pedro Sula again, probably I would not stay at this hotel again, but (I know it might sound a contraddiction) I have not problem recommending it.

Room Tip: ask for refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Hotel is downtown, there is no swimming pool. The hotel is surrounded by concertinia wire due to the high crime in the area. All of the business around have armed guards. The resturant was not very good. On the plus side, the AC in the rooms were outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Awayfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Nice hotel Beds are comfortable. Nothing special, as you would expect in Europe, but nice for the local quality. Don't get confussed by the aerial cables everywhere. The area is safe and quiet. Rooms with a/c, large enough. Only "but" is that it lacks a swimming pool. Consider I was stayinmg 10 days for business reasons and the temperature was close to 30º C. Some trustworthy restaurants nearby (BK, Applebeeds, Domino's Pizza, etc) Very polite people. Everything really clean. I paid 85 €/night (buffet breakfast included).
I would deffinitively recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Business_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
4.8 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#2 of 38 in San Pedro Sula
559 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Su...
#10 of 38 in San Pedro Sula
110 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula
Crowne Plaza San Pedro Sula
#29 of 38 in San Pedro Sula
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Copantl Hotel & Convention Center
4.5 mi away
Real InterContinental San Pedro Sula at Multiplaza Mall
5.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Sula
Gran Hotel Sula
#17 of 38 in San Pedro Sula
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula

Address: Ave 2CLL Bo Rio de Piedras 17, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range: £79 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Hotel San Pedra Sula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion San Pedro Sula
San Pedro Sula Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing