We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copantl Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Really cool staff for the younger crowd, clean and safe. Your not spending much time there its not a resort or anything like that. You will be really close to some great restaurants, the TERMINAL, also close to the main strip, mall and La Zona Vida!!! Just watch out for the super big pot holes in the streets as your walking.

Room Tip: Pretty affordable n clean, most of all safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copantl H, Ejecutiva de mercadeo at Copantl Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2016

So good to know you had a great time with us.

We wish you the best,

Blessing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from a week in Honduras staying at the Copantl Hotel. The food was very good, lots of meat nicely cooked. The rooms were godd and the people were so nice and helpful. Pool was the highlight, good times shered enjoying the views and company. We had a driver from the Hotel named Carlos who was one of the nicest people you will ever meet. Took us to the market and a tour of the city. Really made the stay A-1.

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st floor or 4th and above for quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lhiggins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copantl H, Ejecutiva de Marketing at Copantl Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Lhiggins3

We are thankful for your kind comments and happy to know you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Doors are always open for you, we will be pleased to have you back.

Best wishes,
Copantl Hotel & Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I'll start by saying we were very concerned about having to travel through San Pedro Sula as part of our trip to the Bay Islands of Honduras. When the airline changed our flights forcing us to spend a night there, well, we almost cancelled our trip entirely.

After some serious thought and research, we decided to carry on with our plans, and sought local knowledge (Alice at World Wide Travel, Utila) to recommend a safe hotel. She suggested the Copantl.

The Copantl was really a delight, and here's why.

We were strongly urged by locals both in Utila and Roatan to ensure we were being picked up by the hotel at the airport, and taken back to the airport the next day. This was no problem to arrange with the Copantl, and as promised, they had their driver and van waiting for us when we arrived, with our names on a card, which is always good for security.

The hotel itself is about a 30 minute drive from the airport, and is a large (approximately 5 acre) compound. It appears to cater mostly to businesspeople, as evidenced by the number of meeting rooms which were in use during our stay.

We asked for and received an early check in, which was much appreciated, as our flight from Roatan arrived at 9 am and our flight back to the US the next morning left at 8 am.

The hotel itself is large with several wings of accomodation, a restaurant in the main lobby area as well as a bar on that level. There is a roof top restaurant with a nice view of the city. You can also have drink service out by the pool, which is where we spent the afternoon of our stay. We had been strongly encouraged not to leave the hotel and there is really no reason to. San Pedro Sula does not appear to have any real attraction for tourists. We were happy to enjoy the pool and the last day of sunshine within the hotel grounds. There is also a well equipped fitness center for the use of hotel guests. There is a small store in the entrance to the lobby that sells various items including snacks and cold beverages.

We were very pleasantly surprised by the junior suite we had booked. At $120 per night, it was very good value. It was on the 6th floor of the hotel, with 2 full bathrooms, a kitchenette, and a lovely large terrace overlooking the La Ceiba tree and the hills above the city. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The ac in the bedroom was a bit of a problem, either too hot or too cold, but for a one night stay, not the end of the world. A nice bit of nature to enjoy were a pair of peregrine falcons nesting in the La Ceiba tree right next to our room. They were lovely to watch.

We had dinner at the roof top restaurant. The food was very good and reasonably priced for hotel food. There is a breakfast buffet which is included in the room price. We ended up having it the day we checked in, as we had an early trip to the airport in the morning the day we left, and they do not start serving until later. By the time we got to it (just before 10 am) it was pretty picked over and the hot food had seen better times!

The shuttle was ready to go for our 5 am (arrgh!) trip to the airport. The check out was quick and there was hot coffee with "to go" cups ready to take with us, as well as cold juice. Nice touch.

One other note- there is always someone at the front desk who speaks english, but most of the other staff (including the waiters in the upstairs restaurant) do not. I enjoyed practicing my spanish with them, although it probably wasn't much fun for them!

I can say emphatically, if your travels take you to San Pedro Sula, stay at the Copantl, I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: For the price of the junior suites, it's worth it! Ask for the 6th floor if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Being as business travel frequently at this location still like to come to the hotel. The instalations offer all basic features of a hotel incl. good wifi.
Rooms are clean and spaceious, bed king size. Furniture still a little tacky and old. No floor carpet but tiles. The AC unit is a window type and depending on the room a little loud, therefore the low room rating.
The restaurants are severing Hondurenian and International dishes. Do not miss out the tipical "Parillada" (Steak) restaurant on the terrace of the 7th. floor.
If you have more time enjoy the large club facility with large pool, tennis and gym

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeoPty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice facilities, spent a couple nights there and I was mostly doing business, however nice and clean facilities, in spite of the renovation work I had no major problem... Nice TV, even though the WiFi had some problems I had a wired internet connection available right at the room.
Breakfast service was very nice, covered the basics with a selection of local honduran breakfast goodies.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Copantl is the most authentic Honduran hotel in San Pedro. My wife and I were there with our children and absolutely loved it. The kids even took tennis lessons as the property doubles as a true tennis/swim club. The cook-to-order buffet breakfast is also authentic Honduran, which was included in our room rate. Can't say enough good about our stay at the Copantl. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisianaFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copantl H, Ejecutiva de Mercadeo at Copantl Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Hello Lousiana,

This is so flattering! We are really glad to know you enjoyed our gastronomy and that your kids liked the tennis lessons, we have karate and swimming classes as well.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

Hope you can come visit us again. Best regards,
Copantl Hotel & Convention Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We (16 people) spent 6 nights at this hotel. The first appearance is that of a luxury hotel. However, there were multiple problems with the rooms. The bathtub drained very slowly; the light switch shorted on the fourth day and was never fixed. The Toilet handle broke on the last day, which they did fix. The biggest problem was the karoake and other noisy events occurring in the evenings. The rooms on the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th floors face the open lobby and the sound carries. Those in our party with rooms on the second floor had to ask for room changes after getting little sleep.

That said, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast buffet is very good. There is a well equipped fitness center, a large pool and tennis court. San Pedro Sula is currently the most dangerous metropolitan city in the world, but we felt completely safe on the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: To avoid the noise in the evenings, ask for a room on the first floor, which is actually located und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
Hilton Princess San Pedro Sula
#2 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real InterContinental San Pedro Sula at Multiplaza Mall
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Sula
Gran Hotel Sula
#18 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guacamaya Inn B&B
Guacamaya Inn B&B
#5 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
82 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
Hotel Gran Mediterraneo
#3 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copantl Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copantl Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard del Sur | Res. Los Arcos, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range: £98 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copantl Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Copantl Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copantl Hotel y

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing