We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This is truly a gem! The beach and bay are wonderful. It is very calm, clear water with a great sandy bottom...perfect for swimming and paddle boarding. My cabana was perfectly clean and spacious. The grounds are nicely kept and the setting is very peaceful. Larry and Linda are great hosts and the food was delicious. I would recommend this spot to anyone travelling to the Trujillo area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JMECanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siovermere123, Owner at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time from your very busy life at home, to send such a thoughtful review. The pleasure was truly ours and we are still talking about how quickly you caught on to paddle boarding. Next time, we will include a horseback ride and snorkel trip.
We look forward to sharing Tranquility bay with you and your family on your next visit.
I will think of you every time I use my "Optimum"card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
41
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Everything about this place is perfect for a private couples weekend. It is very off the regular tourist trail and only 2 hrs or so out of the way if your coming from the Bay Islands. The bungalows are large and comfortable, the views from the beach stunning, and they even have friendly toucans and monkeys to play with. The incredibly friendly and accommodating owners even mentioned flying guests into to Trujillo on their private plane. If you're partied out from Utila, this is a perfect place to appreciate the beauty and tranquility of Honduras.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ross w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siovermere123, Owner at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad you ventured off the beaten track to visit us. We look forward to sharing our slice of tranquility with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Tranquility Bay is beautiful and quiet getaway. It is right on the beach and the mountains are on the inland side. You can't beat the view. While the location is important and the accommodations were nice, what really makes a place special is its people and service, and at tranquility bay those qualities are unbeatable. The owners Larry and Linda are spectacular and incredibly personable people and their staff Adam, Rod, and Carlos were friendly and always more than helpful. They were great for conversation and always encouraging us and helping us to enjoy the full experience of Trujillo and Honduras. The place really has a wonderful quality to it that gives it homey, friendly sense of security and beauty. I am so grateful for all that the staff did for us and their hospitality. That's a quality you can't teach or pay for. Overall, great place, great people, beautiful view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Owner at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Well, I am assuming you all made it back safely. It was a delightful experience sharing our wee spot of paradise with you. The feedback from the FINCA was great. You arrived at a time they needed a dose of encouragement and extra hands to finish off a few projects. Your enthusiasm was so contagious and I do not recall ever hosting a happier group.
We would love to host you on a return trip as you brightened the days for all of us. We were happy to do our part, which was to provide the physical needs and comforts for you and your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hands down, the best thing I could ever ask for on this trip. They welcomed us at the gates even though we were 4 hours late. They then had dinner ready for us and made us feel right at home. Everyday they had breakfast ready for us when we woke up and had dinner ready for us when we came back. Larry and Linda were amazing hosts and always were willing to have conversations with us. Also, Adam and Rod were amazing with our group. They were always friendly and put a smile on everyone's faces. They put our stay over the top and we couldn't have asked for better hosts. If you're looking for a place to get away and have a blast doing it Tranquility Bay is the place to go. They'll treat you right.

Room Tip: All the cabanas are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Owner at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in your very positive review of Tranquility Bay. From the moment your VW group pulled in the driveway, we could hear the laughter and then witnessed the joy on your faces as, one by one, you introduced yourselves.
We have had many groups come and go in six years, but your group will always hold a special memory. Thank you so much for leaving the comfort and security of your home, travelling a huge distance, to give a "hand up" to the children at the FINCA, and the staff. Your contribution, and commitment to the larger community have "raised the bar."
So glad you enjoyed the deserts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed at Tranquility Bay with a missions group, and we all felt so welcomed and cared for! Larry and Linda made us feel at home in every way, and could not have been more accommodating to our sometimes crazy schedule. They showed personal attention to our daily needs, and served us delicious meals that included homemade desserts! They also have an amazing staff who not only put on an awesome bonfire for us on the beach, but also got to know us personally. We could not have asked for a more caring, helpful, awesome team. I definitely hope to return, and would highly recommend this awesome beach retreat to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Owner at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
The entire staff, including our animal friends , wish to thank you for sharing in your great adventure here. Your happy, fun loving group, made serving you as easy as whipping up Larry's oatmeal. Your warmth made us all feel like we were part of a big happy family. Don't you wish life could always be like that?
We were very glad that you enjoyed your beach bonfire. It was just a little thank you from us. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The time I spent at Tranquility bay was incredible!! The people working there give you a feel of true family service. Its a small, but very close staff. They treated me and my group as if we had been there 100 times before. They even threw a Tiki party with a beach bonfire for us one night!. the scenery is gorgeous and the accommodations are as comfortable as home. They provided clean filtered water so we didn't get sick and they prepared their food in a clean and sanitary way. The meals themselves were absolutely outstanding. Larry's Famous oatmeal for breakfast was my favorite. There was a wide diversity of local cuisine. There was also a lot of wildlife present at the resort including two monkeys, exotic birds, cats, and two loving and sweet dogs.
The people of Tranquility Bay treated me with love and appreciation. My stay at their resort was incredible and unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfaltin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Owner at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your beautiful review of your time here. Reading it was like receiving a "warm hug" on a cold day. Our staff were happy to provide your group with all the TLC you needed to do the job you came here to do. We will be waiting with hot organic oatmeal , a new variety of deserts, and open arms for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you have an adventuresome spirit, love the tropics, then I highly recommend this Banana Republic Adventure!!

We've traveled extensively around the world, usually staying with mid to higher end properties/experiences. What always gets me is when you review the pictures on the web site, for let's say a cruise line or all inclusive resort and they have pictures of the beach or waterfall, etc.it seems that there is usually a scene of personal serenity in the picture, with the exception of the happy models. And then when you arrive for your dream vacation you find it's a cattle call.

Our experience at Tranquility Bay had us feeling, for once, that we were actually in the ad that we saw pictured so many times. The empty beach that goes on endlessly into the distance, the majestic 6000 foot mountains rising as if a backdrop uniquely painted for the resort, me laying in one of the many hammocks ... Time here seems to stand still. All in the middle of the renowned Banana Republic jungle. And, while you feel a million miles from anywhere, Linda and Larry (your expatriate hosts from North America) will have you feeling all the comforts you desire.

Our accommodations:
Our room was actually a free standing cabana facing the Caribbean Sea. It was very comfortable and private. Imagine waking to the sound of surf and cool jungle birds while you feel your ceiling fan cool your soul. The cabana's are over-sized and very much in the spirit of the tropical environment which you are now a part of.

Where we ate?
The Tranquility Bay Restaurant and Bar is one of a kind. Adam our Chef whipped us up custom meals each night. The beer was cold (all the local Honduran varieties too) and the local Characters that speckled the small environ were a one of a kind experience (we had Captain Morgan's great great grandson one night ... he lived up to what you would expect).

What we did:
Some days nothing. First time I have totally disconnected in a while (there was free internet that I chose not to use too much and our cell phone worked ... I recommend you don't let anyone know that). Laying in the hammock ... cool afternoon breeze blowing across me and not the throws of people that usually ruin my moment ... "uno mas cerveza por favor!"

Also:
-Explore the local town of Trujillo, the back drop of the famous author O Henry's famous short story "Cabbages and Kings."
-Explore the fort that protected this part of the world for nearly 500 years and the story and grave of the famous Tennessean William Walker who was executed here after attempting (and somewhat successfully) to rule Central America in the 1800's
-Visit the Hot Springs
-Have Carlos (Tranquility Bay Caretaker and watchee extraordinaire) take you on a personal snorkeling experience right from the beach of the resort
-Swim in the crystal blue surf
-Hike in the jungle to one of the waterfalls and swimming holes
-Horesback ride on one of Linda's 3 horses on the property, down the beach
-RELAX and CHILL OUT

In short, I feel like we did something that others would use to define my family as "crazy world adventurers" when in reality we had the tropical vacation of a lifetime.

Getting to this remote tropical paradise can be a little tricky. I recommend flying commercial into either San Pedro Sula or Roatan and hiring Larry (proprietor and Captain) to fly you in on his twin engine 8 seater plane. He is a retired Air Canada Captain and I would and do trust him with my entire family on board. It is a 5 star experience in and of itself. We had so much fun flying in from Roatan that we hired Larry for one of our days and flew to the hard to reach Honduran Bay Island of Utila. Very out of character for me BUT what a VIP experience!!!

Everything was beyond expectations. Know yourself and be honest with yourself before you decide that you want to do this. Some people are "wanna be" adventurers and I recommend they don't do this. For those of you who are "for real" adventurers and understand what traveling to the 3rd world really is, I highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Cabana #1. While they are all muy bien, it is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy_Ross66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranquilitybay, Public Relations Manager at Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Greg and Cathy: Thank you for your gracious and insightful review of tranquility Bay. It was such a joy to share a piece of your family vacation. Your daughter truly has a place in our hearts and we enjoy seeing her big smile as she comes across the yard to the restaurant.
Thank you for your encouragement and continued support and we look forward to many more adventures not only at tranquility bay but in Florida.
By the way, Captain Morgan drops by frequently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trujillo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Papa Beto
Hotel Papa Beto
#2 of 2 in Catacamas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Estadio
Hotel El Estadio
#5 of 22 in La Ceiba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Trujillo Beach Eco Resort
0.0 mi away
Hotel y Cabanas Ros
Hotel y Cabanas Ros
#2 of 2 in Valle de Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Kiwi Hostel
Casa Kiwi Hostel
#4 of 5 in Trujillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat
Address: 3 Miles Out of Trujillo on the Road to Santa Fe, Trujillo 12345, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Colon Department > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five years ago, 2009, Larry and Linda left the fast paced, rainy climate of Vancouver, Canada, to begin a new adventure as owners of Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat. Extensive renovations and personal touches have turned this little paradise into a "5 Star Resort" rated "#1 in Trujillo" by Trip Advisor. Five comfortable, spacious cabanas only steps away from the sparkling Caribbean, await our guests. Each cabana, that sleeps 4/5 people, is equipped with Air Conditioning, bar fridge, coffee maker, hot water, private bathroom, Free high speed WiFi, and private verandah with hammock for afternoon siestas. A wide variety of activities keep guests busy and fit with paddle boarding, wind surfing, kite boarding, ocean kayaking, beach walks, horse back riding, banana boat and snorkelling. Experience a Mayan massage or Hot Rock massage to complete your Tranquil experience.. Tours to historic and cultural attractions are easily arranged by our friendly staff. Tranquility's restaurant offers a wide range of traditional Honduran food as well as American cuisine. We take great pride in bringing a satisfied smile with delicious and artistically presented fare. Tranquility continues to be a meeting place where guests, neighbours, and community volunteers gather to exchange stories and local news. It is our wish that our guests will appreciate the untouched beauty of the land and sea, the warmth and diversity of the people, and the rich history of the country that has become our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat Hotel Trujillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing