We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near airport, clean, friendly, lovely grounds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metrotel Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metrotel Express
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Near airport, clean, friendly, lovely grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Metrotel is a convent hôtel, near airport, clean and friendly. The pool is nice, volleyball court, children't playground in great large garden. Birds and iguanas roam among the plants. There is a continental breakfast as .

We were told a family member owns the restaurant next door, Larsons. Larsons has a nice bakery and fair to good food. The staff is very nice. One thing did spoil our dinner there….. on the bill was stamped in English "no tip included, we recommend a 20% tip". This did not seem correct because the standard tip Honduras is 10%. I ask the cashier what was stamped on the bill in Spanish, he admitted it was a recommended tip of 10%. That is just wrong, to ask gringos (we stay at Metrotel often and eat at Larsons often as well) for a 20% tip and others for 10%. We were disappointed in this action and hope the owners will remove this inconsistency. It feels like we were being taken advantage of…. not very welcoming. Larsons probably would not thrive without gringos as it is the restaurant for Metrotel and not near town or much else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColibriSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    50
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
36
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed just one night between leaving Utila, catching a flight back to US. Staff were prompt & efficient in responding to emails to reserve a room and make transportation arrangements from bus station late at night to hotel, and before dawn departure to airport. Room was just fine, we didn't see the entire property. Breakfast area & set up looked like it was probably excellent, but at 0-dark thirty I didn't even grab coffee to go. Oh, yeah, they have tea, coffee late at night as well but too tired to get any. Each leg of taxi trips was $15, & the taxi driver was 10 minutes early in the a.m. so very conscientious folks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My friend and I sprung for a fancier hotel for our night in San Pedro Sula because we had heard its a very dangerous city. This place was fabulous! Had a lovely garden with hammocks, pool, friendly staff, restaurant next door, comfortable beds, A/C, TV's and a lovely continental breakfast.

There was 2 negatives though...the hotel had emailed with us and said they would arrange a taxi driver to pick us up at the airport and they never showed up. We flagged down a different taxi which was not a huge deal and its only a 10min ride or so to the hotel. We just felt safer knowing the hotel was arranging one rather than chancing it on someone who may not be a real taxi.

The restaurant next door has terrible customer service. The food was good, but the service took almost 2 hours to get a simple kids mac and cheese meal. The waitress kept forgetting things and never checked on our table.

Other than that...we had a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great. My friends and I visited San Pedro Sula this week and we stayed for one night there. The room are fantastic because they have all the necessary you need and they were clean. The workers were so kind with us. Even though they have an amazing pool, the only thing that I don't like about it is that the pool was kind of dirty. When we were going to have the breakfast you could take everything that they jave to eat no matter how many times you could pass it. I recommend this hotel is you are going to travel to San Pedro Sula with friends, family or for business.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

As others have said, as close to airport as possible, pleasant staff, clean rooms and good restaurant next door. The surprise was the garden, path, and playground on the property. There were hammocks under the trees although one needs plenty of repellent to keep the mosquitos at bay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jampack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

stay at metrotel at least twice a month when traveling to and from Utila. close to the airport, good security, Larsons restraunt next door to hotel with good food, and really cold beer. you can also have other food establishments deliver to your room.
I recommend the business suite as you have more room, better beds, and good a/c.
great for the price, and service you receive

Room Tip: make sure you stress that the room has a good working a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have worked in and out of Honduras for over two years now. Metrotel is the safest and closest Hotel to the San Pedro Sula Airport. As you will see on the ride from the airport, there is not much else in the way of accommodations on the ride to Metrotel. The airport is built outside the city on open land with nothing else around it. It is a bit pricy but unless you want to pay more for a taxi into one of the other safe hotels in the city this is your best bet for laying over between flights. It is also a good launch point for traveling further inland if your flight arrives in the evening. It is not safe to travel the roads at night. It can also be a good place to stay if you have an early morning flight at the end of a stay in Honduras. The rooms are dates but adequate. The air-conditioning works as does the hot water. The "gym" is just a few cardio machines that may or may not work. The outside landscaping is nice although the hotel is not far off the main road. Overall best place to stay and play it safe while in transit in an otherwise dangerous country.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global_Nomad_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
4.1 mi away
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
#15 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#2 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Sula
Gran Hotel Sula
#20 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Guacamaya Inn B&B
Guacamaya Inn B&B
#5 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
#4 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Su...
#6 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metrotel Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metrotel Express

Property: Metrotel Express
Address: | Km. 4, Boulevard al Aeropuerto, San Pedro Sula 1336, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metrotel Express 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Honduran Hospitality . Your home away from home! The Metrotel Express is a family business and had the pleasure of serving business travelers and tourists for over ten years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Metrotel Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metrotel Express Hotel San Pedro Sula
Microtel San Pedro Sula
Metrotel Express San Pedro Sula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing