We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet stylish hotel in an otherwise dark and complicated City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Portal del Angel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Quiet stylish hotel in an otherwise dark and complicated City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night with friends. From the moment of your arrival you are given to experience a very personal and attentive service. I can't recall a more informal hotel during my recent stays. The decor is very stylish and very Mediterranean in style. The rooms are large with all amenities. The restaurant is reasonably priced. Tried some fish with vegetables dish and it was spectacular. The hotel is well protected and gated. The greenery around the hotel and the pool is very eye pleasing. I cold see that anyone could just fall in love with this Hotel and will keep coming back.

If you are after a quiet, relaxing time and expect personal service and good quality room at reasonable prices - this is the hotel to stay. Approx 15 minutes from the airport.

Two minutes away there are convenience stores and a couple of restaurants. Prices vary and you get a really good deal if you book directly with the hotel ( this was my experience).

Thank you guys for my excellent stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the service during your stay at Hotel Portal del Angel. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    22
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
22
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I loved the fact that it wasn't anything like a 5 star and had a character of its own, hence I call it a Boutique Hotel. My only grouse was a weak wi-fi connection and being on a business trip that did bother me a lot. Hondurans are very hospitable and good natured. During my stay at the hotel, there was a wedding and that gave me flavor of their local culture. Prompt service. There wasn't any Fitness Center. Tegucigalpa being touted as an unsafe area for tourists overall doesn't leave much scope for one to check out the city on one's own. Therefore, though a beautiful hotel, gave me a feeling that I was under house arrest. Food though slightly on the steeper side is very good. I also found the hotel staff extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Nice boutique hotel. I stayed there twice in a week. First room was better than the second one. Thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudeshna09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback. We will certainly use your feedback as we look to improve our service. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this Hotel. Perfect location, quite and safe. The hotel is beautiful, clean and very romantic. Staff was just above and beyond helpful, they were at your service at any time of the day, if they didn't have what you were looking for they would outsource service. very impressed with their customer service. We stayed in a Jr. Suite, was clean specious and very comfortable. A really cute balcony. The bathroom has a beautiful tub. The restaurant food was delicious. Everything about this place was amazing, as previous reviewer said, I refuse to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glo2935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Wow! Thank you for taking your time to write such a beautiful review, I am delighted to hear that your stay at Hotel Portal del Angel was amazing. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warmest Regards,

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and me frequent Tegucigalpa on a monthly basis. We had tried other hotels in the area until we found Portal del Angel. There is absolutely nothing bad we can say about this hotel. We simply love it and used it as a standard when we stayed at a different hotel recently. We decided to try a different hotel ( Aparthotel Ros) recently. We regreted doing that. We will continue to stay and recommend Portal del Angel. We simply love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AleArias13, General Manager at Hotel Portal del Angel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and please hurry back.

Warmest Regards,

AA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel is fabulous with warm hospitality. Room rates are extremely reasonable with breakfast and airport transfer included. Requests for business services and baggage were expedient and attentive. Dinner for 8 approximately $99USD in restaurant.

Food was wonderful at the restaurant. Common areas burst with color and exquisite wrought iron gates.

Great water pressure. Wireless rocks between three different signals so you surf a lot through your wifi experience.

Used the pool. No chaise lounges. Just grab your room towel and take a dip. Not a pool to sun around but to cool off in! Charming tables and chairs surround it. Great area for a special celebration or wedding.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meenanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guanaja
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Absolutely a delight. Very private, secure, romantic. David and Regina plus all the staff took great care of us during our stay. Beautifully appointed rooms include free wi-fi and delicious breakfast on the patio. The restaurant also is a treasure. We ate there every night...it was so good. Loved the snacks and fresh juice they put out in the evenings for guests.Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaurchin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
169 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

For a long time I have been looking for a decent option for hotel in Tegucigalpa. However, the situation was always the same, big hotels with poor service. This time I decided to give a chance to the Portal del Angel thanks to recommendations in tripadvisor.com. I am very happy for this decision. This property is now my only option for Tegucigalpa. The service is personalized and efficient. The room was huge, clean, comfortable and well equipped to sleep and work (I stayed in a basic room, they have other types of rooms, even suites). The wireless internet service is included, reliable and fast. The rate is very good for Tegucigalpa. The breakfast (included in the rate) was excellent< four different options of breakfast and on top of that a table with plenty of delicious fresh fruit, pastry, and fresh juice. I did not get into the pool but it looked great as well. The front porch with outdoor tables was the perfect location to hold small group meetings. One recommendation, the the access to the only safety deposit box available at the front desk. They should provide more privacy to the guests at the moment of depositing valuables. Just something to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TucanTico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Guijarros
Aparthotel Guijarros
#7 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real Colonial Hotel
Real Colonial Hotel
#12 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel MacArthur
Hotel MacArthur
#18 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Humuya Inn
Hotel Humuya Inn
#5 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza San Martin
Hotel Plaza San Martin
#19 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portal del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portal del Angel

Property: Hotel Portal del Angel
Address: Col. Palmira Ave. Republica del Peru No. 2115, Tegucigalpa FM1100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Portal del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Portal del Angel, we seek to give our guests an unmatched experience of the Honduran culture combined with exquisite quality and comfort. Everything, from our decoration to our food is thought to submerge you in this wonderful culture.All our suites have been design for traveling executives that visit us. Every of our 23 spacious suites are richly decorated with fine wooden floors, persian rugs and hand-made furniture, most featuring balconies and breathtaking views of the city and indoor patio. We guarantee you a comfortable and unforgettable stay full of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Portal del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portal Del Angel Tegucigalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing