We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming & Wonderful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Portal del Angel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charming & Wonderful Service”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel is fabulous with warm hospitality. Room rates are extremely reasonable with breakfast and airport transfer included. Requests for business services and baggage were expedient and attentive. Dinner for 8 approximately $99USD in restaurant.

Food was wonderful at the restaurant. Common areas burst with color and exquisite wrought iron gates.

Great water pressure. Wireless rocks between three different signals so you surf a lot through your wifi experience.

Used the pool. No chaise lounges. Just grab your room towel and take a dip. Not a pool to sun around but to cool off in! Charming tables and chairs surround it. Great area for a special celebration or wedding.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meenanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    23
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
22
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guanaja
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Absolutely a delight. Very private, secure, romantic. David and Regina plus all the staff took great care of us during our stay. Beautifully appointed rooms include free wi-fi and delicious breakfast on the patio. The restaurant also is a treasure. We ate there every night...it was so good. Loved the snacks and fresh juice they put out in the evenings for guests.Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaurchin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

For a long time I have been looking for a decent option for hotel in Tegucigalpa. However, the situation was always the same, big hotels with poor service. This time I decided to give a chance to the Portal del Angel thanks to recommendations in tripadvisor.com. I am very happy for this decision. This property is now my only option for Tegucigalpa. The service is personalized and efficient. The room was huge, clean, comfortable and well equipped to sleep and work (I stayed in a basic room, they have other types of rooms, even suites). The wireless internet service is included, reliable and fast. The rate is very good for Tegucigalpa. The breakfast (included in the rate) was excellent< four different options of breakfast and on top of that a table with plenty of delicious fresh fruit, pastry, and fresh juice. I did not get into the pool but it looked great as well. The front porch with outdoor tables was the perfect location to hold small group meetings. One recommendation, the the access to the only safety deposit box available at the front desk. They should provide more privacy to the guests at the moment of depositing valuables. Just something to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Our family (three kids) stayed here for a couple nights while we were in Tegucigalpa. This is a nice place and we enjoyed the stay, but I would not suggest staying here with kids. The rooms are large enough, but the hotel seems more "adult" - all good things. We had no problems with the kids or the staff, but the kids were "bored" (ages 16, 15, 4)

Everything about this hotel will be appreciated by Americans - the rooms are large and clean, the staff very professional. It is similar to experiences you might have in the US. The dining room was very nice and we enjoyed the meals. The wine list was fine - comparable to what we see in nicer restaurants in Honduras.

My wife and I will be back - but not with the kids! :)

Room Tip: There are 10 rooms and they all connect off a common hallway. You might ask for a room at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlosfrijoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel hardly shows from the street, but inside is a pleasant colonial style place with a welcoming lobby and an outdoor patio with a little pool where breakfast is served if it doesn't look like rain. Rooms are very spacious and colonial in style. Rooms have individual air conditioners which can be a little noisy (reason for the four star sleep quality). Rooms facing inward are very quiet; can't speak to the rooms that face the street. The location is short blocks from a major boulevard where you can find anything you want (supermarket, pharmacy, copy center, ATM), and close to many restaurants. The hotel restaurant is good too. Wi fi is reliable and free. Breakfast is prepared to order and also included in the price. Snacks are served in the lobby in the afternoon. I was so happy to find this place after staying in a much less charming hotel for several visits. I took advantage of a substantial web-based discount, so it's hard for me to judge value.... I got a terrific value, but at full price, it would be, well, more expensive. Still, compared to the usual expensive places (Intercon, Mariott etc) this has much more character and charm and is much more personal. It's really an "island of tranquility".

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the patio/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bea409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This hotel is a hidden gem in Tegucigalpa! Great Boutique Hotel, a truly oasis in the center of Tegucigalpa.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatas_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2011

In stead of staying at the ordinary 5 stars hotel this is an excellent alternative. It is nice and charming and the service excellent. Some of the rooms are not sound proof. Comparable to Humuya Inn which is a little similar and also have very good service, Portal del Angel is by far better choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janole_haagensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Guijarros
Aparthotel Guijarros
#8 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tegucigalpa
0.2 mi away
Real Colonial Hotel
Real Colonial Hotel
#12 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Honduras Maya
Hotel Honduras Maya
#11 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel MacArthur
Hotel MacArthur
#15 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portal del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portal del Angel

Property: Hotel Portal del Angel
Address: Col. Palmira Ave. Republica del Peru No. 2115, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Portal del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Portal del Angel, we seek to give our guests an unmatched experience of the Honduran culture combined with exquisite quality and comfort. Everything, from our decoration to our food is thought to submerge you in this wonderful culture.All our suites have been design for traveling executives that visit us. Every of our 23 spacious suites are richly decorated with fine wooden floors, persian rugs and hand-made furniture, most featuring balconies and breathtaking views of the city and indoor patio. We guarantee you a comfortable and unforgettable stay full of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Portal del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal Del Angel Tegucigalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing