We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeply disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel and Casino Excelsior
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The most disappointing hotel amongst 12 in a summer Central American tour! ]
Where to start? Dark and gloomy = yes. Heated pool = not heated. Tea & coffee in room = not. Order drinks by the pool = no. One combined bill for food and drink in restaurant = no. Able to pay by credit card = yes, but the receptionist expects you to give him your PIN = no. English speaking = no (not that I hold that against anywhere, but you should be aware).
The rooms were pleasant enough, and once you got the hang of a different wifi connect in the lobby compared with the rooms, that worked too.
This could have been so much better

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Hotel and Casino Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Front desk is very helpful, they have a nice little bar and pool. The place looks oddly interesting. It's old but charming. Rooms are huge! and the beds are comfortable. Food is really cheap and great!. The only downside was the location. Tegucigalpa is a dangerous place and this hotel is not in a very good looking neighborhood. Close enough to the good place of town though. Is best to be here with rental car or traveling exclusively with taxi service.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canijochamaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We didnt really know what to expect from Tegucigalpa and the hotel, we had heard mixed reviews. Hotel was ok, room was clean and basic. A lot of noise from the street could be heard. Staff had no English, but were very patient with us and polite. Didnt see a lot in the surrounding area we had to explore to find somewhere to eat. Only spent one day there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MMurphy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The hotel itself is very nice, rooms very comfortable with wonderful bathrooms. The included breakfast was very tasty, and the staff in general very nice! Just like anywhere in Tegucigalpa, the staff did not speak any English, but they are very patient with Spanglish.

The depicted pool is not really what it looks like, but that might be because we arrived early in the season.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianaWiktoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2006

We have stayed in this hotel several tmes since 2000, the last time being in 2005. We have stayed there with a pretty big group of (Honduran) family and have always been treated well. We end up staying there once or twice a year and the owners and staff usually recognize us and give us a good price. They have a nice, clean pool and I believe are less expensive than most of the nearby hotels which makes it a good value. I usually spend a lot less on hotels, but this hotel has always been a great treat for the whole family. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2002
8  Thank schalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones son confortables, rumores no e sentido.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lujanocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelixCaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel MacArthur
Hotel MacArthur
#16 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Real Colonial Hotel
Real Colonial Hotel
#13 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
55 reviews
2.4 mi away
Minister Business Hotel
Minister Business Hotel
#9 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Paseo Miramontes
Hotel Paseo Miramontes
#25 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
13 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tegucigalpa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Portal del Angel
Hotel Portal del Angel
#10 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Casino Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Casino Excelsior

Address: Avenida Cervantes 1515, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Price Range: £47 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel and Casino Excelsior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel and Casino Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing