We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to going back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
1 review
“Looking forward to going back!”
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat is a beautiful little resort and offers a level of service, comfort and hospitality that you just wouldn't expect in remote Honduras. I've had a chance to get know the proprietors Larry and Linda while I've been at Tranquility Bay and I have seen how hard they work to ensure their guests are comfortable and how important it is to them that everyone is cozy, well-nourished, and happy during their stay.
I've done a good bit of traveling in Central America, and have never run across such amiable and honest hosts. They are great people and I know anyone would have a truly wonderful holiday with them as I have had.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindSports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
43
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Tranquility Bay is a great place to spend a relaxing and fun get away. The five cabins are charming and very comfortable while the inviting calm waters of the Caribbean roll gently along the white sandy beach, the best beach on the north coast of Honduras.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA-PRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Ceiba, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2010

it was my birthday weekend. we took the bus from La Ceiba to Trujillo, enjoying the lush scenery. Trujillo is the "end of the line"...we really like the remote and untouched location. Tranquility Bay Beach retreat was named aptly. It's a lovely property with beautiful plants and nice architecture in a serene beach-side spot.

the owners Linda and Larry, (retired nurse and airline pilot from Canada), were very gracious, generous & friendly .

WE loved our little cottage by the sea, think i could have moved right in ! There was a lovely little porch with a swinging hammock and chairs. a great place to retreat, with an ocean view. inside was spacious and cool, with 3 beds, good mattresses and pillows, a small frig, table and chairs,a nice shower and tiles floors. we could hear the ocean lull us to sleep.

there was a little creek with silt water that emptied out into the sea, but no problem, we just walked down the beach a little and the water was clear and delightful.

the setting was incredible...remote Caribbean white sand beach, back dropped with magnificent rain forest covered blue hued mountains. we found some of the best shells i have ever encountered at a beach and without the garbage found on other Honduran beaches.

they have wi-fi in the dining area which was great. their Honduran manager, Carlos was efficient, friendly and helpful. while not bi-lingual, he speaks some English and seems to be a very conscientious young man

we went into "town" one afternoon and found it clean, friendly, and un-built up. no fast food restaurant here! the buildings were colonial and had a Caribbean weathered, rustic charm. we enjoyed it's authenticity.

but the icing on the cake for me was the menagerie of animals and pets on property. Linda has a gorgeous and friendly horse..there were two tame and friendly parrots, some sweet and playful dogs and a adorable little monkey that Linda carried around like a baby. all this created a "tropical home" feeling and animal lovers will rejoice!

all in all a great trip, we would love to return and i am considering holding a yoga retreat there...think it would be perfect!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Our stay at Tranquility Bay was very comfortable and enjoyable. Larry, Linda and all of their staff were very accommodating. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.
Right on the beach, the views are incredible.
Make sure you have Larry's oatmeal when you are there, it is great!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustusIndiana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2010

My daughter and I spent 3 weeks at Tranquility Bay. Although it rained for 4 days we utilized the time reading books. and relaxing. The owners were incredible. They went above and beyond to try and meet our needs...even going out and buying a tv for the restaraunt to make the rain a little more enjoyable. The resort was undergoing consturction but it did not prevent us from enjoying our surroundings. My daughter is a vegetarian. Every evening, the cook prepared incredible meals for my daughter that made the rest of us wish we were vegetarians too. The food was incredible especially the tortilla soup and fish soup. We enjoyed many beautiful walks on the beach, seldom seeing anyone for miles. Staff were iamazingly helpful, even washing and folding our laundry! It was expensive to get to Tranquility Bay with no direct flights yet, but we are already planning our return!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelbugs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Situated between the mist capped mountains and the azure Carribean just a couple Ks west of Trujillo, this is a jewel to be discovered. Beautifully appointed casitas, hosts that make you feel as if you'd been their friend for years, kayaks, snorkeling gear provided. Lush landscaping. A real surprise and out standing value.

  • Liked — Overall ambiance was awesome
  • Disliked — can't stay forever
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ishima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trujillo
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carnaval
Hotel Carnaval
#10 of 22 in La Ceiba
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#8 of 8 in West End
152 reviews
14.0 mi away
Trujillo Beach Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Casa Kiwi Hostel
Casa Kiwi Hostel
#5 of 5 in Trujillo
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat
Address: 3 Miles Out of Trujillo on the Road to Santa Fe, Trujillo 12345, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Colon Department > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five years ago, 2009, Larry and Linda left the fast paced, rainy climate of Vancouver, Canada, to begin a new adventure as owners of Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat. Extensive renovations and personal touches have turned this little paradise into a "5 Star Resort" rated "#1 in Trujillo" by Trip Advisor. Five comfortable, spacious cabanas only steps away from the sparkling Caribbean, await our guests. Each cabana, that sleeps 4/5 people, is equipped with Air Conditioning, bar fridge, coffee maker, hot water, private bathroom, Free high speed WiFi, and private verandah with hammock for afternoon siestas. A wide variety of activities keep guests busy and fit with paddle boarding, wind surfing, kite boarding, ocean kayaking, beach walks, horse back riding, banana boat and snorkelling. Experience a Mayan massage or Hot Rock massage to complete your Tranquil experience.. Tours to historic and cultural attractions are easily arranged by our friendly staff. Tranquility's restaurant offers a wide range of traditional Honduran food as well as American cuisine. We take great pride in bringing a satisfied smile with delicious and artistically presented fare. Tranquility continues to be a meeting place where guests, neighbours, and community volunteers gather to exchange stories and local news. It is our wish that our guests will appreciate the untouched beauty of the land and sea, the warmth and diversity of the people, and the rich history of the country that has become our new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach Retreat Hotel Trujillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing