We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamarindo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarindo Hostel
michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

i've always been hesitant to spend the night in San Pedro Sula, being a single woman traveling alone. but a taxi driver from Puerto Cortes took me there, and i was very happy. i stayed in the 'dorm' and it was very nice and clean, but it was more than i thought i would have to pay for a dorm room in a Hostel; and they have private rooms as well. i only stayed one night and did not leave the Hostel, although other people walked to the store and said it was ok. i felt very safe inside and the woman was very kind and helpful. she will arrange for a taxi to take you to the bus terminal.... just be aware that if you are not sharing a taxi, it will be rather expensive ... but i guess that is always the case :( ...i would highly recommend this place. thank you Tamarindo Hostel ...and hi to little Rocco (their beautiful little puppy with blue eyes!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    8
    11
    9
See reviews for
3
13
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrived late in the night after a very long trip from Costa Rica, with a stressfull interactions in the bus station, but arriving here was like a little piece of paradise.
The owner was very kind to us, they gave us a good fresh beer and a very good bed.

Room Tip: Everyone are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebreinsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night.
A guy from the hostel came an picked me up in the airport as promised, and they drove me to the bus terminal the next morning. But their rates are way to high. Paid 20 $ for the airport pick up, 10 $ for the drive to the bus terminal and 15 $ for a dorm bed.
Even though the 2010 Lonely Planet edition refers to this place as the place to meet other travellers, I was the only guest that night.
The dorm was okay, but the atmosphere in the hostel was kind of cold and not very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinTrolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamarindohostel, Gerente at Tamarindo Hostel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hi Dear Martin
In respect of your review on 15Ago 2013,let me tell you there are some rarelly days that you can be the only one in the hostel,
The transportation service is as the same as every unknown and unsafe taxi you can take at the airport.and we took our time for be waiting for your arrival.
Our services in the hostel are even better than others, high velocity wi fi you can also talk with skype calls,hot water,strict cleanning ,desinfecting,maintenance.air condition,bathroom inside,local calls,facilities,safety,residential zone and more just for $15 ,is very cheap .
You can go to Utila, Copan,you can find less prices but when you enter the room you will feel you cant wait for to go outside,you will see the diference.Our prices has the value.
I hope to have you again here in San Pedro Sula .have a great time, kind regards,Lorette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Pedro Sula hotels

Brazil
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The reason this hostel gets many mixed references is that there's not much options in San Pedro Sula, Honduras is clearly a country with severe difficulties, so they take full advantage of it, overpricing everything by western standards, I quite understand them, anyways I stayed on the dorm, there's a baleada restaurant close by with nice food and decent prices, if you don't speak spanish the locals won't be really willing to help! they get a "multicultural" as honduras is a path to the illegal crossing to the USA, so you can meet some interesting people with a lot of tales to tell.

Room Tip: choose the ones upstairs, they seem to be cleaner and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreFranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I'm not sure what all the bad review are about. I ended up here because the TICA bus office was closed on a Sunday and the taxi driver recommended this place to buy my ticket. I ended up buying my bus ticket and decided to go ahead and stay here in place of the other hostel where I made my booking in the beginning.

The dorm rooms are affordable, clean, and comfortable. I agree that the private rooms are too pricey for what the place is, but otherwise my 2-night stay was very pleasant. The bathroom is clean, there is good high-speed WiFi and a fridge stocked with cold beer. SPS is a transient city and i wouldn't really want to come back except as a passing point for the Honduran Bay Islands. When I do, I will definitely choose to stay at Tamarindo.

As a side note, I left something at the Hostal and the staff was kind enough to e-mail me to let me know!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed there with my girlfriend and we got a dorm room to ourselves-- nice touch. But it was SUPER hot, ill-ventilated, and smelled like the bathroom next to it.

The staff didn't really know anything about SPS while we were there and just recommended that we stay in at night. Fair enough, but at least give us something to do during the day. Make it up, even!

Basic hostel, most of the amenities, but they charged WAY too much for a basic hostel, and they even charged for using internet! I hate that, such an annoyance when hostels do that.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleHoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

The workers at this hostel (mainly two guys were at the main desk when I was there) were very helpful. They provided us with information on nearby museums and activities. They would always call a cab for us whenever we needed to get somewhere and would make sure we were safe by always locking the front gates and hostel doors. I will say that this area is pretty sketchy, but then again san pedro sula is known for that. The people at this hostel made sure to keep us safe and they were very friendly. The only reason why I don't give it five stars is because they had charged my boyfriend and I 40 dollars a night for a room which I thought was pretty expensive for a hostel of that quality, many other hostel in that area would go for 20 usd for a private room. We stayed there because we were tired from traveling a lot. All in all they helped us out a lot at the hostel.

Tip to fellow travelers: If you are staying at this hostel bring your national flag (a big one) it is a tradition at this hostel to hang the flags of their occupants (not a demand, just for fun). I wish I would have known in advance because I would have loved to represent my people from the dominican republic :) through out central america they have told us that they don't bump into many dominicans.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tout E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
Hotel Casa del Arbol Galerias
#4 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Internacional Palace Hotel
Internacional Palace Hotel
#22 of 40 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Armenta Hostel
Casa Armenta Hostel
#4 of 20 in San Pedro Sula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Posada B&B
La Posada B&B
#4 of 46 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verona San Pedro Sula
Hotel Verona San Pedro Sula
#6 of 46 in San Pedro Sula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#28 of 46 in San Pedro Sula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarindo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarindo Hostel

Property: Tamarindo Hostel
Address: 10 y 11 avenida, 9 Calle A, N.O. #1015 | 4km from the bus terminal 15km from the airport, San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in San Pedro Sula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Tamarindo Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarindo Hostel, the first backpacker's place in San Pedro Sula. We have dorm rooms, private rooms, hammocks, and enough area where you can have a nice rest after an adventure in San Pedro Sula or places near the city. We have a nice garden, terrace, free use of kitchen, reading area, and a lot more. We can inform you of tours and places to go and have fun at very cheap prices. We are close to Souvenir shops, discos, cinemas, shopping mall, restaurants, markets and supermarkets, Hedman Alas Bus station is near, hospitals and drug stores, so come over and find a good and secure area to stay at with a few bucks. We have wifi free but the use of the computers is for a very low price of $1.00 the half hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarindo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing