We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Hotel Maya Copan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro Sula
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Maya Copan
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great view of the city from our corner room. Gave us a rollaway bed instead of a room with two double beds. Food was ok, service was horrible. Not a great overall experience. Not a lot of places to go around the hotel for shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryn1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed two nights here, and it was perfectly fine, and for the price, a good value. The first night (a Saturday), my room was L. 700 (about $35), inlcuding breakfast, a/c, hot water, parking, and the second night it went down to L. 600 (about $30) - seems that they are having a special right now for stays on Sunday and Monday nights. Breakfast was "tupico" - eggs, tortillas, beans, plantain. It's just a block from the handicrafts market, where you can also get a bite to eat (recommended - Estelinas in the mrkt)

The hotel has a cute sitting area on the third floor (a mission group was using it to debrief my first eveing), decent rooms, wifi throughout the entire hotel (and a computer in the lobby for guest use), purified water on every floor. Staff was pleasant. There is a night club on the parallel street, and on Saturday night you could hear that music - it wasn't loud enough to bother me, but if you're sensitive to sound, you should choose your room carefully or bring earplugs or choose a different hotel. It's not a fancy hotel or anything, but for this price, a good value.

Room Tip: rooms to the back darker, but quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank American_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

At the end of my trip I wanted a nice room, but no too expensive. And this is a good place then! 2 blocks from the central park. Close to shops, supermarket and restaurants.

The room for 22 dollars was clean and enough space (also for 2 persons). The only downside, there is no hot water! I know it is hot, but in the morning I hate cold water showers!
There is a tv with some english programs. The people who worked there didn't speak english, But there was a free internet computer so I just used the google translate if I needed something, that worked out fine!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 123ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Guamilito location!!!! The hotel prices are very reasonable, the staff were very pleasant, and most importantly the location in Barrio Guamilito is very close to the Mercado Guamilito, so shopping was very easy to do.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaliforniaCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This a hotel in the middle of San Pedro close to dowtown but at night could be dangerous walking outside. For me the price ( less than 35$US)is really good vs the service. They dont have a lot of parking space. What I like about this hotel is the staff and the decor really nice. They have another hotel in the Guamilito area that is more expensive but is nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victorapz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I have written The hotel up twice already and have nothing more to add with the exception of the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DarbcNqeIys

Enjoy your stay here!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
2  Thank gfriedrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

After spending the past 21 days in Honduras and traveling around a bit, I have really taken a liking to this place. They have 2 locations and I have stayed at both, and they are only about 5 blocks apart. The hotel located in downtown (centro) is a great bargain. It is like $20 a night and the place is super clean, staff very friendly, small but cosy rooms. I would advise anyone staying here on a budget to give this place a try.
Now for $38 a night the location in the Guamilito area has hot water showers, larger rooms, and breakfast in the dining room each morning. Also decorated very well and in traditional Honduran style.
The staff speaks minimal English, however, the manager Martin is very fluent and an unbelievable help in every aspect. I speak no Spanish and have had no problem at all interacting with the staff at both hotels.
In short this is the place you want to stay if you want a great and safe place to stay. I might also add that this is my 3rd trip to Honduras so I would like to think I know what I am talking about.
Thank you Martin and staff for making my stay so pleasant, and see you soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gfriedrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
0.0 mi away
Veranda Hotel
Veranda Hotel
#17 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Internacional Palace Hotel
Internacional Palace Hotel
#22 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
#13 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Sula
Holiday Inn Express San Pedro Su...
#10 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel Sula
Gran Hotel Sula
#21 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Jicaros
Hotel Los Jicaros
#31 of 37 in San Pedro Sula
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Copan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Copan

Address: Calle SO, entre 5 y 6 avenidas 4 | Barrio El Centro, San Pedro Sula CT1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in San Pedro Sula
Price Range: £11 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a brand new Hotel in the heart of San Pedro Sula (the major Industrial City of Honduras C. A.) We offer a friendly environment. Hotel Maya Copan stands among others of its category for quality, service, security and best prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maya Copan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing