We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value on Honduras North Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trujillo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banana Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value on Honduras North Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Getting here is a challenge but once you have, you won't want to leave!
The road from Trujillo to Banana Beach is in various states of bad to worse condition depending on the season. The potholes love to consume parts from your car and leave one shaken up to say the least. Allow a minimum of 30 minutes for the 10km journey. The resort is welcoming, clean and has all the facilities one would wish for. Rooms are beautifully appointed and equipped with kitchen facilities, WiFi, TV and A/C. Some rooms are right on the beach, others are set back behind a grass area. The restaurant serves huge portions of great food even for sharing! Pool is interesting with several features including a slide - loved by young and old! Service is attentive.
Overall excellent value. We shall come again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hot_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    16
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
32
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have just spent 6 days at Banana Beach over the end of Dec and New Year. it was a great place to come to. The owners, management and staff were very attentive and the accommodation was excellent. I could not have asked for more.
Something that really impressed me was that, when I arrived, I found out they had provisionally booked for me to go with them to a New Year,s Eve function in Trujillo (if I wanted, I did and it was great). They are super thoughtful, always appreciating the individual's need for space and quiet (even at the bar!)
This place is unashamedly Texan/Honduran/German. I am none of these and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Thanks to all of you. I slept and ate and drank and slept and ate and drank and.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in August at the Banana Beach, actually we were the only guests during this time. The location is awesome, the value mainly lies on the fact you have a beautiful beach for miles only for you and your family to enjoy.
The property is average but the staff makes what is in their hands to help, just do not expect fancy things, this is a very isolated property with limited resources. The pool was clean and the kids really enjoy it.
We occupied a cabin with 2 bedrooms, the breaker for the a/c´s shut off two times in the middle of the night and the signal for the cable tv was terrible (there are no tv´s in bedrooms only one at the living area) The menu is ok, our rate included breakfast and that was generous and delicious, just stay away from the ceviche, it was awful and sent me to bed one complete day with vomits, fever and diarrhoea.
The owners stayed in premises but really don't involve themselves, maybe they should a little bit more asking feedback from the guests.
Putting my digestive incident aside, I would say its worth it and overall reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa OntARIO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you want to go to a place to relax and unwind this is the place. The owner Rand is the perfect host and so is his beautiful daughter Jenna. They will look after your every need and make your stay a most enjoyable one . The chef Jurgen from Germany prepares excellent cuisine and the variety of food available is delicious. There is a swimming pool with slide and you can also swim in the ocean which has pristine clear water. There is also a pool table next to the bar which boasts of nice comfortable chairs and an open view of the restaurant area and ocean. There is daily bus service to the village of Trujillo just twenty minutes away. The bungalow I stayed in on the beach had everything that you have at home. Air conditioning full kitchen coffee maker a king size bed hot water with huge shower area and a balcony. Fishing and scuba diving is readily available. I would recommend this place to anyone. It won a quality award for excellence.,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Great accommodations! Great food and drinks. Great Service. Absolute;y a beautiful setting and the best views. I can not say enough great things about Banana Beach Resort!! Rand Popp has gone to the MAX on providing all. Rand's daughter Jenna and Chef Urgie has provided great support to make Banana Beach Resort a Wonderful Place to visit or BUY and OWN your slice of your heavenly dream place!
I am Paul Broadhead and I approve this message!

Room Tip: Any room...You can not go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBroadhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at a villa at Banana Beach on three occasions during winter and spring 2013--about two months total--we loved it. The setting was magical, Juergen, the tri-lingual German chef, served up great food at very reasonable prices, our personal favorites included the seafood soup, and the shrimp--grilled or empanizado--always well prepared-and yes green salads can be found--Juergen seems to know the right suppliers of produce and holds them to a high Teutonic standard.
We played tennis almost daily, and we swam many times in the blue bay fronting Banana Beach. After swimming in the clear waters we showered off the salt and could play or relax at the waterpark themed pools. The pools are designed well, and the water quality and maintenance is superb---I should know--I have owned a resort for over twelve years.
Perhaps one of the most interesting parts of staying at Banana Beach was the varied guests who seem to drift into the bar from outside the resort--what a cast of characters--lots of fun and chance encounters. Rand, the owner, is a gracious host and the staff has been well trained and are always helpful. We have found nothing to compare to Banana Beach in years of traveling.

Room Tip: The second story condo units have great views and the best breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed at Banana Beach in the blue cabana last year and loved the place. The cabana was 2 floors with a decent sized kitchen, a closed in porch that went around almost half of the building, TV, large bedrooms with their own bathrooms. Pretty much perfect. It was a few steps to a good restaurant/bar, a few more steps to their fabulous cool pool, and another few steps to the beach where I swam every day.
It's not really close to much, so its a good removal, take a few books and just hole up for a few days and slow down that pace we all get to between work, family and our social calendars.
My husband is a vegetarian and he had lots of choices for food.
The margaritas rate as some of the best anywhere.
The people - warm, friendly, helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trujillo
5.5 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat
0.0 mi away
Hotel Papa Beto
Hotel Papa Beto
#1 of 2 in Catacamas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Trujillo Beach Eco Resort
Show Prices

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Property: Banana Beach Resort
Address: Santa Fe, Colon, Trujillo 31101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Colon Department > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely designed two-bedroom cabanas and new one-bedroom condos located on four acres of secluded beach front property on the pristine Caribbean. Also features "The Mystic" - Trujillo Bay's finest, casual, full-service restaurant, bar and beach club. Play sand volleyball or tennis or lounge by our three lagoon-like swimming pools. The water slide and diving platform will keep you and your kids entertained. 24-hour, on site security and emergency backup electrical generating system. For your next tropical vacation, relax and enjoy life off the beaten path at Banana Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing