We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Dawsonville, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Southern Hospitality”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The staff of this hotel treated me with such kindness. Zach, Chris, Omar and Jan went out of their way to make me feel comfortable during a very stressful time in my life. My
room is very spacious, clean and quiet. The hotel is conveniently located to the major hospitals in the area. There also are restaurants, shopping and Fresh Produce right by the hotel. I chose this hotel just based on my previous stay at a Country Inn in Florida. I feel safe and secure which is a wonderful plus. Thanks to all for going over and beyond the expected to make me feel at home.

Room Tip: The rooms tucked in the corners (not open to the atrium) are extremely quiet. I prefer the top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Tip of the hat and a nod of the head to you good Sir!

Thank You,

Brian Cotter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    119
    47
    15
    15
See reviews for
256
72
29
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murphy, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed one night at the Country Inn and Suites in Athens, GA. We really love the one in Port Canaveral, FL so we thought we'd like this one as well. The hotel and the room were clean. The room we had was large with plenty of room. The whole place was very elegant. I'm still a fan but there were just a couple of things that weren't up to par as far as we were concerned. First, the breakfast was not at all what was advertised on the website, nor was it what they serve at the one in Port Canaveral. We were disappointed that they didn't have gravy, omelets, or bacon, as advertised. The eggs were cold and the biscuits were hard and cold. The fruit was limited to strawberries and cantaloupe. While the room we had, (4th floor, back corner) was large and clean, it was noisy. We could here the television and people talking in the room next to us and we could hear the sounds from the street. I guess you can't help that. But we did think it should've been a lot quieter from within the hotel itself. It was listed on TripAdvisor as the #1 rated hotel in Athens, so I guess things could've been worse. :)
All in all, not a bad hotel for the price.

Room Tip: The back corner room, #424, is large and roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weddingmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank You for the review we look forward to having these issues addressed before your next arrival.

Best,

Brian Cotter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Dra Cunnigham had excellent service. He was very professional and friendly. He made my stay a lot nore fun. I felt if I has any problems he would be sure to take care of it. He guided me to the right places. When I needed to buy something or make some coffe he made sure I had everything I needed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nousernameneeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank You for the perfect review and we look forward to your return.

Best,

Brian Cotter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to Athens and this was a great hotel. Close to downtown and great eating places. The room was large and very clean. The hot breakfast was good. Only complaint is that they only have one elevator and it is sooo slow.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tricia286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Country Inn & Suites-Athens. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that your travels bring you back this way again so that we can further exceed your expectations with EXCELLENT service. Thank you very much for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Breakfast staff was amazing. They really went above and beyond for us. They even opened up an hour earlier then normal for us! Thank you!

Our room was very quiet and relaxing!

We would definitely stay here again, if we're ever in Athens!





  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLittle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here with my boys when attending Augusta. Plenty of parking, good location for what we wanted to do. (About 2hr to Augusta) the hotel staff are very friendly and made our stay very comfortable. The free wifi was a real bonus because it seems many places charge for this. My boys really enjoyed the breakfasts and I made my first waffle with the help of a member of staff.
I would definitely stay again if I needed to be in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are very proud of the caring, comfortable, and consistent level of service we provide here at the Country Inn & Suites-Athens. We know that you have a lot of options to choose from when selecting a hotel and we really appreciate that you chose to do business with us. If you are ever in the area again, we hope that you will stay with us again and we have the opportunity to provide you with and even more EXCELLENT experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I got started on searching for G-day accomodations a liitle late. Did my investigating thru Trip Advisor and decided this was the hotel that I wanted to stay in. I got lucky after 7 days of waiting and got Friday night accomadations, then about 10 days later the manager tracked me down on my cell phone as I was traveling from Illinois and told me she had a cancellation for Saturday night. I appreciated them keeping their word of actually remembering my name on a list for folks like me. Beautiful hotel, limited, but very good breakfast, Clean rooms. 5 minute drive to campus. Thanks to the mgr (Ididn't get her name) who called. Mr. Mason.

Room Tip: I had 314 and it was as quiet as a tomb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZachNeff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We work very hard to honor all of our commitments with our guests and partners in the community and we are very pleased that you had such a positive experience. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip through Athens so that we can exceed your expectations with our EXCELLENT service. On behalf of the entire team here in Athens I would like to thank you for your review and for your business, Mr. Mason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
3.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Address: 236 Old Epps Bridge Rd, Athens, GA 30606-2875
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, is conveniently located only 2 miles from downtown Athens and the University of Georgia. We are near many restaurants and area attractions and provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Athens Hotel Athens
Country Inn And Suites Athens
Country Inn Athens
Athens Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing