We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Certificate of Excellence
Victor, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend!”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I have stayed here twice when visiting my daughter. I loved it. They have the most beautiful cabanas and great food. Carlos and Louisa (sp.) are such warm, friendly people. It is everything one thinks of when picturing the Caribbean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
43
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My Husband and I were traveling through Honduras on our honeymoon. We were only planning on staying in Trujillo for a couple days, but loved it so much at Tranquility Bay we ended up staying for 10. Linda, the owner, was fantastic. You can tell that she treats her staff as well as she treats her guests, because they all seemed so happy to be there and were proud of their work. The girls in the kitchen made delicious food, and were very accommodating to dietary restrictions and allergies. The rooms were lovely, large, and clean. The friendly resident rescue monkey "Chimey" was adorable. Such a magical place! We would love to go back anytime.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papeete
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stumbled across this place while walking along the beach. I was so impressed that I went back the next day and stayed for 2 nights. It is one of the highlights of my stay in Honduras. The accommodation was superior, the owners, Linda, Larry and Danny and staff all excellent and super friendly and hospitable. It was also peaceful and beautiful. I will be back!

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MonoFelizPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Spent a fantastic two nights at Tranquility Bay. Gorgeous, spacious rooms with considerate, personal added touches such as insect repellent, umbrellas, bottled water and some toiletries. Amazing hospitality. Nothing too much trouble for Linda, Larry and the staff. Such friendly, warm people. Great breakfasts and dinner as well. Right on the beach, very tranquil and scenic. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spandbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My significant other and I were blessed by the good fortune of stumbling upon Tranquility Bay during a spontaneous Honduran road trip this spring/summer. We were exploring the coastal tropical backwoods by rented car and bouncing down a bird-packed path outside the rustic Caribbean Trujillo, when we stopped by a treelined path leading down to a sparkling bay. We stepped across a footbridge and a tiny but vivicacious and friendly monkey ran up to us and began gesturing playfully and climbing trees around us. The next three days were packed with chatting with fellow travelers and the kind and gracious proprietors -- we really felt like part of the neighborhood as we sipped coffee and fruit smoothees in the late morning after our top notch stand-up paddling nautical exercise experience in the pristine and starfish and sand-dollar packed waters. The beachside cabanas were extremely thoughtfully done (ie had in roof safes so one could swim freely without worrying about ones changepurse) and great showers beds etc. and first-world clean. Earnest locals were delighted to introduce us to the area, and we really enjoyed being nestled in the rainforest amidst blackthroated trogons, ferruginous pygmy owls and other colorful birds and fruits. It was an invigorating stay amidst thoughtful hosts and dreamlike environs. The value at proposition at Tranquility Bay is extremely compelling and the proprietors are sincerely warm hosts and responsible stewards of this uniquely biodiversity-rich beach retreat set on a coastal road out of town, between inviting sea and lively jungle.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenEverwhereLovedIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynden, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I have travelled the world and yet no one place stands out in my mind and in my bank of memories quite the same as Tranquility Bay. I have been home for a couple months now but every day that I have been home a sweet memory has popped into my mind and I smile. Larry, Linda and Danny went above and beyond to make our stay there just perfect. The beach is breath taking, the staff at the resort are some of the most loveable that I have ever had the joy of meeting. This is a place that I plan to come back to over and over again. I tell all my friends and family about it. The beauty is indescribable. Chimmee the monkey is just so loveable. The water is incredible. The memories are unmeasurable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebDave73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2011

If you are looking for a combination of culture and relaxation, Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat is the place to go. Note the word "retreat." Tranquility Bay is a peaceful departure from the hectic turmoil of the mainstream tropical all-inclusives. The retreat has five cabanas tastefully yet playfully decorated in bright holiday colours. The rooms are clean with crisp, refreshing sheets on the beds. The hotel restaurant has a varied menu featuring local fish, fruit and daily specials, as well as some mainstream North American foods. Everything we ate was delicious and served by friendly staff. Be sure to try the breakfast crepes. Tranquility Bay has a clean, shallow beachfront. We swam every day. In the afternoons a fairly reliable breeze blows from noon onward. Hence, few mosquitos. Windsurfers, where are you? This bay is a windsurfer's paradise, currently known only to a few insiders. Larry and Linda, the Canadian owners of Tranquility Bay, can arrange local trips to snorkellng sites, Mayan villages and handicraft shops. They also own a small plane, so it may be possible to arrange a flight from Roatan or other ports directly to Trujillo, rather than bussing it from La Cieba. We went to Tranquility Bay to relax, and found it to be everything we needed. Good food, quiet nights, a hammock, a breeze and a beach. Bliss.

Room Tip: Ask for Cabana #1 with its Carribean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trujillo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Papa Beto
Hotel Papa Beto
#1 of 2 in Catacamas
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
9 reviews
14.0 mi away
Trujillo Beach Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Casa Kiwi Hostel
Casa Kiwi Hostel
#5 of 5 in Trujillo
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat
Address: 3 Miles Out of Trujillo on the Road to Santa Fe, Trujillo 12345, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Colon Department > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five years ago, 2009, Larry and Linda left the fast paced, rainy climate of Vancouver, Canada, to begin a new adventure as owners of Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat. Extensive renovations and personal touches have turned this little paradise into a "5 Star Resort" rated "#1 in Trujillo" by Trip Advisor. Five comfortable, spacious cabanas only steps away from the sparkling Caribbean, await our guests. Each cabana, that sleeps 4/5 people, is equipped with Air Conditioning, bar fridge, coffee maker, hot water, private bathroom, Free high speed WiFi, and private verandah with hammock for afternoon siestas. A wide variety of activities keep guests busy and fit with paddle boarding, wind surfing, kite boarding, ocean kayaking, beach walks, horse back riding, banana boat and snorkelling. Experience a Mayan massage or Hot Rock massage to complete your Tranquil experience.. Tours to historic and cultural attractions are easily arranged by our friendly staff. Tranquility's restaurant offers a wide range of traditional Honduran food as well as American cuisine. We take great pride in bringing a satisfied smile with delicious and artistically presented fare. Tranquility continues to be a meeting place where guests, neighbours, and community volunteers gather to exchange stories and local news. It is our wish that our guests will appreciate the untouched beauty of the land and sea, the warmth and diversity of the people, and the rich history of the country that has become our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat Hotel Trujillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing