We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Game Day Atmosphere”
Review of Sanford Stadium

Sanford Stadium
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Game Day Atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

There really isn't a bad seat in the place and we tried out a few at the Georgia-Kentucky game. Our tickets were actually in section 602, row 20 (you can't get any higher). We'd brought a friend who had never been to a Georgia game, so after the 1st quarter we moved down to the back of section 135 so he could hear the band better. Smart move. We were under the overhang, which provided relief from the chilly wind, the band sounded great and the players didn't look like ants. It's not the newest stadium, so the public areas are a little dingy, concession lines and restroom lines can be long. The area dedicated to Georgia's mascots of the past is quite touching and deserves a moment. If you can find a way in on non game days, that can be a treat too. We probably weren't supposed to be able to get in, but found an opening when my son was 3. We were able to walk around the track, touch the hedges and rub the concrete bulldog where the players take the field. It was pretty cool.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sseaton68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    45
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go Dawgs!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

There is nothing like the home of the Georgia Bulldogs. If you never experienced a game on a crisp fall afternoon, it should be on your bucket list if even you are not a big football fan. The only downside for me is a few fans who might become over exuberant, usually due to alcohol consumption. You will almost certainly have a long walk before and after the game. It is the price you pay to cheer on the Dawgs with 92,000 of your closest friends.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank UGABULLDOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
591 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Best Football Stadium Anywhere”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I'm a Georgia graduate so what would you expect me to say! BUT it's true!! Beautiful campus and the stadium is the crown jewel of the university.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CRLoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a bad view anywhere in the Stadium!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Went to Sanford for the first time for the UGA-Mizzou game in October and had a blast. It is certainly quite an experience to see football played between the hedges. We sat in the upper deck, which was not a bad view at all. Only complaint is the lack of more concessions- lines were quite long on the upper concourse, so we had to walk down to the ground level to get food. Very friendly atmosphere!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Gameday Experience Ever”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I am unabashedly prejudiced. I love Sanford stadium and have attended games there for more than 40 years. The atmosphere is special and the game day traditions unite the fans with the team. If you ever have the chance, go to a game there regardless of the opponent. See first hand the leading religion in the south, college football.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanford Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Sanford Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing