We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of The Colonels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Colonels
Ranked #1 of 1 Athens B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We highly recommend this B&B in the Athens area. We had a wonderful 3-night stay at The Colonels the weekend of August 9th. Colonel Marc was very attentive and helpful in providing suggestions for things to do and making dinner reservations. He prepared delicious breakfasts every morning. The house was beautiful and well-decorated with antique furniture, the accommodations were very comfortable, and it was very peaceful. We enjoyed walking the grounds, getting a tour of the barn from Colonel Beth, and meeting the horses. We will definitely plan to visit again in the future. It really did feel like we were visiting a long lost uncle - we felt so welcome.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Cristylaw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Colonels on the last night of our honeymoon (a 3 week road trip) - my brother and his wife had stayed here a few years ago and highly recommended it. We are so glad that we took their advice. The Colonels is a beautiful house in lovely grounds, and Colonel Marc himself is a true gentleman - and great cook! As we were only staying for one night and going straight off to the airport in the morning, we couldn't visit any of the places that Colonel Marc recommended, but the restaurant he suggested for dinner was fantastic. If you're ever passing through this area, we would highly recommend staying at The Colonels for a night or 2!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MCM7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a beautiful and welcoming place. We stayed here in late May and had the most relaxing night Colonel Marc's stunning old house. The grounds are beautiful and Marc is great at suggesting things to do. Make sure to take a stroll around to see the trees and horses, and eat every last bite of his delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmcmillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this B&B during out first visit to Georgia and it was absolutely wonderful. Colonel Marc was a georgeous host from the moment we arrived - great tips for the area and a wonderful breakfast every morning. We had room number 3 with lovely furniture and a small bathroom. Sitting outside the porch in the afternoon was perfect. Should we come back to Athens we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here over the week of Thanksgiving. We had an excellent room and Colonel Marc and Lady Colonel Beth are excellent hosts. In particular, Colonel Marc is very good at providing tips on things to do and see in and around the Athens' area, as well as being an excellent and diverse chef for breakfast. All of our meals were exceptional. The room was very nice and the bed was excellent. They have nice grounds to walk around. We saw deer in the morning. It is close to UGA, but not too close. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have stayed at The Colonels several times over the past 4 years. Each stay has been memorable and wonderful in a unique way. The sleeping rooms and public spaces are wonderfully furnished with European antiques and period pieces. Col. Mark and his wife Col. Bev are wonderful hosts, Col. Mark, in particular with his old world Belgian accent and ways. The breakfasts are uniformly outstanding and vary fro the standard bacon and eggs to pancakes, french toast, and always include fresh juices, fruit and yogurt. The grounds are beautiful, consisting of mature trees, stables and fabulous horses trained and shown by Col. Bev. We prefer The Colonels to ANY hotel or B&B in the Athens area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank emichaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We love B&Bs, and The Colonels just outside of Athens GA is absolutely top-notch. Colonel Mark is a fantastic host and chef. In addition to the two of us, we were there with our son and his 2 teenage daughters. Our granddaughters totally fell in love with both Colonel Mark, his breakfast feast, and the 'southern mansion and grounds.' The front rooms of the house were indeed built in 1860. Our elder granddaughter commented as we departed, "You take us to the most wonderful places and this one was the best." And, her younger sister agreed wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P-sqTarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
5.8 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
773 reviews
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Athens, GA
7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Athens Downtown
4.8 mi away
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonels

Address: 3890 Barnett Shoals Rd, Athens, GA 30605-4714
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: £182 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colonels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast on Angel Oaks Farm Plantation house established in 1860. The country manor is furnished with European antique furniture and artwork from Chateau near Waterloo, Belgium, 1794. The Colonels is located on a 30 acre horse estate, less then 15 minute drive to historic downtown Athens and the State Botanical Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Colonels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing