We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inexpensive, nice people, great location”
Review of Hotel Iberia

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tegucigalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Iberia
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“inexpensive, nice people, great location”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed here first and last night in Honduras. It's pretty basic, kinda grungy, no fans, wifi is so-so, no hot water, but a great price (230L for 2) and the owners/staff are really helpful. The main man speaks English and has good tips. One of them walked us to the Duncan Maya for our last meal in the city. Right next door is a great souvenier shop with good prices and selection (also some in the church square). Half a block from the church square and market where you'll find cheap and tasty beleadas (Beleadas Lourdes is my fav). A block away is the peotonal (pedestrian) street that leads to the parque central 4 blocks away... great to sit around at. And within a few blocks are all the banks, taxi stops, stores, art galleries, everything you need. I had a great time in Tegus and felt quite safe, the people were friendly.
At the airport they weren't sure of this place at first, they pronounce it differently, but if you say by Iglesias Los Dolores, they'll get you there. Cab from the airport cost $12, to the airport cost $5, so yeah.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkletarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
5
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

You get what you pay for, so one can really not complain too much. Very cheap in excellent location in the historic center. Receptionist/owner was kind enough, felt safe inside. Beds, sheets, and pillows were quite old and slightly disgusting. Despite other reviews stating that there is hot water only from 6-8 AM, there was none during this time or at any other point of the day. There is also free wifi but it did not work for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esp160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tegucigalpa hotels

Van Nuys, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Hotel Iberia simple with simple rooms in a good location. It's not frou-frou but it's a good place to crash for the night if you're heading out in the morning. Very near to Tegucigalpa's two most striking churches. There's hot water only from 6-8 AM

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAoraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

If you can stay somewhere else, it's just not been looked after, the guys nice enough, but the rooms are grim and very worn, my bed sheet had a piece of gum with a hair in it. The area felt very unsafe after dark and the only places to eat are fast food. There is a lot of homeless young men hanging around.
I know it's one of those places that you have to stay on the long journey from the Caribbean to the pacific, but there must be nicer places?

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbyhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel is located near a church in downtown. Tegucigalpa is a run down city and looks like in pre-world war condition. When we arrived at the hotel, we heard from the hotel that of the recent robberies on the tourists. It was very scary. We were told not to carry our passport outside the hotel when we go out. It was such a frightening place. I would say we have to return to hotel before sun set and this makes Tegucigalpa like a Dracula place.

Anyway, Hotel Iberia is in a safe place. Though the rooms are not that tip top but it is acceptable with the price of USD10 per night. We stayed in the room at the top floor. It was quite warm because the window was not well ventilated. The bathroom was quite dreadful as the bathroom curtain was stained with dirt like it has not been washed for thousand of years. The towel was already yellowish brown reminding you of the yesteryears when the towels were white in colour.

There was no fan in the room NOR in the sitting hall upstairs. Though in the Lonely Planet, it was mentioned that there was a TV upstairs but there was none. There was one TV at the reception counter being privately enjoyed the reception staff only.

So, this hotel is only a place to rest for a night and then immediately, the next day for you to rush the hell out of this Tegucigalpa. It is a transit hotel for security before you go off again.

If there is no reason for you to come to Tegucigalpa, stay away from this town.

.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms upstairs as it is more cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Tegucigalpa is a complete dump, so what should you expect from accommodation over there ? nothing . Hotel Iberia is safe, basic rooms, nothing that'll make you feel good but it's 10 usd a night while youre waiting for your bus to escape from the mess. if youre waiting for you morning ticabus just stay by the bus station, there is NOTHING to see thats worth even the cheap taxi fare to the center

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DidzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Felt very safe in this hotel which is a relief after all the things you hear about Tegucigalpa. Rooms are very very cheap, they are basic and showers aren't great but hey, it could be worse. Good central location.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilesheyohyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0.0 mi away
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
#2 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall
0.0 mi away
Hotel MacArthur
Hotel MacArthur
#19 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
0.0 mi away
Palmira Hostel
Palmira Hostel
#2 of 15 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tegucigalpa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iberia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iberia

Property: Hotel Iberia
Address: Calle Los Dolores y Av Cristobal Colon, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Tegucigalpa
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing