We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely the best "retreat" near Trujillo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best "retreat" near Trujillo”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We spent a week here in Cabaña #3 (the larger of the 5) and absolutely loved our stay. It got hot the week we were there at the end of May (over 100°F), but since we live in Honduras we were accustomed to the heat somewhat. The fans in the cabin made it cool enough to make the high 80s feel cool! But we have no complaints about it not having A/C. We knew this beforehand. We had the beautiful Caribbean just steps from our cabin to cool off in. The facilities are above typical Honduran standards and the retreat has beautiful landscaping ending right in the white sand. For lounging there are chairs on the manicured lawn, hammocks hanging over the sand under a palm roof hut, or a beach towel in the sand next to the crystal clear water. This stretch of beach is unlike anywhere along the north coast of Honduras, only like those of the islands. We paddle-boarded one day and saw spotted eagle rays, skates, and a large amount of fish all from standing on the board. The location was close enough to Trujillo where we could drive 10 minutes and be in the downtown area or drive the other direction and visit Santa Fe, a Garifuna community. The food in the restaurant was excellent. They usually had two choices for meals, always unique and differently prepared than what was expected. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meals! The animals were great for our 2 boys as well (ages 7 and 11). They have 2 dogs on the property (very friendly), 2 horses to ride if desired, two monkeys, and a cage of parrots. None were too noisy. The retreat is not "resorty" and does not have a pool. But this is one of the reasons we chose it. We loved the quietness of it all and just enjoyed the beautiful surroundings. Above all else the owners of the property went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and we enjoyed visiting with them and others who gathered together to eat at meal times. We highly recommend Tranquility Bay to anyone considering visiting the best-kept secret of Honduras: Trujillo!

Room Tip: Cabaña #3 has a bunk bed, two singles and a queen, the largest of the 5 cabañas. Cabin #1 and 2 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Public Relations Manager at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking time from your busy family life and language classes, to send us such a wonderful review. Tell the boys, Piper slept outside your cabana for two nights must waiting for her friends to come back. I consoled her by telling her you WOULD return. The kittens are all tearing around now, eating cat food and ready to go to their new homes.
We are all very excited about seeing you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
41
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I recently spent a week here. I cannot think of a more relaxing place on earth. I love the individual cabins for rooms. Larry is sooooo sweet and welcoming. While I have only been out of the country twice before (once to Jamaica and the other to Canada), I can't think of a place I'd rather be. Some things that make it stand out.....the resort has two monkeys you can get close to. I loved that. The thing that really stands out in my mind is the food! Home cooked and soooooo delicious. The chef is so sweet and really tries to make your dinner special, such as with decorated drinks and delicious desserts. I also loved the beach. Most days we were all alone in the ocean. While we didn't take advantage of it, there is water recreation such as paddle boarding. I will have a hard time adjusting this week back in the states for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same but cabin 1 is closest to the beach (but not by much).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestWestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Public Relations Manager at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that your stay with us was so tranquil. I know your gave your sister exactly the support and encouragement she needed. We saw her at the FINCA anniversary, and she is still smiling.
Come back soon. Johar has a few new recipes?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Wow what a beautiful tranquil place..... Doesn,t gett any better..... :-) We spend 5 days at tranquilty resort this past april.
A two week holiday along the North coast of Honduras. Such beautiful scenery along the drive to trujillo. We stayed a few nights on Roatan (2nd time there) to get rid of winter fluff then over to the mainland. We never book in advance. Just rent a car n go... Our mission was to go to 'the end of the road' east..... Looked liked beautiful beachs in an untouristique but historical area of honduras.
Wow What a treat.......
After a nice drive (about 3 hours) from La Cieba, we arrrived a Trujillo. Looking for Tranquility beach resort... The many policia along the route didn't seem to have ever been there as they all told us another 4 hours. we were starting to get discouraged when we arrived 3 hours later.

Tranquilty beach resort is just that. A quiet lovely spot with 5 large very comfortable cabanas, beautiful grounds and the beach to dye for. We could walk the beach for hours. Never seeing anyone other than he odd local. Folks told us the beaches were dirty there but once arrived we saw with our own eyes such a beautiful strip of beach all by self... If you have travelled to some of the more touristique areas ie mexico, in comparison, the trujillo beaches were way cleaner.
Nice calm waters in morning and a littl more waves in afternoon. all perfect..

There are paddleboards, windsurfers and kayacs for rental. Horsebackriding as well.
If you love animals, this is the resort for you. They have two rescued monkeys. Both behave like children as they have been saved by the resort owners. One white faced and one spider monkey runnning about the resort. Both are very friendly and tame.
Also two lovely dogs and two horses. they do have a few parrots too.

There is a restuarant with 'the best food'. The young chef Yohan is amazing. We ate our 3 meals there all the time. What a feast we had each meal..

Larry the owner is Canadian retired AC pilot. he is a charming man with such great hospitality. Larry is building another small resort over in the village that will accomodate pilots with their own planes. Quite the project.

I had my 50th birthday at Tranquility Beach REsort and learned to paddleboard (with great success i might add = thanks to teacher Larry).

We travelled as a couple and loved our holiday at Tranquility beach ...

thank you 'Mister Larry for having us at your beautiful spot in Honduras.. till we meet again.

Room Tip: all cabanas are great.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeb e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Public Relations Manager at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely, detailed review. I am sorry I was in Canada while you were visiting as Larry spoke so highly of you both whenever I phoned. Thank you for keeping him company. I am a bit envious of how quickly you caught on to paddle boarding, though. I fell 12 times the first day.
We are all well here and now have three new baby kittens. Mick Jagger and Chinga are very proud parents.
The airport project is just about done and we had our first fly in guest last week.
I look forward to meeting you in the future and all of Tbay will be happy when you venture this way again.

Linda Forseth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

What can I say about Tranquility Bay that hasn't already been said? Larry and Linda are tremendously gracious hosts! From the moment we arrived we were treated like family. Our cabana was perfect for us. We loved the open, airy feel and the sound of the surf as we slept. Johar's abilities in the kitchen would put many a professionally-trained chef to shame. Every meal was a new treat and seemed even better than the one before! The name has been chosen well. If you're looking for a 'resort' (lots of excitement, dancing, and parties), this may not be the place for you. But a RETREAT? ABSOLUTELY!! We busy days and we always felt like we'd come home when we arrived back at our cabana. There's plenty to do (horseback riding, snorkeling, fishing, swimming, and cuddling the monkeys), but it's just as easy to curl up with a good book or read your email (yes, there's Wi-Fi).

Truly a delightful oasis in a busy world! Thank you, Larry and Linda, Johar and Betty, Lulu, and Kayle for some of the best days we've had in years!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennKVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Public Relations Manager at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
We have been thinking of you both lately and hope you are well and finally warm. We have some lovely pictures of you both in the resturant snuggling chimi. We are however, happy to have her enclosed Casa so I can hang the wash without Chimi and her partner pulling them off the line and running through the horse pasture with them.
I do hope we see you again. Maybe if you just need some R &R and some of Johars home cooking.?
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful response. It brightens our day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We absolutely loved Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat. You will never find more accommodating and warm hosts than Larry and Linda Forseth. The meals were fabulous, thanks to Johar, the amazing young chef who runs the kitchen. The cabanas are fantastic and so close to the beach. We also felt like family when we left. Thanks Larry and Linda for such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had Cabana number 1, which is closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmittyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Public Relations Manager at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Many thanks for including Tranquility Bay in your stay here. We really enjoyed having you and look back with fond memories of the fun and many laughs we shared with you and the group. It was wonderful to share meals, movies and personal experiences from such a diverse group of visitors, from Alberta to Germany. We have had some very hot days and I looked (almost) wistfully at pictures of your snow. Feel free to come back and warm up. Your hammock, cabana and monkeys await you. Just leave your sandals with the tempting bling in the closet . See you next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorsby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Tranquility Bay lives up to it's name. From the moment we got there we were treated to the friendliest hosts and staff. By the time we left it felt like we were family. Larry and Linda were so knowledgeable about the area and gave us great tips on what to see and do while we were there. Their staff, Johar, Lulu, Kaley and Karen were very helpful and always had a smile on their faces. Johar (the self taught chef) served us great meals each day and the presentation was as nice as you would find in any 5 star restaurant. He was also very helpful to me with translating and helping me with my new phone. We were also entertained by the monkeys, Chimmi and Cheetah. The horseback rides with Linda were also a highlight of mine, especially when we were on the beach. I can scratch another thing off my bucket list now. I would definitely recommend staying at this resort if you are travelling to Trujillo, Honduras in the future. We booked for 7 nights and ended up staying for 9. Had we known how beautiful it was we probably would have stayed our entire trip their.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheFilipics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Public Relations Manager at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
A heart felt thank you for your kind review. It was wonderful to share our wee slice of paradise with you. It was so quiet when the four of you headed out of town. The laughter, movie nights and horseback rides are great memories for us as well. Folks like you make operating our resort a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Tranquility Bay is a great place to stay. Linda and Larry were amazing hosts and entertained us daily. We paddle boarded, snorkelled, and went to a Honduran village and the orphanage with Linda. During the rain Larry set up movies for us to watch. Johar, the Honduran cook, supplied us with excellent meals and also was great entertainment on our snorkelling trip. They all quickly became our friends. It was a very enjoyable trip and I would highly recommend Tranquility Bay as a relaxing place to stay.
Jane from Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janefr0mCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Public Relations Manager at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
We are certainly enjoying our Sherwood park visitors. Each day the children from Cunda appear and gaze wistfully into the resturant. Their sales have gone down considerably since you left.
When your supply of treasures depletes or when you are in need of some exciting adventures, head our way and we will have the welcome mat out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trujillo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Papa Beto
Hotel Papa Beto
#2 of 2 in Catacamas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Trujillo Beach Eco Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel y Cabanas Ros
Hotel y Cabanas Ros
#2 of 2 in Valle de Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Kiwi Hostel
Casa Kiwi Hostel
#4 of 5 in Trujillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat
Address: 3 Miles Out of Trujillo on the Road to Santa Fe, Trujillo 12345, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Colon Department > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five years ago, 2009, Larry and Linda left the fast paced, rainy climate of Vancouver, Canada, to begin a new adventure as owners of Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat. Extensive renovations and personal touches have turned this little paradise into a "5 Star Resort" rated "#1 in Trujillo" by Trip Advisor. Five comfortable, spacious cabanas only steps away from the sparkling Caribbean, await our guests. Each cabana, that sleeps 4/5 people, is equipped with Air Conditioning, bar fridge, coffee maker, hot water, private bathroom, Free high speed WiFi, and private verandah with hammock for afternoon siestas. A wide variety of activities keep guests busy and fit with paddle boarding, wind surfing, kite boarding, ocean kayaking, beach walks, horse back riding, banana boat and snorkelling. Experience a Mayan massage or Hot Rock massage to complete your Tranquil experience.. Tours to historic and cultural attractions are easily arranged by our friendly staff. Tranquility's restaurant offers a wide range of traditional Honduran food as well as American cuisine. We take great pride in bringing a satisfied smile with delicious and artistically presented fare. Tranquility continues to be a meeting place where guests, neighbours, and community volunteers gather to exchange stories and local news. It is our wish that our guests will appreciate the untouched beauty of the land and sea, the warmth and diversity of the people, and the rich history of the country that has become our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat Hotel Trujillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing