We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm torn...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
272 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I'm torn...”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I'm torn regarding my review of this place. The employees were friendly and my suite was roomy with a comfy bed. Breakfast was the basic continental with great oatmeal. But here's the main problem: when I checked in, the gentleman who helped me said my room number aloud, not one but twice. There were people within hearing distance, and even if there weren't, a guest's room number should NEVER be said out loud. Point to it on the little envelope given to guests. That alone makes me second guess staying here again. Plus there were no towel racks in the bathroom and nothing in the exercise room to wipe down the equipment. Those two things aren't deal breakers but the safety thing sure is.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suzb_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your business. It is every hotels policy not to announce room numbers aloud. This was a brand new employee to the hotel and to the industry. When I went to address the issue after reading your review it had already been covered with him and I was assured it would not happen again. I hope you do try us again because while being a serious issue it is a easy correction and we apologize for the mistake.

Best,

Brian Cotter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    117
    44
    14
    10
See reviews for
248
71
29
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chilhowie, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Booked 3 rooms at the country inn and suites for UGA Law School graduation this weekend. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I was disappointed with the noise level. I was up early but if not, I would not have been able to sleep past 6:30am! Friends and family in the other rooms experienced the same problem with noise. Part of the problem could be due to the open layout of the hotel. I would like to see the management monitoring the noise level in the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vabama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your response and I apologize for the noise. We of course had a full hotel and with the graduation and the tennis tournament people were up early and ready to go (more so than usual). I also appreciate you recognized the hotel for the cleanliness. We try very hard and the staff is one of a kind! Next time your in ask for a room down one of the hallways they do not face the atrium and tend to be a bit quiter.

Thank You,

Brian Cotter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were a family group here for graduation so we had three rooms. All the rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. Rooms, 425 which is handicapped accessible is very big with a nice separate living room. 419 has the two queen beds and 221 has a king bed. The breakfast is nice. Lots of choices from cereal, cooked oatmeal, muffins, bagels & breads. Do it yourself waffles are a hit. The selection of eggs & meat items changed each of the three mornings we were here and that variety is appreciated. The staff set up extra tables in the hall ways so seating was never a problem. The food was replenished regularly and everything was kept neat and clean. All the staff was helpful and pleasant. Parking was OK, even though the hotel was very full. As others have said, the one elevator is a problem, but we took the stairs "down" and only waited on the elevator to go "up."

Room Tip: Room 425 is handicapped accessible and is very spacious. The bathroom is very large to accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajuncass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your business and for the review! We certainly hope to see you guys again real soon.

Best,

Brian Cotter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint simons island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Country Inn & Suites in Athens was a nice hotel to take the family. The facility was clean, the staff friendly, breakfast good. My only criticism would be that there was only one elevator for 4 floors. Rides were mostly crowded and the wait for the elevator got increasingly longer as the weekend went by. I thought that they should have had at least two elevators.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dwhutson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your review and we apologize for the crowd that weekend. I really appreciate the fact you mentioned we are, "a nice hotel to take a family." We take great pride in being family friendly and we always want you to feel at home during your stay. Hopefully we will see you the next time your travels bring you to Athens!

Best,

Brian Cotter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful Hotel, but problems. There is only one elevator in this hotel and it's slow as molasses. The hotel was full the night we checked in, and the hotel seemed incapable to handle a full house. With four in my party, there was only two bath towels and one coffee cup. The internet didn't work for apple computer users. All the rooms are arranged in a six story configuration around a central lobby. Guests were loud in the lobby until 1:30 am. Not sure where the staff was to keep a lid on this activity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down one of the few short halls that don't face the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for the stay and the review reguarding your stay. I am sorry to hear we had a lobby full of loud guest. We do ask for quiet after 10pm and have posted signs in the lobby but as you can imagine in a four story atrium noises can carry. The majority of families often choose our hotel because we have the largest suites in the Athens area. As for the room not being stocked correctly our deepest apologies. I assure you that is not our standard. If you ever decide to give us another try please reach out to myself and I will personally see to your reservations.

Best,

Brian Cotter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great stay at the Country Inn & Suites in Athens. The only thing that kept me from giving the hotel an excellent rating is the location. Management did a nice job with a fence that separates it from a somewhat less desirable area. Only other issue that I had (very minor) was only one elevator and sometimes the wait would be 45 seconds or so. Otherwise an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawgfan0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I just wanted to say "Thank You" for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Go Dawgs!

Brian Cotter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I am a Hampton Inn fan all the way and this is about as competitive with the Hampton you can get. The hotel and room furnishings were gorgeous and included Kellex décor...a huge bonus for business folks and anyone who can appreciate good quality furniture.
They pay attention to all the details, just like the Hampton. Things like Bigelow tea, coffee and cookies in the lobby at all hours of the night are just the sort of nuances to make for a comfortable stay and win me over. The staff was exceptional and extremely helpful.
I cannot rate the breakfast, but can say they did have a decent variety of items to choose from. Since I tend to prefer yogurt, there was not much for me but it appeared to be the standard 'just beyond' Continental that many hotels are adopting.
The workout room was excellent, with updated equipment that worked.
This was my first and only stay with Country Inn, and I have no reservations about booking another stay in any city they happen to be located in.

Room Tip: A very busy place, so be sure you find a quiet location away from the large groups passing through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Inn A, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Big Thank You for the review!!!! I am so happy you were impressed enough to make us your second review. We are happy to turn over any "converts" to our brand and especially our hotel. Your Awesome!

Thank You,

Brian Cotter, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
3.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Address: 236 Old Epps Bridge Rd, Athens, GA 30606-2875
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, is conveniently located only 2 miles from downtown Athens and the University of Georgia. We are near many restaurants and area attractions and provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Athens Hotel Athens
Country Inn And Suites Athens
Country Inn Athens
Athens Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing