We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banana Beach Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Trujillo
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Giralda(Guanaja)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
88
18
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
18
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerrestaurant barwild horseskitchen staffgreat vacationloved every minuterandbeachhondurasbbrcoastfesupport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I can't say enough about this place. Once you've navigated through downtown Trujillo, weaved through the Garifuna neighborhoods, and driven over mountains on a road that hugs the Caribbean Sea, you finally arrive at Banana Beach. It is then that you realize that you never want to leave.

I've been to Banana Beach 5 times during my two year stay in Honduras and the worst part every time is reading "Now Leaving Paradise" on the sign as you exit the premises. There are simply no complaints. The place has all of the amenities of an overdone and pretentious resort without the overdone-ness or pretentiousness. Rand, Jenna, and Jurgen are so friendly and helpful. The staff is always available and kind. The food is fantastic and the place is right on the beach! You can really feel the attention to detail in the houses and condos as well. If you talk to any of the owners, they'll tell you about how much time and effort they put in to every detail in every part of the property.

Banana Beach is one of my absolute favorite places to go in Honduras. If you're planning a trip to Trujillo there's no need to look anywhere else.

Room Tip: The top floor condos provide a great ocean view and a Jacuzzi. The houses give you privacy and a nice porch for afternoon naps. The beach side apartments have the Caribbean as their front yard. You can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna P, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Wow! What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We really appreciate your kind words and always enjoyed visiting with you. We miss you and hope you have moved on to do equally awesome things!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Peaceful and beutiful! I felt very relaxed the days of my stay, the hotel is near Trujillo in case you want to go see la fortaleza de santa Bárbara Also the hotel has a nice Restaurant and Bar so you dont have to worry about good Food, they have it all! I felt very relaxed day of my stay, I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geovany29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

~ One of their slogans is "Off the Beaten Path," and that it is. This was my first visit to Banana Beach, and I promise it won't be the last. I was there almost 2 weeks, and loved every minute of it. It's a fantastic, beautiful and amazing place. It's a family owned, and operated venture by Rand Popp, his daughter Jenna, and her young family that all live there on this magical property. The staff is incredible, kind, courteous, and fun. The amazing food is put out by Juergen Peters, head chef, and his talented kitchen crew. From sandwiches, salads, soups to full on feasts, there is something for everyone's tastes. Breakfast, lunch and diner, I never had a less than great meal.... The amenities are plentiful, and unique, from the open air restaurant, bar with breathtaking views of the Caribbean, beach and tropical surroundings. Volley ball courts, tennis, billards, hammocks it's all there, and the pool is a design masterpiece. Multi levels, water slide, waterfalls and lush landscaping make for a most enjoyable place to lounge, and play. The accommodations are beautiful, and unique as well. They have units to suit just about any need, and all are fantastically appointed, and beyond comfortable, and incredible. Whether you're in a beach unit, one of the houses, or the numerous condos the views are something you'll enjoy, and never want to leave. Mountains, ocean, river, beautiful beaches are all right there to tantalize your senses.
I have traveled extensively throughout Central America, and this 'Gem' was a sweet find! It is very reasonably priced in all aspects, from lodging, food and beverage. It won't break your bank, and you get a great bang for your buck. If quiet, and laid back is what you need, it's there. If you want to crank it up a bit, just holla and the party will get started, I guarantee!! So many great times, great people and fun to be had by all... A new Cruise Ship Port opens in Trujillo in October. Banana Beach is far enough away from what will be a bustling lil' town, when that Port opens, but still close enough if you wanna get a little crazier.
I can't wait to get back. It was a great experience, and I highly recommend you check it out. You won't be disappointed, that's for sure. Perhaps I'll see you there soon. Thanks to all the fine folks at Banana Beach for making my trip special, and making me feel at home. I'll be back!!
~ Salud, and Adios!! ~

Room Tip: They have accommodations for just about any need. I stayed most of my stay in one of the Beach Cabinas (cabins), but also spent one night in one of the very unique circular houses. From 1 to 3 bedroom units, they all have amazing amenities, views and comfort.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This time went with the family just for the day and as always everything was excelente.
The food was great and prices are fair. Service is friendly.

If you are not in a hurry the road is fine for a disrt road in Honduras bue the beuty of the places more than justify the trip.

Definetly recomend it for anyone wanting to have some clean, quiet and safe place to stay. Beach is great and the pool is clean and well mantained.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Getting here is a challenge but once you have, you won't want to leave!
The road from Trujillo to Banana Beach is in various states of bad to worse condition depending on the season. The potholes love to consume parts from your car and leave one shaken up to say the least. Allow a minimum of 30 minutes for the 10km journey. The resort is welcoming, clean and has all the facilities one would wish for. Rooms are beautifully appointed and equipped with kitchen facilities, WiFi, TV and A/C. Some rooms are right on the beach, others are set back behind a grass area. The restaurant serves huge portions of great food even for sharing! Pool is interesting with several features including a slide - loved by young and old! Service is attentive.
Overall excellent value. We shall come again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hot_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews