We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un hotel ni de los mejores ni de los peores”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza del Libertador
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Un hotel ni de los mejores ni de los peores”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

I have stayed in Leslie's Place, across the street, which i preferred for its friendly and homey atmosphere, but it closed, and a colleague made a reservation here at a good (about half of what is published) price. Rooms are clean and have good bathrooms but horrible water pressure; beds comfortable, nice balcony and really nice view. from the back side of the hotel. A quiet and tranquil location except from 11pm to 2am on Thu, Fri, and Sat when the most appalling music from the club next door shakes the street with its vibrations. Service is variable, sometimes very helpful and friendly, but sometimes it seems you have to wait to get attention. Restaurant in the hotel is serviceable; i was here for work and was glad to have a place right downstairs (and another right across the street). There is a gym at the hotel across the street and a swimming pool at a nearby hotel that is available to the public for a small charge. I haven't used either one. Rather weak and irregular internet access by wi fi, but the hotel provides a cable for internet access which so far has worked fine. Not sure I would recommend it at full price, but the neighborhood is safe and the place is basically fine. I'll probably stay here again, as we use the hotel's small conference room for meetings, and it's very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
4
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

My husband and I had a little business in Honduras. We have never been but have traveld quite a bit. The service has been some of the worse I have ever experience. The cost was also extremely high for the quality. We got sick after eating breakfast at the restaurant and the people who work there are very very rude. We are checking out today. Very happy never to have to come back here!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flexnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tegucigalpa hotels

sofia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

Early this year I was staying in the presidential suit of Plaza Del Libertador hotel and it was excellent. I didn't know what to expect really as I've never been in Honduras before. I booked the suit through a web site called easy click travel for a surprising price- less than 90$ so I thought it is probably better not to expect much for this price but the truth is it was wonderful, I had no complains at all. My room had everything one could wish for: internet, TV and even refrigerator. True, the hotel is not too pretty, old fashion I would say but there is something charming about it after all. I say as long as it is clean, and indeed it was, it's fine with me.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodpoint10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

This was my favorite hotel to stay (2006, 2007), however the hotel now is part of the Plaza San Martin hotel group, meaning the prices of the hotel, restuarant etc. skyrocketed...there is nobody to see around, the hotels are empty...I though it was the earthquake, but I asked and it is been like this for a while.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickyTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

I booked Hotel Libertador for a conference for 20 participants. The week went very well and the hotel was a big part of its success. It seems there has been a change in management since the earlier reviews, because all staff were helpful throughout the week. On the very few occasions where something went wrong (ie trouble connecting to wireless), staff were helpful and called someone to help. They were very understanding of having a large group and the flexibility that requires, as individuals change their plans, and numbers vary for tea breaks, etc. The facilities were great, beds were comfortable, nice hot showers, the views from the rooms excellent. It was good to have several meal options there in the hotel and/or nearby. Breakfasts were good with a range of options. Gino's Restaurant is very good, as is Charlotte's Bistro around the corner. The gym was nice (across the street at the sister Hotel San Martin), and had the best views I've ever had from a cross trainer. The hotel is in a convenient location in town, and it's very easy to go out for meetings or shopping as needed. I definitely recommend Hotel Libertador.

  • Liked — The service, facilities, decor, and convenient location.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeldaLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2007

The only good thing about this hotel is "Gino's" ,an EXCELLENT restaurant, is next door.
My wife and I were supposed to stay for 3 weeks while working a project in Tegucigalpa. A local company made the reservations but we felt NOT WELCOME from the moment we walked in the door.
The hotel as a facility is not that bad. Rooms are OK and the area is fairly secure for Tegucigalpa but their attitude toward us made us change hotels after 6 nights. The Honduras Maya is just around the corner and a much nicer hotel. Their staff was very friendly and we really enjoyed our final 12 nights.

  • Liked — it was next to a GREAT restaurant
  • Disliked — the way were treated by their staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank seadawgsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2007

Hotel is located in upscale Colonia Palmira near American Embassy. Low criminal activity. Room was very clean and nicely furnished with Honduran styled furniture. Lots of dark wood. Coplimentary covered parking available next door, absolutely secure. Staff very helpfull in providing extra beds in room. Cashier was always available to exchange Dollars into Lempiras at rate equal to local banks. This service is extremely helpful if compare it with the restricted time, long lines and hassel at the local banks. Do not use the laundry service in the hotel. This service is extremely expensive. There are no written prices on the laundry ticket when I requested this service. I expected an usual charge of between $25 -$30 for the amount of laundry submitted. But to my surprise the bill was over $120 more than the cost of the room for one night. I could have easily bought new underwear and socks for less. The service was timely and tip top, everything was pressed and wrapped but in my opinion overpriced for Honduras.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Washedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza del General
Hotel Plaza del General
#15 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Martin
Hotel Plaza San Martin
#19 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Portal del Angel
Hotel Portal del Angel
#10 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tegucigalpa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Juan Carlos
Hotel Plaza Juan Carlos
#16 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza del Libertador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza del Libertador

Property: Hotel Plaza del Libertador
Address: Avenida Republica de Peru | Colonia Palmira, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza del Libertador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in October 1998 as the second hotel of the only Plaza San Martín Hotel District … HOTEL PLAZA DEL LIBERTADOR is a hotel designed with style, comfort and everything that characterizes a luxury hotel around the world. Every corner of the hotel is decorated with works of art, paintings, sculptures, antiques and even historical pieces belonging to the Mayan culture, national pride, which makes the visitor feel like they are in a real art gallery. We are located in the Colonia Palmira in front of the Plaza San Martín, a central area between the living area of the city and the center of it. The tranquility and security of its location makes a comfortable and relaxing stay. You’ll get quick access to cultural sites, banking centers and day and evening recreation of Tegucigalpa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza del Libertador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Del Libertador Tegucigalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing