We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly helpful staff at this pleasant inn”
Review of Hotel Humuya Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Humuya Inn
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Tegucigalpa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 December 2007

I just returned from Honduras, where I spent two nights at Humuya Inn in Tegucigalpa before heading to Western Honduras. From the very first email I sent to the owner to my checkout on the last day, I received an incredibly high level of service and hospitality. They helped arrange airport pickup, drivers to and from various places in Tegus where I had work to do, and a driver to Valle de Angeles for some afternoon fun. We felt incredibly safe and well taken care of. Every staff member we encountered was not only courteous and accommodating, but remembered us and our plans and called us by name. One example of how they went out of their way for us: when I needed to break a large bill from the ATM, the clerk took it to a friend at a nearby store and delivered the smaller bills to my room.

We had two breakfasts and one dinner at Humuya, and the food was good and the courtyard setting was very relaxing. The room itself was pleasant and clean and fairly large. There were only a few minor things that I might change: 1) we stayed inside at night because we were tired from working and not up to navigating Tegus at night, and we would have loved having a drink in the courtyard, but there is no bar. 2) the curtains were a little bit worn, but in general the room was in good shape. 3) I couldn't make the hair dryer work the first morning, but since I'd brought a travel hairdryer, used my own rather than calling the front desk. I think it would have been addressed immediately, though, because our only other problem was quickly taken care of. In that case, we woke up one morning to no running water, and immediately called the front desk. We had breakfast right then, and when we returned to our room, they had resolved the problem (and even called up to make sure we were all set.)

Other perks, in addition to the fabulous staff and pleasant physical space, was a computer with free internet (that we noticed on our way out), in-room phones with simple international dialing, cable movies (which was nice since we spent both our nights inside hanging out), an appealing common area on the first and second floors complete with a selection of books in english and Honduras tourism publications and english-language Honduran paper.

I would definitely go back to Humuya if I return to Tegus, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2007

My pleasant stay at Humuya Inn is now a sacred memory. The private Spanish colonial-style building reminded me of a private residence built for the comfort. and style. To fully enjoy your stay, ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. Then be sure to take the ceramic tiled stairs up to the sun deck and stay there long into the night and experience the splendor of the evening lights as they began to light up the mountain. Enjoy the spectacular view, breath in "calm" and exhale "relax."

The staff will assist you in getting you to and fromTegucigalpa. The city is not very far away, however, you will find yourself anxious to return to the comfort and quiet of Humuya Inn.


Namaste

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank arieslady_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Delia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 楼顶有很大一片观景台,还有一个小型健身房。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_Qiu_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: hermosos lugar para sentirse en casa fuera de casa!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinica v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son bonitas, sobretodo silenciosas para descansar bien, aunque mi preferencia...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Hotel Humuya Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humuya_Inn, Owner at Hotel Humuya Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tegucigalpa hotels
0.8 mi away
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
Tegucigalpa Marriott Hotel
#2 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tegucigalpa
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Real Tegucigalpa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Real InterContinental Tegucigalpa at Multiplaza Mall
2.5 mi away
LQ Hotel Tegucigalpa
LQ Hotel Tegucigalpa
#4 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Minister Business Hotel
Minister Business Hotel
#10 of 30 in Tegucigalpa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Humuya Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Humuya Inn

Address: Colonia Humuya # 1150 | Col. Humuya, Calle Barbecho, Casa No 1150, Tegucigalpa, Honduras, Tegucigalpa 11101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Francisco Morazan Department > Tegucigalpa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#1 Business Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#3 Family Hotel in Tegucigalpa
#4 Spa Hotel in Tegucigalpa
Price Range: £60 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Humuya Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At last - a rare hotel in the Honduran capital that gives reviewers a chance to gush. It's a triumph for good taste, both in the well-appointed guest rooms and long-stay apartments, all set in a quiet residential neighborhood.Once a spacious Tegucigalpa home, this keeps the trappings of a comfortable family residence with the trimmings needed for modern business travel. It's a beacon of class and courteous service in Tegucigalpa. Rooms in the colonial-style house have been lovingly furnished in Honduran mahogany and decorated with striking Lencan pottery and photos of the country's charms. From the Italian ceramic floor tiles up to the vaulted ceiling, it creates an ambience where you're happy to dally - unsurprisingly, there are many long-term stays. The focal point is a lush patio where lychee and mango trees shade diners taking the complementary breakfast buffet. Climb to a fourth-floor terrace for a 360-degree panorama over Tegucigalpa's sloping sprawl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Humuya Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humuya Hotel Tegucigalpa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing